We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Hotel Waterford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Hotel Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 459: English reviews
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Decided to go out here for food Thursday evening, our waiter was very pleasant, food was average for the price we paid! Took ages for our food to come and then ordered desserts we had our coffee nearly gone when I called a member of staff to find out where the desserts were only for her to inform us that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckssss4
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Beckssss4 Thank you for sending in your feedback, I'm glad you found the staff to be pleasant. I have looked back on the date and have talked to the staff that were on and I'm sorry for your service being slow that evening , thank you for bringing it to my attention, but i can assure you that it...

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for a quick lunch, the bar is quite roomy and light, good range of food at reasonable prices. The lunch combo (soup / sandwich) was served quickly and was very tasty... as someone else reviewed, a good alternative to fast food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smithyfoo
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Smithyfoo Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.I am glad you enjoyed your lunch in the Asgard Bar. We serve carvery from 12.30pm to 3pm 7 days a week with a full sandwich menu available all day.We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Darren Byrne

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We visited Viking hotel waterford for one Saturday night,,,very modern and clean,,, friendly and welcoming staff,,,rooms very good and will definitely recommend to anybody,we would like to return soon ,thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davey C
Darren B, Operations manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Davey C Thank you for your review on your recent stay.I will pass on your kind comments about the staff and our rooms.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon . Kind Regards Darren Byrne

Laois
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We wanted a quiet break without our kids after Christmas, just one night away. The hotel itself was fine, clean, warm and the staff were very friendly. When it came to our meal.....oh my god, 40 mins for a steak and carbonara... The steak was fine, the carbonara was possibly the worst dish I have EVER EVER been served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliecarver
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi elliecarver Thank you for take time to write a review, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy recent stay with us. I am surprise that you did not enjoy your food and as we mainly receive good feedback on our food, I have held a meeting with the Head Chef about comments and a full investigation on the events...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We decided to try this hotel for food as it advertised all day bar food. There were a few people in the bar area but it wasn't packed. The bench seating at the back was tired looking but otherwise a nice place to eat. Pizza, wraps, panini's are available along with other bigger meals, fish, steaks etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra245
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Sandra245 Thank you for taking the time to send us in your review.I'm glad that your enjoyed your meal with us.We serve Carvery lunch daily from 12.30pm til 3pm and Bar Food from 3pm-9pm in The Assgard Bar.We are in the process of doing a bit of refurbishment work at the moment and the bench seating is on the...

County Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband stay here on a city break...firstly from reception to bar staff who were so nice and attentive this hotel was warm comfortable with beautiful restaurant food...may I recommend the Burger...unbelievable!!! The Room had everything that we needed with a huge bed. We really really enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Special mention to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhysronan
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi rhysronan Thanks for taking the time to send in your review.We are glad you enjoyed your stay.I will past on your kind comments about our staff and I will let Richie (the Kilkenny Barman ) know as well.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Darren Byrne

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I had previously stayed here last year with my partner and had a nice stay. So for a family night for my Aunt's birthday myself and 6 family members came down for her first ever stay in a hotel. As a single mam of 4 she had never had the opportunity before. I recommended the hotel as on my last...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicole19911
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Nicole19911 Thank you for taking the time to write a review.I am sorry that we didn't live up to your exceptions on this occasion. I have talked to the receptionist on duty both times , I apologize for her not letting your know the times for breakfast and other information on check in. We have a policy in place...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

The food here was lovely, the rooms are clean and comfortable but the service was appalling. Staff seemed to be under pressure and unhappy in their work, they were rude and unhelpful consistently throughout our stay not once were we served with a smile or friendly conversation which contributed to an unpleasant atmosphere, overall recommendation would be to avoid this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marobio
Darren B, Opertaions Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Marobio Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay, I'm sorry that you found the service appalling , as you can see from previous reviews that we receive a lot of praised for our staff and service. Can you please contact me directly on dbyrne@premgroup.com so i can get a few more...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The hotel isn't exactly plush but it is very clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly, helpful and nice. The breakfast was delicious as was dinner. I would recommend this hotel once you are not expecting a five star experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deirdre D
Darren B, Operation Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Deirdre D Thank you for taking to time to write a review of our Hotel.I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with u.It is great to get nice comments about our Food & our Staff i will be sure to pass to them to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards...

winterton
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed here on a B&B + Dinner basis for 3 nights. Rooms were very good, Food was quite superb (you do have choice on the menu). As always, staff were welcoming, knowledgable and ready to help on all matters. The hotew is perfectly located for Waterford City and within reasonable travel for Cork, Wexford and Kilkenny. It suits both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brendanst
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Brendanst Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that we were able to look after your every need. The hotel hads gone through alot of change in the last few months and its nice to get feedback that we are moving in the right dircection.We look forward in seeing you again very soon. Sincerely,...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
4.6 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,099 reviews
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,119 reviews
3.9 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
3.9 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,046 reviews
4.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: €52 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viking Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we requested a room away from main road, which we got”
LindaFiona, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in 320 and family were in 319 these rooms were great as there are only 3 floors.Only thing was we overlooked the car workshops.”
georgetQ376TE, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer rooms overlooking the Car Park.”
brendanst, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just Specify What Kind of Room you require and the Staff will help you out, But Every Room in the Hotel is quiet”
ad038, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the vending machines which are near the lift”
AnneM124, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5