We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glasshouse

Show Prices
#4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Glasshouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Glasshouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,430: English reviews
Comber, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend in november with my husband as we recently got married and wanted a break, absolutely amazing hotel,amazing room and amazing food staff were fabulous and we had a room overlooking river we will be back. mr &mrs foster.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe C
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Hello Mr & Mrs Foster Congratulations on your recent wedding, I am delighted that our hotel featured in your celebrations and that you were well looked after, please come back and visit us again soon. Regards Catherine Cronin

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in early Jan. The rate was very reasonable. The hotel is funky and modern but still has plenty of character and charm. The room was perfect except it had no mini bar but it did have a nice view overlooking the river. The hotel bar was very lively and welcoming. The staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael m
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Hi Michael M Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Catherine

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

I would like to thank all the staff and management of the Glasshouse Hotel for yet again providing us with the provisions for a fantastic City Break in Sligo. We really enjoyed our time here as on occasions before and as always the room was wonderfully clean, with a balcony overlooking the river. The sound of that river alone is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niall D
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear CarS3333 Thank you for your review, it is nice to get such positive feedback, our location is great and our junior suites are so spacious. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Catherine Cronin

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 10 January 2015

I only stayed one night in the Glasshouse recently, but enjoyed it. I love the modern decor of the place, and our barfood was lovely, with great views over the river, as had our room. Speaking of which, my only quibble would be that said room was quite chilly, which is a rare complaint from me, but was so well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuzieBrookDL
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Suziebrook Thank you for your review, I am glad that you liked the hotel and the decor etc, I am sorry to hear that you found the room chilly, all of our rooms have individual climate control so you should have been able to turn up/on heat at any time. I hope that you will come back and visit...

Donegal
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Stayed again in the Glasshouse as I feel its a very well positioned hotel in the centre of town of a decent quality.As others have commented the rooms are good try to get one with a view of the river>Breakfasts are excellent with everything you could possibly want on offer.\the not so good this time was the dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moonknight
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Moonknight Thank you for your review, its nice to hear from repeat guests, I am disappointed to hear that service during dinner was slow, even if there was a Christmas party, it should have been better. I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again soon. Regards Catherine Cronin

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The foyer area here has really grown on me, when the hotel was first built I wasn't at all sure about it. The location is of course wonderful on the banks of the river right in the heart of the town. It is a lovely place to meet friends for coffee or food, the foyer area is spacious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirtha
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Hi MIrtha Thank you for your review, I am glad that you like our Cafe Bar, its a very popular spot for meeting friends and there is always a great atmosphere as guests arrive and depart and local people meet up there. We hope to see you soon Catherine Cronin

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Had heard and read mixed reviews about this hotel but upon arrival until we left we were nothing but satisfied. We were in a junior suite with our 2 year old and there was loads of space and plenty of glass to enjoy the views of the river & ducks which kept our little man amused. Food in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarS3333
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are lucky to have such a central location. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon, Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Swindon
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Glasshouse over the Christmas period. We booked a deluxe double room with river view. Our first impression of the hotel wasn't fantastic. The lobby area is isn't particularly welcoming and we were met by a harried receptionist who took two phone calls while we were patiently waiting to check in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaddyOTravel
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Paddy Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel for the most part, the decor is quirky and obviously not to your choice, we accept that. I hope that the items that you identified will not deter you from coming and visiting us again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the glasshouse hotel on the first and second of January and have to say thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We had a room over looking the river which was in full flood at the time and the sights and sounds were amazing. The room itself was excellent, the food is extremely good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul M
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you for your review of The Glasshouse, its great to get such positive feedback. The river is a big feature as you say. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2015

The best thing about the hotel is the great service. The staff were helpful and engaging. The hotel is a quirky place, maybe a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. I would recommend it. It is also in a great location in the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHYYZ
Glasshouse_GM, Director of Sales at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear JHYYZ Thank you for your recent review of The Glasshouse, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will come back and see us soon. Kind regards, Catherine Cronin

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
306 reviews
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
2.0 km away
Sligo Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
761 reviews
0.1 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
383 reviews
7.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
Cuisines: European, British, Irish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: €83 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Rockford, Illinois, United States
10 days ago
Derry, United Kingdom
6 days ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the river.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineD551, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on upper floors have fantastic views of river and town”
 of 5 bubbles tomduffy68, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very relaxing good food good beer good rooms and brilliant staff the rooms overlooking the river are the best!! for views”
 of 5 bubbles 394liamc, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not near the cleaners station.”
 of 5 bubbles groovylinda, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles H7007NYtonyh, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay