We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glasshouse

Show Prices
#4 of 8 Hotels in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glasshouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,478: English reviews
Start your review of The Glasshouse
 Click to rate
Balla, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a great hotel to stay friendly staff and very well kept hotel . This hotel is right beside a beautiful river. You can walk to shops a great amount if diverse shops. Food served here is of excellent quality but slightly on the expensive side.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stasia113
Pottsville, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I knew we would get a river view but wow what an impact when you open those curtains. Booked a junior suite and would have been happy to just sit and watch the river. Had dinner in included which was pleasant but not outstanding and breakfast was well catered. If you are staying in Sligo this is the only place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 257Trinah
clare
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a 2 night stay in this hotel. It's an excellent hotel. Three level under ground car park, lots of disabled parking bays. The whole hotel is spotless through out. Receptionist was extremely helpful and provided lots of info on the local areas. The room was very spacious with a great view over the river and streets. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wheelieman
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just checked in today and from we have checked in it has been hell so far. I understand it is a busy day of the year but surely a popular hotel should be aware of this and manage the day a lot better. Key not working and then making the trip down taking ages in the lift to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura M
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great place for a meal or lunch, it was so busy in the lounge bar for lunch we couldn't get a seat so the staff brought us through to the restaurant to accommodate us, the food was very nice and table service very good, it's lovely to sit outdoors on a sunny day as the water surrounds the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Michelle W, Thank you for taking the time and write the review based on your short dining visit. I appreciate your comments and want to thank you for leaving them even though you have spent very short time at the hotel. I do hope we had impressed you and that you will be able to plan and stay with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here a few days ago for lunch with my family and We all left feeling very happy we chose to eat here. Really nice view of along the water and the interior is really modern. Service was really good also!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannon T
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Shannon T, Thank you so much for your kind comments relating your recent dining experience at The Glasshouse Sligo. I really appreciate all your comments and I hope to see you again in the near future. Once again thank you, Kind Regards, Mario Puchowski General Manager

Banbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. That's the hotels best feature. After that, the hotel is a major disappointment and certainly not 4 stars; low 3 star at best. Both inside and outside the hotel needs reverbing. The décor is battered and bruised, and I doubt anything has been replaced from when the hotel first opened. The carpets are grotty looking, the tables in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stenners14
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Stenners14, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Glasshouse. I'm very disappointed with the comments and the statement on the star rating. We have a maintenance team on a daily basis who do a lot of supervised work to ensure the hotel is fresh and clean at all times and correspond with Failte Ireland...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found this hotel online and we're delighted at the service, the rooms, the views and the food. The staff were welcoming and friendly for giving us local recommendations. The room was definitely worth the cost especially with the river views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcampion86
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear lcampion86, Thank you so much for your comments relating your recent stay at The Glasshouse. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you back here at The Glasshouse. Once again thank you and have a lovely St. Patrick's weekend. Kind Regards, Mario Puchowski General Manager

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall we had a really nice 3 night mid week stay in the glasshouse hotel. This was our second time staying here we had a lovely time. Positives: spotless room, modern clean bathroom, nicely decorated, very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable room, great buffet breakfast, good hotel bar, nice views, central location, good value Negatives: woken up by house keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoif10
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear Aoif10, Thank you very much for taking the time and posting the TripAdvisor review. I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you would stay again. I will investigate further the inconvenience you had to put up with when it comes to morning noise from housekeeping staff and I will ensure I speak with the...

kildare
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay at the glasshouse.. Great location, right in the heart of town. Staff are extremely helpful /friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are modern and clean, good supply of bathroom products, and tea/coffee In the room. We had breakfast to the room on both mornings which was top class. Bar food was excellent, and staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanekelly99
Glasshouse_GM, General Manager at The Glasshouse, responded to this review

Dear shanekelly99, Thank you very much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments to all the staff. They'll be happy to hear guests praised them for their hard work. Once again thank you and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards,...

351 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (339)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
337 reviews
1.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.1 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
386 reviews
2.0 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
The Kitchen at The Glasshouse
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Glasshouse

Address: Swan Point, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: €85 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glasshouse 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Glasshouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glasshouse Hotel Sligo
Glasshouse Sligo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glasshouse staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Rockford, Illinois, United States
2 months ago
Derry, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
Belfast, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Glasshouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Glass walled balcony room, not a balcony with a wall, makes the room very dark”
 of 5 bubbles Aoif10, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book one with balcony over looking river”
 of 5 bubbles 900Maggie, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on 4th floor overlooking the river which was lovely and really generous size!”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineM118, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 328 is right over the Garravogue river”
 of 5 bubbles MacCraith, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for a 1st floor room as it has a bar at the end of the corridor and could very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Z8093OKbarbaraw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5