We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Whites Hotel

Expedia.comUS$97*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$97*
US$119*
US$129*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Whites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,431: English reviews
Start your review of Clayton Whites Hotel
 Click to rate
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the street of Wexford are narrow so it was quite difficult to find. There was un underground reduced rate car park and lift to reception. Our allocated bedroom was on the 5th floor, but one took the lift to the 6th floor. A bit odd. Our bedroom was small and cheerless and I felt not very clean. No bath but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcoffey2016
New York City
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

OK, Wexford is not exactly the tourist capital of the world, so hotel offerings are slim. The best thing i can say about this hotel is it does have underground parking which is convenient. The hotel is a big monstrosity in the middle of a quaint town. The hotel front driveway has coach/buses pull up and belch a load of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fazbear
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed on the 8th April. Really nice hotel quick check in friendly staff especially breakfast host on 9th I didn't get her name but she was very helpful polite and ran the breakfast well. Hotel room spotless. Swimming pool was lovely and gym staff very helpful. I would definitely recommend here for a night away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to see that you found Clayton Whites Hotel to be an ideal place to stay while in Wexford and were impressed with the location, facilities and food. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team here. Hopefully we will see you back again soon...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late past midnight and checked in without issue, parking in underground car park, was surprised the next day that they charge quests for parking. Lovely hotel, breakfast offered wide choice, especially liked the porridge and fresh fruits nuts etc Would recommend as rooms very clean, and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for your 4 star rating of Clayton Whites Hotel. I was delighted to read what a great time you had. I will pass on your comment to our wonderful team. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

Cashel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a centrally located hotel within easy walking distance from the town. One of our party was ill and the manager very kindly sent the porter to get motilium from the chemist for her. Due to illness the other 4 of us went into one room and the staff were very accommodating to us. We had a meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolasheils
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you for your 5 star rating of Clayton Whites Hotel. I was delighted to read what a great time you had. I will pass on your comment to our wonderful reception team. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

galway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very pleasant, helpful and courteous manager was on hand to ensure we could check in earlier than expected as I unfortunately wasn't feeling well. She took it upon herself to get a member of staff to go to the chemist on my behalf and deliver medication go my room. To me this was going beyond the call of duty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mnm2010_10
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star rating of Clayton Whites Hotel. I was delighted to read what a great time you had. I will pass on your comment to our wonderful reception team. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Whites Clayton hotel Wexford last Sundays. The view from the window was the interior of the car park. Room 625.Central heating did not seem to be working. We did not use the shower as the tiled floor was mouldy and had not been cleaned for a while. The carvery lunch was of good quality but the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip d
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phillip, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was naturally very disappointed to hear about your disappointment with our Hotel. We strive for a high standard here in Clayton Whites Hotel and in this case it is obvious we fell short. I would be delighted if you would contact me directly so that I may...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were 2 adults and 1 child. We did a package, 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner. The food was really good, both for the dinner and the breakfast. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking under the hotel was convenient and at only 3 euro a night very reasonable. The leisure facilities were excellent. A really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cha_mur
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to see that you found Clayton Whites Hotel to be an ideal place to stay while in Wexford and were impressed with the location, facilities and food. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team here. Hopefully we will see you back again soon...

Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family trip away made all the better by the superb service and amenities provided by this hotel. The dinner service was exceptional. The wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The menu had options for all tastes. Breakfast was very good with a great selection to pick from. I highly recommend spending some time at this hotel, we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank presbray
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star rating of Clayton Whites Hotel. I was delighted to read what a great time you had. I will pass on your comment to our wonderful team. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The welcome and efficiency of reception from Sophya - who was very competent - and her colleagues, was a good start. The room was spacious though the view was overlooking roofs and backyards - could not be helped! Both dinner and breakfast were top class and again service was very good. Many of our large group were disappointed with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetireeOldcastle
Whites969, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass your positive comments to the team here. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

707 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (513)
Viewed
Amenities (128)
Viewed
Double Room (46)
Viewed
Double Single Room (53)
Viewed
Double Single Room with View (52)
Viewed
Family Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)
Viewed
Twin Room (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.7 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
1,560 reviews
3.1 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.2 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
397 reviews
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
782 reviews
18.8 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Price Range: €83 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Whites Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Whites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm afraid I could'nt.”
mcoffey2016, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“fifth floor room i think was quite”
F9707HIcatherinem, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are superb.”
presbray, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you van get a full sea view, all the better!”
RetireeOldcastle, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors great views......”
stephenlK8950VM, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$119
Hotels.comUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$97
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates