We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo F91 N8EF Ireland
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (390)
Dining (41)
Room & Suite (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 22/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Clayton Hotel Sligo
Updated 22/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 8 in Sligo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Clayton Hotel Sligo is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Sligo, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Clayton Hotel Sligo is a family-friendly hotel offering a refrigerator in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Sligo. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as W.B.Yeats Statue (0.8 mi) and Yeats Memorial Building (0.8 mi), guests of Clayton Hotel Sligo can easily experience some of Sligo's most well known attractions. During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Sligo Abbey (0.8 mi), The Model, home of the Niland Collection (0.7 mi), and Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (1.0 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel. Enjoy your stay in Sligo!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
1360Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 616
  • 287
  • 204
  • 133
  • 120
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sinead wrote a review 22 Jun
Monaghan, Ireland4 contributions
One of the best family stays! Highly recommend. I got the extra of a tent in the room for my 4 year old son and he loved it. Swimming pool is big and warm. The kids play area downstairs is perfect for young children and there’s a pool table and hockey table for the teens… crazy golf & a fairy finding trial is also good fun. breakfast was outstanding. Staff all super friendly… a must visit while here is the Glencar Alpaca’s which can be booked through the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tracy G wrote a review 20 Jun
County Westmeath, Ireland12 contributions7 helpful votes
a lovey hotel, very impressive as you drive in! Warm friendly welcome, we arrived early but were accommodated no bother. We were in a ground floor family room, clean and very quiet which was great when travelling with kids. Lovely comfy beds, we all had a great sleep. We made great use of the pool facilites (small kids pool and lovely 'grown up' pool) jaccuzzi etc, the crazy golf, and the fairy trail. All the staff we came in contact with were so friendly and polite and made a big fuss of my little boy who lost his first tooth during our stay (even when he showed them his gappy mouth for the 10th time!) and a fuss of me who was trying to slide my birthday under the radar but did appreciate the gooey treats that were waiting in the room for me! Breakfast was delicious and varied and unlimited - trust me, my husband pushed THAT to its limits!! How my children were treated stood out for me... they were made to feel like very important guests and the staff were very patient and kind with them. all in all a lovely mellow stay, great spot for the kids and grown ups alike. I would return and I would recommend it. A central spot for travelling about, Rosses Point was lovely there are lots of sightseeing places to go.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Galway girls wrote a review 19 Jun
Galway22 contributions17 helpful votes
My family spent some time in this beautiful hotel recently. Our suite was lovely. Spotlessly clean. Warm and comfortable beds. The staff were lovely and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The food was delicious and we were so well looked after, special mention to the staff member with a beard. Very courteous and respectful and so welcoming. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel. The grounds were so well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
M F wrote a review 14 Jun
County Meath, Ireland3 contributions
I stayed here June Bank Holiday Sunday night with my 3 sons, my mother in law, my niece and my sister in law. My sons were so excited when they seen the exterior and it is really beautiful. My check in went fine at 4.30 but my mother in laws room wasn't ready, we travelled from Meath, we were tired you know yourself after travelling, she's 80 also. When she did finally get her room you couldnt have put her further from reception if you tried, a good 5 minute walk. I thought to myself it could do with a good revamp, reception area is nice but the rooms are old wood and it's faded/scrapped so I'd already decided I'd probably not stay again, there was a bright pink stain on the cream coloured carpet in our room. To cut a long story short... someone urinated in one of the single beds in our room. When we arrived my 9 year old said uggh the bed feels wet and I thought to myself it was probably just cold, we were only in the room frazzled trying to get to the pool I didn't pay much attention to him, but that night my 15 year old got in and in fact the bed was wet, I stripped the bed and decided one one was sleeping innot I took the 9 year old in my double the 15 Yr old in his single and had to ship my other son off to my mother in laws as I'd no where for him to keep being down a bed. It was 11pm reception didn't answer so we just went to sleep and a Manager came the ext day, apologised and supplied sweets for the boys. My sons horrified he's 15 and horrified even at that age that this could happen in a hotel. I did get a call from the General Manager and an apology abd full refund, we altered offered a free stay but decided not to return again. Apart from the above I have no words 👎
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Michael C wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed in the hotel we were woken out of our sleep Two people next door talking very loud at 3.00 in the morning We phoned reception and a person called to the people and it quieten down When we were checking out next morning we said it to the receptionist we felted disappointing with the person response It the weekend that in it I did contact the hotel by email and no response This was our first time using this hotel not a very good experience in 2022
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Rogers, Other at Clayton Hotel Sligo
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Michael, Thank you for your review, As per my colleagues conversation with you we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope that in the future that you will give us the chance re-earn your trust and allowing us to show you the hospitality we show in our hotel. Kind Regards, Joseph R Guest Relations
Read more
JohnReggeaReynolds wrote a review 6 Jun
London, United Kingdom5 contributions7 helpful votes
Just want to say thank you for such a warm welcome and great service from all at Clayton. We were a large group (Damien Dempsey & band) playing the Wild Roots festival and everyone appreciated the care and help with everything. Have to mention the wonderful Shiela (Sile?) who went the extra mile and was such a positive vibe. 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Liam C wrote a review 4 Jun
2 contributions
Stayed here for a family wedding and was Impressed with the staff and service especially Senelani and Inga on check in very knowledgeable professional and very friendly. The room was large comfortable and very well maintained. The wedding was a fantastic event staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very well laid out and of great quality. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Noele wrote a review 1 Jun
1 contribution
This is a lovely hotel and 2nd floor accessible bedrooms have enough space and a gap under the bed for a wheelchair/ hoist user. Bathroom is big and the door opens outward, did not try the shower. Good food and location and pleasant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sarah D wrote a review May 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
Where do I begin? Giving two stars is generous, not because the hotel lacks comfort, but rather the front of house staff are appalling. That's quite a statement isn't it. There's also a young bar man who took great pleasure in telling me the hotel does not except Sterling. In fairness to the hotel, they don't except any foreign currency. However, the smugness with which this bar man declined the Sterling notes resting on the bar in front of him. Told me, all I needed to know about the level of training this young man has yet to receive. There was an observable low-level of hospitality etiquette rife during our stay. Let's break here, while I inject some positivity into this review. The hotel is impressive in its accommodation for children. It has a games room, with pool table, air hockey table (out of order), a dedicated paly room for younger children, mini-golf (outside), and a little play house built under the stairwell in the leisure area. The health & fitness staff could not have been more congenial, friendly and warm. My son wanted some change, I told him to go to the front desk, it was closer, he didn't want to. He said he didn't like how the front desk staff 'felt'. Lets go back to check in. You never have a second chance, at a first impression. The front desk area lacks warmth. I gave my name, the staff member said "I don't have a booking, would you have used another name". I'd just driven 3 hours, I was tired, of all the different ways a front desk employee could speak to a guest. Do you think the Hilton tells theirs guests straight off, we don't have your booking? I can attest, they do not. To be clear, I've worked for the Hyatt Corporation in America, and I've worked on the front desk. Here's some other ways it could have went, "Could I check I have the spelling of your surname correct?" "Would you have a booking reference that I could cross check with our system please?" and so on. Next, my card did not work in the hotel's card machine, I know, can you imagine my stress building. The Clayton front desk team now had the opportunity to show compassion, to reassure me that this situation could be ironed out. I had to ask if I could be checked in with a deposit of €200, I would go directly to a cash machine and get the remainder. Uncaring, lacking empathy, with looks of semi-distain, was what I received. Once the front desk supervisor gave the 'okay' for me to be given a room. I again asked where I find a cash machine, I was told a garage. Do you think I was given any directions? No I wasn't. They were too busy trying to get me to book breakfast, or dinner. Not knowing where to go I drove around, found a garage, no cash machine. Not sure how I remained calm. I came across an AIB cash machine, out of order, it then began to rain. I could have cried at this point. Further down the street, the Bank of Ireland, life saver that it is, was working. I withdrew the money for the hotel room. Joseph, seemed to have a personality. His chef can't cook rice though, and you get half a poppadum, with an unimpressive Indian vegetable curry. Why are you giving guests HALF a poppadum? Who is eating the other half, or are you just throwing it away! There are few positives to the staff encounters I had. I was cold, and called the front desk to ask for a blanket. When someone from housekeeping came to my door, she brought a duvet, and it's cover, she then asked if I wanted her to put it on. Don't even get me started on the toilet seat, dear god, wonky! You know when you sit down, and it shifts to the side, yep, each and every time I went to the toilet. Do you think I got the opportunity to tell anyone when I checked out, nope, not a chance, the queue was so long at reception. I took one look at another disgruntled female guest and thought forget this. There weren't enough staff on to check people out, or deal with guest's queries. The Clayton hotel looks good from the outside, but it lacks substance. Very disappointing. I will never use this hotel company again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Niamh M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My girlfriends and I stayed in the Clayton hotel over the Easter break. The hotel was very clean, spacious (perfect for getting ready for a night out on the town) and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and one member of staff went above and beyond to help 3 girls in need of a bite to eat after partying in town to the small hours. At 3am, Joseph kindly offered to prepare for us ham and cheese sandwiches. They were top class and put a smile on our faces! Kindness definitely goes a long way. Thank you Joseph! You are a living legend! Niamh, Lauren & Tracey
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarion hotel sligo, clarion sligo, sligo clarion
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel Sligo
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty SligoSligo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Sligo
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Nearby attractions include Knocknarea (7.7 km), Rosses Point (7.8 km), and Strandhill Beach (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vintage Lane Cafe, Lyons Cafe, and Eala Bhan Sligo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clayton Hotel Sligo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Sligo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sligo Abbey (1.3 km), Tobernalt Holy Well (4.3 km), and The High Cross (5.4 km).