We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clayton Whites Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Whites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,390: English reviews
ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I are just back from a two night break here in Clayton Whites Hotel. We had a lovely time , as we always do here. All the staff here are so friendly , always smiling and helpful if required. The hotel is always clean and always looks really well. Our room on the second floor was spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joero
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joero, Thank you for your 5 star review. I was delighted to see that you found Clayton Whites Hotel to be an ideal place to stay while in Wexford and were impressed with the location, facilities and food. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team here. Hopefully we will see you back again...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for the new year weekend arrived the Friday rooms where immaculate very clean and big. Went to the bar for dinner with the kids on the Friday waiting to order people running around like head less chickens finally ordered food was good and we ordered of the kids menu for our daughter which stated a three course meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your over all stay with us, in particular the bar food and leisure centre. With regards the service you received on the Friday night, my apologies as this is not the standard we strive to achieve here in Clayton Whites...

PARIS
Reviewed 1 week ago

Huge place, seems like an OVNI compared to the surrounding area. Modern rooms, but it would have been nice if the check-in desk would have warned that it takes OVER 10 minutes (!!!) to get some warm water out of the shower. This happened in my room 634 and two other colleagues installed in other rooms. If you shower in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis K
Whites969, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thank you for your Feedback. With regards the general decor, as you may know, our company purchased the hotel just over a year ago and we would acknowledge that it is in need of refurbishment. Accordingly we started a programme in the spring of last year where we refreshed 55 of our superior and executive bedrooms and we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spend two nights in this hotel everything seems to be perfect we really enjoyed our stay expecially the leisure center to all the facilities. Breakfast so good lots of choices and the library food so testy our watier Alan being nice and friendly. Well done guys. I recommend to everyone to stay here. Close to city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gero zoltan k
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gero, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to see that you found Clayton Whites Hotel to be an ideal place to stay while in Wexford and were impressed with the location, facilities and food. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team here and especially Alan. Hopefully we will see you...

County Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

went to wexford shopping with my three sisters and stayed here for the second time we normally go to the Talbot , after staying here before we decided to return because of the closeness to the shops, we stayed for two nights we couldn't get a table on either night in the bar for dinner so ended up leaving the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank livedoll
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us, and in particular that you were unable to get a table in the bar for dinner during your stay. With relation to the car parking, while we would love to offer this complimentary to residents, the cost of providing such a...

dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on Friday 6th January for one night and I was very impressed, from checkin by Jade,she is a credit to the hotel, a real friendly warm and welcoming girl. The rooms have been recently updated and are looking great with big comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was self service but it was very well laid out with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tipped
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review. I was delighted to read you have a wonderful stay with us here in Clayton Whites Hotel and that you were impressed with the location, facilities and food. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team here, especially Jade on reception and I pass your comments...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just returned from spending two day at Whites hotel with my wife. We found the hotel to be to big we had a lot of walking to do from our room 234from the lift. We had food on both evening on Thursday we had the Bar menu in was average the chips where cold on Friday we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Securityman186605
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last January I stayed in said hotel. It was an average enough hotel but enjoyable. So enjoyable that I decided to stay there last April as I had tickets for a concert in the opera house. Unfortunately I was not as impressed with the hotel the second time I stayed. On entry reception was far from friendly, when we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Máire C
Waterford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel,staff and rooms were 100 percent.could not fault it in any way.great food in the hotel,brillant pool and always somthing to do for the kids,which is great as alot of hotels dont really care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here during the Wexford Opera Festival which is no doubt their busiest time of year. Room was adequate and food lovely. The service and staff were second to none, particularly the chef at the carvery and the bar tender in the residents bar. Thanks and well done to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KayemdeeDub

695 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (518)
Viewed
Amenities (128)
Viewed
Double Room (46)
Viewed
Double Single Room (53)
Viewed
Double Single Room with View (52)
Viewed
Family Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Room (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.7 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
1,492 reviews
3.2 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.8 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wexford
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,533 reviews
4.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Ballindinas
759 reviews
18.8 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, La Speranza Cafe, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre, Cryotherapy Clinic and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Price Range: €69 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Whites Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
25 days ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Whites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room that we have stayed in has been very good.”
 of 5 bubbles joero, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 634, it is on the ground floor with a view to some odd emergency stairs (see photo)”
 of 5 bubbles 1luisk, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Even Numbered rooms 4th floor up have beautiful views over the Slainey Estuary.”
 of 5 bubbles orlab04, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful views the higher you go!”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineB999, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th and 5th floor”
 of 5 bubbles cocoonc2014, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay