Sligo Southern Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sligo Southern Hotel

View from the room
Traveller (270)
Our Room
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#7 of 9 hotels in Sligo
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
A family owned and operated hotel . We subtly blend the elegance and intimacy of a more gracious age, with the best of modern comforts. Accommodation comprises of 94 well appointed bedrooms all ensuite, with direct dial telephone, multi-channel television, hair dryer and, tea and coffee making facilities. The award winning leisure centre boasts a 13 metre swimming pool, a children's pool, sauna, steam room and a fully air conditioned gym. can cater for a wide variety of group sizes with their range of conference suites, allowing for meetings and seminars of different scales to take place.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Diving
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Fishing
Squash offsite
Water park offsite
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Strandhill Road, Sligo F91 EW24 Ireland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Knock Intl Airport
45.1 km
See all flights
Dublin Airport
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,069 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Sligo Southern Hotel garners mixed reactions, with guests praising its clean, spacious rooms but occasionally mentioning unpleasant smells and noise. While service quality varies, leading to differing levels of guest satisfaction, some visitors appreciate the meal options and breakfast offerings. However, others find the hotel's pricing steep given their experiences. The atmosphere tends to be on the quieter side, with subdued music nights, and while the location is a highlight, critiques point to inconsistent hot water and dated amenities.
Atmosphere
Dull
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,069Review5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 315
  • 243
  • 105
  • 103
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
sive22 wrote a review Feb 2020
Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Let’s take the nitty gritty out of the way first shall we!
Firstly.. lockers in pool area need to be looked at, none of them lock!! And towels handed out in the pool area are a bit shabby! So they also need to be looked at!

Secondly: less tinned fruit at breakfast and more fresh? These are minor adjustments which can be rectified immediately.
Over all this hotel is clean, Comfortable and friendly. We stayed for two nights B&B with one evening meal which was reasonable priced...
A stone throws from the train station, with the town in mere walking distance.
Breakfast was to a good quality standard. Only for the above fore mentioned!
Evening meal which was included in the price was to a very high standard. Compliments to the chef.
Additionally water and crisps left in room were complimentary, nice touch.
Sligo has a lot to offer, I do recommend this hotel. So enjoy and soak up a piece of Yeats Country.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SligoSouthernHotel, Director of Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear sive22, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we will bring up your suggestions at our next management meeting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EmeraldIsle1703 wrote a review Jun 2021
County Dublin, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great as we had a train to take in the morning and not far from where we had to drop the rental car.
The room was fabulous, very spacious and clean, with a coffee corner, a table, 2 armchairs.
We stayed in for dinner and had a great view on the street and the Railway pub. Food was good and staff very welcoming and nice.
The breakfast was also very well organized to prevent any contamination (Coronavirus) and contact between guests.
Staff is actually very helpful.

Disliked · For those booking through Booking.com - please be careful, your booking will go through and you will get a confirmation that all is order, but then if you have booked with a debit card, you will receive an email that your card is not accepted. If you contact the hotel they will tell you that you need a credit card not a debit card in order to book with them.
It almost made me want to cancel the booking completely and book somewhere else.
But we have called them and they took 50 EUR as a deposit - upon receipt, I emailed them asking why they did not take the full amount for our night (115 EUR) and they never replied to my email.
And a few days before we arrive, while we were already on our road trip, we received another email saying that it was still not ok and if we did not provide a credit card immediately our booking would be cancelled within 24 hours, causing stress we really did not need.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 1 Jul 2021
Dear EmeraldIsle1703, Thank you for taking the time to offer you feedback, delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the safeguards we have in place reassuring. We have a hotel policy that only credit cards are accepted to confirm reservations and this is outlined on our online platforms, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but it was an automatic email you received from booking.com. Hope you enjoyed your road trip and look foward to welcoming you back to the Sligo Southern Hotel in the near future Kindest regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Littlemaxi wrote a review Jan 2020
Kilcoole, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly the positives.. it’s very central and only a couple minutes stroll to the main shopping areas and restaurants and bars. Also we got a very good rate for our B&B stay so overall value for money was good.
However, if you are going here, please note that it is a very old hotel & in serious need of an update and deep clean! I felt that everything was a bit grubby and dusty and nothing was cleaned properly for a long time.
Our room was spacious & had all the basics, bed was a little lumpy but the shower was awful, no pressure at all and took time to rinse shampoo out. Again the room/bathroom felt like it needed a deep clean, things like the window handles and doors were visibly dirty and when I went to plug my phone charger in behind locker it was very dusty. TV was quite small & old and not a great picture and the channels would freeze every so often.. the free view satellite channels were hit and miss.
We had breakfast in the dining room which has an air of old folks home about it - selection of food on offer was good however the quality is lower end.. OJ had no flavour, cereals seemed cheap and the brown bread was out of packet.. hot food seemed better, sausages & rashers were tasty & decent cup of tea!
Overall standards here were not very high.. every single glass I got was dirty/water marked, from juice glasses in morning to wine glass in evening, it took barman a few attempts to find a wine glass that was clean and clear! Bar food we had was standard fare and no complaints but again things like the sachets of ketchup and mayo were in containers that seemed grubby!
It was a necessary stay we had in Sligo but if I was going back I think I would look for an alternative hotel, as the Sligo southern was a bit below par in all area’s, even at a special offer rate , I expect a little better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SligoSouthernHotel, Director of Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Leonieh230, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we appreciate same although we find your comments a little unfair. We are a historic building that is decorated in keeping with its orgins, all our beds are Irish made classic collection respa beds and we update our bedroom furniture on a regular cycle. We use the highest quality products in our breakfast service, but understand if tastes differ Having checked with our staff you never brought up any issues during your stay or on check out when asked how your stay was Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M wrote a review Sept 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Sligo Southern Hotel in August 2020. It has a swimming pool but with covid restrictions there we were limited to pool only and had to book in advance to use the facility. The hotel is nice but the table service was a bit slow. Possibly short staff due to covid restrictions. You can order food to you room but the menu had no mention of a room service charge of €5 euro so when this was asked for it didn’t need paid as there was no mention of it on any paperwork. The hotel is a bit dated in areas such as the bar area but it was nice to stay in and a good location if you want to walk into the town and also the water falls are a short drive with other tourist attractions. There is open fires in the front reception and plenty of seats and sofa’s to enjoy a bit of chit chat with other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2020
Dear RichardM7962, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, our table service is a little slower that pre covid because of the guidelines we have implemented to ensure both our guests and teams safety and we ask our guests to please take this into account. We have adjusted our room service menu after looking into your feedback and we appreciate same We hope to welcome you back to the Sligo Southern Hotel in the near future Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VALEDIreland wrote a review Oct 2020
Tralee, Ireland
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is beautiful to look at and has elegant decor inside too apart from the very strange addition of tacky multi coloured light machine in various places. Our room was on the first floor. There is no lift to the first floor so it's a matter of lugging your cases up the main entrance steps then up to first floor. Eddie hates to ask for help if he can manage them himself. We had paid extra for a deluxe room but although it was nice, it was just a long room with and extra single bed in it so rather than deluxe I would say it was a basic family room. It was very dark with heavy nets up and had no view because it looked out at a 2 metre by 4 metre space with a couple of plant pots in it and looked straight into a neighbouring rooms window. Very disappointing as we were there for 6 nights. The room did not look very clean and I actually cleaned dirty marks off the cream vinyl seats and the table myself.
The bed was very comfortable. The room was not very soundproof from the adjoining room.
The food was delicious and they had a good menu. It didn't vary much, maybe one course change a day but really good quality. When it got quiet during the week they decided to close the dining room and put us in the bar but they didn't inform us of the change, they just let us go down to find an empty ,dark dining room. A bit of communication goes a long way. Then when we decided to mix up the menu a bit by asking to swap for two basic meals from the bar menu. There was firstly an inquest with the restaurant manager and then he agreed but said there might be a 2euro supplement which we agreed to. When we paid, he had added a 5euro supplement for each meal. 10 euro extra for cheaper dinners!
The gym was closed , due to it being small but they could have done it by appointment only. The pool was open by appointment and we enjoyed it but they had closed the showers so you had to dry off, dress and then go back to your room to shower?
We enjoyed the bar, it's a nice area. Although a couple of nights they came in and hoovered around at 9.30, not exactly very welcoming.
Our biggest worry was the apparent disregard for the dangers of Covid. Not one of the staff wore a mask, it was all visors (I have no faith in visors without masks). Some guests freely moved around the hotel without any face coverings. I have to say that apart from the bar staff and dining room staff cleaning tables I saw very little cleaning going on elsewhere. On our last night, a large group of men from Northern Ireland came. They were in a big group in the sitting room, drinking and in and out for smoking. Blocking the main entrance. Nothing was said by staff. I did not feel safe there in relation to Covid and was glad to leave for that reason. It is in a great location next to the train station and close to the city centre but we wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Dear VALEDIreland, At no stage during your six day stay, did you say that you were unhappy with your room, we are town centre hotel, you only said on check out that you would have preferred a front facing room. We would have been happy to accommodate this if you had mentioned it earlier in your stay. We do apologise for the lack of communication with regard to the restaurant service being moved to the bar, again your feedback was not mentioned to any of the team. Due to social distancing we took the decision to close our gym, sauna and steam room and our pool by appointment only, again this is for the safety of our guests and team members Visors are recommended and permitted under the Covid 19 guidelines which we strictly conform to, we can only advise guests, it is there decision whether or not to conform. The manager on duty on a number of occasions spoke to the group you talk of and asked them to conform to the guidelines. Regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 2 nights in The Southern Hotel and everyone was very welcoming from the moment we arrived. Check in was friendly, fast and informative. Getting a key to your room as opposed to a swipe card was a pleasant change. Our room was very spacious, with a king size bed and a single bed but with lots of room to spare. Water, fruit and chocolate Brownies were waiting us, as well as two very attractive towel swans. The room was spotless and soft fluffy dressing gowns and slippers were supplied, as well as a good selection of bathroom essentials.
We ate in the bar on the first evening and in the restaurant on the second night and on both occasions the staff were very attentive and were well trained in Covid protocol and dietary queries, particularly as one of our party was Coeliac. No request was an issue. The menu was varied and the food was very good. The seafood chowder and the steak are highly recommended. Wine was very keenly priced.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the Southern Hotel, Sligo. With Covid still very much part of our lives yet and some people afraid to venture to hotels etc, this hotel was extremely Covid aware, with sanitizers at every turn and tables etc well spaced.

Friendliness, charm, good service, good food and great value for money will definitely call us back to the Southern Hotel, Sligo
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear Angela, Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the safety measures we have in place We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great experience from staff and owners of the hotel during my two days staying there and treated excellently from check in to check out! The staff were very friendly and personable, making effort to build a rapport with all of the hotel's customers.

The food and drink at the bar and restaurant were of excellent quality. I would highly recommend to friends and family alike!

Similarly, the bedroom ( mini-suite) that I was staying in was top quality. The bathroom was perfectly clean and spacious.

I also took note of the efforts made by all staff to cater for our needs and safety due to COVID-19. PPE was worn by all staff and hand sanitiser was available practically everywhere in the hotel.

I stayed in Early August 2020 and I must say that despite the fact that the hotel was booked at full capacity, I was well looked after by all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Dear Briantheboc, Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we do our best to offer all our guests the perfect getaway. It is great to hear that we our Covid implementations are reassuring guests and ensuring an enjoyable breakaway during these uncertain times. Our team take pride in ensuring guests have an enjoyable stay and its great to receive the feedback Kindest regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leo Dolan wrote a review Oct 2020
Drogheda, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here last week in September ,and took a package deal 4 nights b&b 3 diners.
Hotel looks nice from the outside but on the inside it was so antiquated. Had dinner the night we arrived it was Luke warm.
Had breakfast next morning. All they had on was fried frisbee eggs sausages black and white pudding and tomatoes. Toast came out pre cooked and cold. I taught I was in an episode of faulty towers. Manuel turned out not to be Spanish but French. I'm trying to make light of the situation. Staff very friendly but hotel needs to come out of the dark ages and into reality before it closes. I know we are in the middle of Covit 19 if you are going to use sanitiser to keep the place clean let people know what you've used in case they are allergic to it. My recommendation is don't go there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Dear Frankolie1, We do not appreciate you tone, the member of our staff that is not Irish is not either Spanish or French, and this is so unfair on a member of our team who work hard during these uncertain times to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. We are glad you recognise that we use sanitiser for our guests safety Regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diamondsforever💍 wrote a review Jul 2021
Dublin, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms
The bedroom was big with comfortable beds but the bathroom is old with leaking toilet. And in need of a good clean.

Bar
Some of the seats in the bar are filthy
The staff are friendly & helpful

Breakfast
The breakfast was very good. It’s a buffet style with very good choice.

Leisure Centre
The changing rooms are clean
The pool could do a revamp, a good few tiles are missing off the wall in the pool itself.

The location of this hotel is great as it’s right beside the train station & centrally located in the town, within walking distance to shops & restaurants.
I know it’s an old style hotel which has the dark furniture & heavy swags & tail curtains but I do think that a good scrub is needed.
I wouldn’t considered it a 4 star hotel
Would I stay again … no
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking at hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team Sligo Southern Hotel , Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear Roief, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, and great to hear that you found our location, services and team very good. We are a period hotel and we can assure you that we have an extensive cleaning schedule at the hotel. We did have an issue with the pool during lockdown and were awaiting a specialised tiler to address the issue which has been completed Hopfully you will consider visiting us again All the best Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bean_Limerick 🇮🇪 wrote a review Jul 2020
Limerick, Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently (July 2020) stayed in the Sligo Southern Hotel.

The Hotel itself is in a great location, within walking distance of Sligo town centre. And there is free parking outside the hotel.

Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean, spacious and had tea and coffee facilities. Check in was easy and pleasant. Staff were helpful.

We ate that evening in the bar and the food was wonderful. Staff we wearing PPE, tables were well separated and it was very enjoyable.

Unfortunately when we went to bed, there was a loud drill type noise coming from what seemed like outside our room (with hindsight it was probably a water pump). This noise continued until about 1.30am. And started again after 6am. The result of this was that we got very little sleep.

We had ordered room service for breakfast the following morning and it was delivered on time. The breakfast was really nice - the hot chocolate was probably one of the nicest hot chocolates I have had.

When we were checking out, I mentioned the noise to the staff on reception. Their response was that a night porter had been on duty all night and we should have called them and changed our room. The reality was that (a) we kept on hoping the noise would go away and (b) there is no way I was going to get up in the middle of the night and move rooms, particularly during a pandemic. The staff member said he would bring it up with management but I haven't heard anything since.

Would we stay there again? Probably, if we could be guaranteed that we weren't kept awake by noise like that again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tara Henry, Sales at Sligo Southern Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear Bean_Limerick, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are sorry your sleep was disturbed and we have put a procedure in place that this does not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kindest regards Sligo Southern Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackie f asked a question Sept 2022
Arklow, Ireland1 contribution33 helpful votes
hello just wondering what the gf/vegan options are like in this hotel.
28 helpful votes
I do now there are a couple of options for vegans but I didn't look at the options as I'm not a vegan. Google the menu for the hotel and hopefully you might have a sample menu for the hotel.
MJC asked a question Dec 2020
Dublin, Ireland
Is there any staying golfing Sligo. ?
Answer from Christine R
Cavan, Cavan, Ireland13 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes ere is disabled access up the right side of the hotel and a lift from ground floor to bedrooms and down to lower floor for buffet breakfast and health club. You would need to ask for a room with facilities needed. Staff very helpful at all times. Bar and music on level of wheelchair access and reception there too. Wise to drive up to door entry with your passengers as car park is other side of building . Staff came and took our luggage happily when I asked.
PaulieS84 asked a question Jul 2017
Wigan, United Kingdom132 contributions56 helpful votes
How far is this from the Sligo races and are there pubs nearby?
Answer from Margaret D
Magherafelt, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
2km from the racecourse and there are plenty of pubs nearby the hotel.
Ken P asked a question Jan 2016
Edmonton, Canada164 contributions41 helpful votes
Any laundry facilities in the hotel or near by?
BigDave666 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy"
Read full review
Brian M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Galway, Ireland27 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is plenty of parking at the side of the hotel. If you are arriving into Sligo by bus or train, this hotel is only a stones throw away"
Read full review
Deirdre R wrote a tip Nov 2023
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking onsite. Located right next to the train station and 2 mins walk from sligo town centre."
Read full review
Madeline T wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant service better than bar"
Read full review
mk1Dublin_Ireland wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dublin, Ireland46 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The second floor rooms are not great. Especially looking against a small courtyard"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sligo area.
PRICE RANGE
€126 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sligo southern hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Great Southern Hotel Sligo
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty SligoSligo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLIGO SOUTHERN HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sligo Southern Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (0.4 km), The Harp Tavern (0.4 km), and Blue Raincoat Theatre Company (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coach Lane Restaurant at Donaghy's Bar, The Swagman, and Thai Pots.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Sligo Southern Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sligo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sligo Southern Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sligo Southern Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Sligo Southern Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sligo Abbey (0.9 km), Tobernalt Holy Well (3.9 km), and The High Cross (6.1 km).
All Sligo HotelsSligo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SligoHotels near Sligo Southern Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire