We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Fitzwilton Hotel

Save
Share
Bridge Street Waterford City, Waterford Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$99
View deal
PricelineUS$116
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$117
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fitzwilton Hotel
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Waterford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
319Reviews1Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 96
  • 44
  • 30
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
FionnualaMcN wrote a review 6 Jan
London, United Kingdom61 contributions27 helpful votes
We choose this hotel as it had free parking. On arrival we drove around the tiny car park twice trying to find a space, my husband went up to reception to check and was told it clearly states on the website there is only a limited number of spaces, we had booked through hotels.com where there was no mention of this. The receptionist suggested we try another part of the car park marked private - no spaces there either so ended up parking on the street, not ideal, especially after wasting so much time! We also spoke to the manager about it but he didn't seem bothered. It may well be hotels.com responsibility and not the hotels to make the parking situation clearer online but I felt the staff could be more helpful and apologetic rather than defensive and dismissive. The shower in the bathroom had very little power, there was only one flat pillow per person, the sheets felt very worn. The bar staff were great. Overall not a 4* star hotel and wouldn't return as there are ample other options available.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello reviewer, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were unable to find parking on your arrival however it does state on hotels.com and our own website that parking is limited. When the car park is full, there is little more we can do other than direct our guests to the nearby options which are a brief 2 minute stroll from the hotel and are very reasonably priced @ €4.60 for 24 hours. I am sorry your room was not up to standard also. There are extra pillows supplied in each bedrooms wardrobe area and again am sorry if you were unable to locate these. I am disappointed to see you would not return to the Fitzwilton Hotel though will pass your comments to our wonderful bar staff. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay and apologies once more we fell short of your expectations. Kind Regards, Geoff Dawson General Manager
Read more
Wendy D wrote a review Dec 2021
County Dublin, Ireland13 contributions11 helpful votes
Just back from a 2 night stay in the Fitzwilton Hotel. This was our 4th stay in this hotel and our 2nd with the kids in tow. This is a hidden gem in the heart of Waterford city. The standard of rooms in the hotel are second to none. This time we given the fabulously spacious room 201, which is a corner room and ample space for a family of 4. We ate in the bar both nights, even though it was very busy, the staff were attentive & could not do enough for us. The food as always was excellent. Breakfast was included and had to booked which was great as we knew we wouldn’t have to wait for a table. Staff in the breakfast room were excellent too and happy to help with extra orders etc. What really makes this hotel special to us is the staff, who are the real asset, nothing is a problem for them especially during covid times & all covid procedures are being followed stringently by this hotel. All in all, another fantastic experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel, we will be back (again)!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Wendy, Happy New Year to you and yours. We were as always delighted to welcome you and your family back to the Fitzwilton Hotel for your post Christmas getaway. Thank you for your very kind feedback on your stay which I will certainly relay to all of our wonderful team members here. Thank you also for your appreciation of how our team are doing everything we can to keep our guests and each other safe during these times. We look very much forward to welcoming you all back sooner than later. Kind regards and best wishes, Geoff Dawson General Manager
Read more
Anne O wrote a review Nov 2021
Cork22 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect, room was spacious with everything we needed. The staff were all really nice and helpful. Fantastic breakfast on both mornings and we also had dinner there and it was excellent. Thanks to all the staff who made our visit so wonderful. Will look forward to staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Anne, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed it so much and will certainly be passing your kind words to all concerned at the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is great to see you are looking forward to visiting again and we equally look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards, Geoff Dawson General Manager
Read more
Bella S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I want to thank the Fitzwilton Hotel for such welcoming reception for hosting my birthday dinner on the 6th November '21. We arrived to a table well set. As we enjoyed our drinks and chats, it was a very pleasing atmosphere. All meals were perfectly served, from the preparation to presentation. I had medium well Sirloin Steak which was wonderful and juicy. Many thanks to Machi (waitress). She handled everything with efficiency and attention. Please give our thanks to the Manager(s) for the extra touch. We really had a great unforgettable birthday dinner. Will be coming for more night outs in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Mairead0605 wrote a review Nov 2021
Limerick, Ireland84 contributions47 helpful votes
We stayed one night on the Netflix and mix package. Parking is to the side of the hotel with only a handful of spaces. We were lucky enough to get a single space on its own as they are very narrow not made for an SUV. The girls on checkin where great and efficient. The room was comfortable and being able to stream was so handy. The hotel is on a busy enough road but with the window closed you don't take any notice after awhile. There was some small over sights from here on our bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guests, with the Netflix package it included a pizza and wings (which both were lovely and quickly delivered) delivered to the room with 4 beers, we asked for 2 glass with ice these were not brought with the food the person said they would be right back with them they didn't return and lastly about an hour after getting the food I was grabbing a bottle of beer when I noticed it had a coke cap clearly meaning this bottle had been opened before with the times we are in wasn't very hygienic or safe once we got to speak to someone in the bar they came up and replaced it but asked in a manor for the other bottle that would lead to think that it was being made up. Breakfast in the morning is self serve, lots of food sitting on the pass it might be better to top it up little and often.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fitzwilton hotel waterford
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty WaterfordWaterford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fitzwilton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Fitzwilton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waterford Greenway (0.08 km), The Great Escape Waterford (0.3 km), and Axe Junkies Urban Axe Throwing (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fitzwilton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fitzwilton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Fitzwilton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fitzwilton Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fitzwilton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grattan bar-bistro, The Granary Cafe, and Sheehan's.
Is Fitzwilton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Waterford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fitzwilton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fitzwilton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Fitzwilton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bishop's Palace (0.9 km) and St Olaf's Church (0.8 km).
Does Fitzwilton Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.