We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strandhill Road, Sligo F91 EW24 Ireland
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (239)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sligo Southern Hotel
Updated 02/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 8 in Sligo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Diving
Highchairs available
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Fishing
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
950Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 251
  • 290
  • 227
  • 92
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ann M wrote a review 6 Jun
Leitrim26 contributions19 helpful votes
We spent the day at the hotel having lunch and a few drinks on the terrace at the front of the hotel. I can say we had the best table in Sligo that day. The sun was shining, we were protected from the breeze and the whole atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and friendly. We had a lovely late lunch outside which was tasty, promptly served and very reasonably priced. As we live reasonably locally (26 miles) there was no need to stay overnight. However, we will certainly return on future day visits to Sligo. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Derek S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution6 helpful votes
I thought you guys should be aware and I never really write reviews, but this time I made an exception to warn people not to book this hotel. We booked a 2-night stay and were charged just under €400 for a twin room, which we paid for in advance (big mistake). Having stayed in a number of hotels in Sligo and the surrounding area this is by far the worst in terms of quality, service, and value for money. It's outdated and ludicrously overpriced for what you receive and not even close to 4-star accommodation. It's well below the standard you'd expect for the money they charge and more like Sligo's answer to the Grand Budapest Hotel. Here's just a sample of what we experienced: 1. No WiFi in the room - as advertised in the literature - had to go to the main lobby to get any signal. 2. No mobile phone access - couldn't even use a mobile phone in the room - again had to go into the main lobby. 3. No servicing of the room - the next day we discovered the room wasn't cleaned, beds not made up, towels not replaced, tea/coffee not replenished, bins not emptied - turns out we apparently had to request this - WTF?. 4. No temperature controls in the room - just a dated radiator that we couldn't switch off at night - had to open windows and couldn't sleep. 5. No information booklet about the facilities, menus, what to do in emergency, services or safety procedures, etc - later discovered a bunch of confusing door signs hanging from the inside of the door handle. 6. The plug in the bathroom sink didn't work - it wouldn't release or empty - eventually had to use a teaspoon to prize out the plug to let water away anytime we used it. 7. TV Channels worked intermittently - couldn't watch any movies, etc - kept breaking up. 8. No water, biscuits, or condiments in the room. 9. As for breakfast - eggs, sausages, black pudding, beans all lukewarm - no bacon available and mushrooms doing the backstroke in their own grease. I'm no Chef but I thought food should be hot, not Lukewarm? Bottom line, do not stay here, do not give them your money as it's obvious money is more important to them than a decent standard and quality of service. Avoid like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tullaghbay1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Letterkenny, Ireland7 contributions7 helpful votes
So defo not a 4* hotel - was OK... but just not a 4*. More like a 3*. Odor from room upon entering - suppose you get use to it after a while, We headed out to town for drinks, meal and concert - again got the same smell when we entered that night. Staff Nice and Friendly, great service. Hotel defo outdated. Good Location. If returning to Sligo - prob try another hotel if Im honest
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jack O wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Took 5 attempts to get through on their answering machine which kept telling me to enter a pound sign or star, neither of which worked. No WiFi or lift, neither of which was advised when I eventually go through. Toilet in room leaked and had to change rooms. Got €15 deduction but had to ask for it instead of it being offered. Stayed in Dingle 2 nights before for €65 and far better all round. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Journey, We were experiecing difficultly with our wifi, which was an issue our provider was having and we do apologise for same. All our guests were informed that no lift access would be available as we were installing a new lift. A prestay email is automatically sent from our system prior to arrival and informs guests of same. We are sorry for your inconvenience and we hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Sarah C wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi, I stayed just 2 days ago, I will give a totally honest review. We booked as a couples night away, drove up from Cork, upon arrival we’re told no WiFi, no lifts and that we were 3 half flights of stairs up. ‘Fawlty towers’ came to mind. We were then given actual door keys with huge key rings on which given the initial appearance of the inside and out of the actual hotel itself they were actually quite fitting lol. Must admit I was a bit apprehensive to see the room, I was pleasantly surprised, it was big, clean, warm, all that you would want from a hotel room, the foyer area was cosy and the staircase grand and clean. We went for a quick bite of lunch, lovely girl gave us the menu and took our order completely by memory! She did not let us down! There were 4 of us eating, she got it perfectly right and in my opinion service is of the utmost importance for me anyway! Food was lovely too couldn’t fault it. Bathroom in our room and downstairs are outdated, but the sleep in the room was nice and comfortable, check in and out was faultless, the location to town is grand and yer well able to walk into town. Would I call it 4 star? No I wouldn’t but would I stay again ? Yes I would.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Sarah C, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we did have notices on both our web site and third party sites that we were installing a new lift and apologises for the inconvenience, guests were also informed by email 3 days prior to arrival. We are sorry but this essential work had to be carried out and no time is right to do same. Great to hear you enjoyed all out other amenities and services and look forward to welcoming you back Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Mags wrote a review Feb 2022
Galway, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here this week for three days and two nights and were not disappointed. The hotel itself is very charming and welcoming (not an impersonal chain one) and the perfect hotel to stay in during bad weather - open fires in the lobby with lots of comfortable sofas and armchairs, and book lined shelves. Room was comfortable, clean and very quiet. Staff were very good, especially the breakfast staff who were friendly and efficient and really went over and above to make sure all the guests were happy. We had dinner in the bar one evening - food was good - well cooked and presented and again the staff were very friendly and professional. Lovely hotel to stay in and would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Mags022022 Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look foward to welcoming you back in the future Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Northbrook wrote a review Feb 2022
Dublin, Ireland179 contributions190 helpful votes
My friends & I had booked this hotel several weeks in advance. On arrival we were told that the lift wasn't working; their room would be up 3 half-flights while I was offered one up 14 stairs (I'm mobility impaired). I gather the lift has been out of action since late 2021 yet we weren't informed of this beforehand. Wifi was also unavailable. A guest ahead of me at reception was complaining that the noise of the renovation work had woken him at 7 a.m. and wanted a reassurance that it would not reoccur, otherwise he would get an early train home. Hearing all this, we chose not to book in and luckily found another hotel which treated us exceptionally well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Dear Northbrook, We have had it stated at site of booking that our lift was being replaced for the month of February, it is also in our per stay email that guests receive three days prior to arrival. We have no choice but to carry out essential works in order to improve our guests experience and all guests are informed about these works in our terms and conditions that requires you to tick in order to proceed with a reservation online. The lift was taken out of commission on the 31st of January for the new lift to be fitted. The WiFi issue was relating to the storms and we currenty working on restoring same. We inform all guests of any works being carried out. Regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Whiskeyash wrote a review Feb 2022
Dublin, Ireland240 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 2 nights after a 2 day wedding in Mullingar. So had stayed in the Riverside but since this was right beside the train station I decided to give it a go. A last minute booking it was to be said but good value for 2 nights even though the first was valentine's day. When I arrived I went to the bar and had food while waiting to check in. The starter portion of the pulled pork nachos was big and have to say quite tasty. If this was the starter the mains must have been huge. When I checked in I was told no lift as works were been carried on. On second floor so not a big deal but more on that later. The bed was very comfy, comp packets of Tayto crisps which I have never seen in hotels before and some great firm pillows. Back to the lift issue the work started at 6.15am in the morning so unacceptable and was awake from this time I had planned for a relaxing ly in but this didnt happen..my room was right beside the work site. I asked if this was going to happen again in the morning again at 6am. Was told no on the second morning I was getting up at 9 anyway but it started again at 8.30am. It did put a damper on the whole stay but the staff were very apologetic. So apart from this the hotel was beautiful, food very tasty I had tomato soup and wings for lunch on the second day before heading out. I was just perplexed why I was allocated that room onnthe first place right beside the work site but it wont deter me from coming back I just will when there is no work going on
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2022
Dear Whiskeyash, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we appreciate your understanding with regard to the works being carried out on our lift. Great to hear you enjoyed our accommodation and dining options. We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
mcelwaineT wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Myself and my husband have stayed here a couple of times before now with problem whatsoever. Unfortunately this experience was totally different....so disappointing from start to finish. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary so as you can imagine our experience totally put a dampner on the celebrations When we checked in on Nov 2nd the room had hairs on the shower floor and a partially broken up carlsberg beer box in the wardrobe...as with the times that are in it this did not give us great confidence that the room was clean and sanitised When we reported to reception the poor girl on duty did not have anyone to check the room as she was on her own she said so I had to go to her with key. I'm fairness to her she did give us an upgrade to a mini suite. What I didn't like was that she came with me to the room this made me feel I was being looked over as I checked the room to see if was to our satisfaction.....very condescending I felt. Dinner was no better my husband ordered the burger with bacon and cheese....when it came out the burger was so black he took couple bites and left it I gave him some of my meal and he ate his chips.... Again when the young girl came to ask if all OK and we told her no duty manager to deal with it....she came back apologised on chiefs behave and ask did we want anything else.....we took one dessert between us because at this stage we were wishing we had stayed home.....when bill came they had given us the slice of cheese cake but had still charged full price for husbands main. Breakfast was no better scrambled eggs were swimming in water toast was cold and sausage was unateable.... I work in hospitality myself and normally not one to complain about these things but we were so disappointed and went home straight after breakfast... I emailed the hotel but didn't even get acknowledgement of my email hence why I've wrote this review
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ballybtit wrote a review Nov 2021
Ireland41 contributions44 helpful votes
We visited the Southern hotel for 2 nights in late Oct. The hotel is an old building which we love, but access is a problem. The only access for mobility challenged or buggies is via steep ramp through the bar goods entrance. Not the ideal way to arrive at a four star hotel. Our room was lovely, very clean, but it was cold, the heating is on a central timer and it took a long time for the room and indeed the water to heat. Also there was absolutely no WiFi coverage in the room which was a big disappointment to us. We were advised that WiFi is an issue and can only be guaranteed in the lounge public area. The breakfast was not 4 star, some of the cereals were in bowls covered with cling film!! The bowl my partner tried was stale. The choice was very llimited and the restaurant was chilly. There was a guy singing in the lounge on Friday night which was pleasant. We found all the staff enthusiastic and helpful, which was the saving grace for the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sligo southern hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty SligoSligo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sligo Southern Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michael Quirke - Wood Carver (0.5 km), Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (0.4 km), and Mullaney Brothers (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lyons Cafe, Fabios Cafes, and Coach Lane Restaurant at Donaghy's Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Sligo Southern Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sligo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sligo Southern Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sligo Abbey (0.8 km), Tobernalt Holy Well (3.9 km), and The High Cross (6.1 km).
Does Sligo Southern Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.