We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clayton Hotel Sligo

Booking.comUS$85*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Sligo
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Sligo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is lovely and in a great location. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic and really good value. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. All staff were friendly and courteous but a special word of thanks to Noel who was most helpful at all times. He really couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracyfarrelldarby
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear tracyfarrelldarby, Thank you so much for such a kind review following your recent stay here with us in Sligo. Your kind words are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, N McLeish Guest Relations Manager

galway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a beautiful building! Now only if the interior was decorated to match this historic site. Staff were lovely and accommodating. Room was clean, however, there was no air con and it got very stuffy (Nothing an open window can't fix). Bed was soft and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant. I ordered the roast chicken. You could get it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank king07
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear King07, We have the pleasure of working in an absolutely amazing building as you state yourself. Having taken over the hotel in December we have undergone extensive investment and have no intention of stopping in the foreseeable future. We fully intend to nullify any issues which have arisen and also to redecorate and refurbish the interior heavily. I am...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my fiancee had our sons first Communion on the 14/05/17 in the Clayton hotel in sligo and the day went brilliantly we had a room booked and the food and service we received was exceptional. Special mention to Noel McLeish and all the staff in making his day special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Many thanks for such a kind review. We are thrilled that everything went to plan for you all and we hope your son had a great day. It was a pleasure to deal with you all from start to finish and we hope to see you all back again for any upcoming special occasion's. Regards, N McLeish Guest...

Oxbow, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When our tour bus pulled up I was Impressed by the building and was very excited for our one night stay. Our group had a great Dinner here, the food was amazing and the staff were excellent. I did not enjoy my stay here and the sole reason was the room. The room was strange. I did not feel comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MatchelMich
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear MatchelMich, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property following your recent stay with us here in Sligo. I apologise that we gave you a suite for your stay, had we been made aware this was not to your liking we would have been more than happy to offer you a room move. However as...

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, stunning location. A member of staff working in the pool gave advice to our daughter about her swimming technique, she did really well and it was the highlight of her holiday. Very nice of him. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciara529
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Ciara529, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. All our staff have excellent customer service skills and it is greatly appreciated when this is pointed out. We are thrilled that your daughter had a great holiday. We hope to see you all return in the near future. Regards, N McLeish Guest Relations Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel on 28th and 29th April, upon arrival the building looked very majestic and the foyer and entrance looked good as well. Upon getting our keys for a family room have to say was very disappointed with the shabby furniture and stained carpet through out the room and the window which wouldn't open definitely takes away the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Ann1973
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Sarah-Ann, I apologise for any shortcomings you experienced throughout your recent stay. We are currently undergoing a period of redecorating and renovating. This is all taking place in a phased manner so as to cause the least disruption to our guests. The bedrooms and furniture etc are in the process of upgrading room by room. We will continue to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel,can't recommend it highly enough,beautiful hotel,fantastic food, fantastic pool and spa ,lovely staff especially Trevor the bar manager couldn't do enough for us.We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delores B
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Delores, Thank you for such a thoroughly great review. I will ensure Trevor knows of your praise for him. We all look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit in the near future. Regards, N McLeish Guest Relations Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the Easter weekend, The main thing I did not really like was the staff member at reception I dealt with, not overly helpful, I had to ask how to get to the room and what floor it was on when I got my key and then when we were leaving the staff member did not even ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid O
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Gearoid, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Sligo on your recent visit. I would like to apologise for the staff member at reception as I feel customer service is something we excel at and clearly someone has let us down on this occasion. We have only recently been awarded 4...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I made the mistake from suggesting going to the Clayton hotel for breakfast.. upon arrival we were asked for our room number and after explaining we were not residents, the rude member of staff just demanded €20 of us before we even sat down.. she showed us to our seat which was an 8 seater table even though it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara N
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Ciara, Breakfast is usually 12.50 euro per adult but we only charged you the residential rate for guests who had not previously paid for the meal on check in. The member of staff who charged you prior to your meal was only doing her job as you were non resident it is policy to ask for payment prior to...

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 adults - B&B booked through todayfmbreaks. price very good. Room 4150. Stayed for 1 night in January 2017. We stayed here when it was the Clarion so our expectations were high for our second visit. It was amazing the first time around. However, here are a couple of issues/disappointments with my stay: - The room was not the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
ClaytonSligo, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Sligo, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay 3 months ago. We have only recently become Clayton Hotels Sligo since December and we have made many many improvements and renovations since then. We do have music each weekend in our bar and we have recently put some new seating in this area too as...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sligo hotels
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
1.4 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,573 reviews
3.1 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
373 reviews
1.4 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
397 reviews
1.8 km away
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Hotel Clarion Road, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Sligo)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Price Range: €70 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Sligo 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Hotel Sligo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sligo
Clarion Sligo
Sligo Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
County Dublin, Ireland
27 days ago
Galway, Ireland
Islington
Belfast, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Sligo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4169 separate bathroom and bedroom - very nice”
Ginnyhan, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to include breakfast in your booking.”
PaddyM827, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors the better”
joecoughlan, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A bedroom at the front would be best as the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the large roof of the conference centre.”
CharlotteK805, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check the distance to the room, check wifi....”
psvi, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$135
Expedia.comUS$100
Hotels.comUS$100
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates