We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Breaffy Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Breaffy Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Breaffy Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

At first appearance, the hotel looks very posh. Once inside, I couldn't help but feel like the "posh" was just a surface thing. Our room was on the second floor. Walking down the hall on the old red, rippled carpet, there is this smell that I can't quite put my finger on but its very unpleasant. It's also very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 49nosuggestionsfound
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 49nosuggestionsfound, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, i was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, i apologize sincerely for this. We take all feedback very seriously both positive and negative and this allows us to improve our offering. I have spoken to...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

so we arrived to the hotel and when we got to the room it was freezing! we messed with the thing on the bottom of the radiator to see if it was turned off on that . we turned it all the way up and said wed give it a chance. For dinner we had to leave this hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annette W
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annette W, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Breaffy House Resort, i was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and i apologize sincerely for that. I would be very gratefull if you could contact Michael Yates Deputy General Manager with your own contact details so we can discuss your...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We tried to book at their sister hotel but no luck so knew that this is a family hotel rather than a couples hotel. On check in I went to the room to realise it was not the accesible room I had asked for. We were given an accesible room but it had a lovely view over the waste bins...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lin652015
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lin652015, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Breaffy Resort. It was regret that i read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel, for this i offer my sincere apologies, we always take on board all feedback that we receive both positive and negative and...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Portions are very small and expensive for what you get in Breaffy Woods for adults and kids menu. Apart from that, great for a family visit. Facilities and staff are child orientated but food lets it down. Pool is good and clean. Magician is brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormac D
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cormac D Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy Woods Hotel. I am pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and made good use of the facilities during your visit. I regret to hear you were not entirely satisfied with the food and I...

Co. Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights last week in one of the Residences. They are so well laid out with lots of room. Kids entertainment in the Woods Bar every evening was great, Kids really enjoyed the Magic Dan & Captain Jack shows. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. We also had cooking facilities in our room so didn't need to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barcarolafan1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barcarolafan1 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Breaffy House Resort. I am delighted to hear you and your family had a wonderful time with us here during your stay and that you all had an enjoyable experience at the entertainment shows. Captain Jack, Magic Dan and all the crews go...

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

On arrival receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly and booked us in immediately, Myself, my husband and two kids were assigned a nice clean family room, however during our first night on getting into bed we soon realised that the mattress had seen better days extremely uncomfortable and we just couldn't sleep but on complaining the next morning we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna h
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Resort, i was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, i apologize sincerely that the manger on duty did not deal with your complaint in an efficient and friendly manner, this is certainly not our up to our usual...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

On arrival the hotel reception hadn't our booking in their system and after a 30 minute wait while they were faffing about trying to find us a room. I asked for my money back. Which at first was refused to me by the receptionist, who I might add was totally incompetent. She was joined by the hotel manager who seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daragh M
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darragh M. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i do apologize that on arrival you were not dealt with in a sufficient manner. Unfortunately sometimes depending on where bookings are made through 3rd party sites we might not have received the bookings, it is with regret that you feel the staff were incompetent and unprofessional,...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Checked in after 4pm Friday, no record of my booking (booked through 3rd party online) slightly annoying as I had been in contact with hotel both by email and fb message with details of my booking the day previous! Assigned a room (which I can only assume was a family room - 1 double, 3 singles, no cot) Disappointed as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OrlaghMarie
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orlaighmarie, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel, it was with regret that i read you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and for this i do apologize. We take all feedback very seriously as it helps us to improve on our level of service and...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek with our 7 & 4 year olds. This hotel is perfect if you want your kids to be entertained. The staff are so helpful & friendly. The room was very comfortable, spacious & spotless. Our kids loved the disco with captain Jack! The bar area is literally taken over with kids dancing &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cupcakeprincess1
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cupcakeprincess1 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel. It is with delight I read you had such a wonderful stay with us and I am happy to hear everything was to your satisfaction. I am also glad to hear you and your family made good use of the...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from this fantastic hotel after spending a week there with my wife & 2 year old son. After booking it at the last minute we didn't know much about the hotel but are so glad we did. From the moment we checked in the staff were amazing in particular kamal who upgraded us to a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
WilsonBirdBreaffy, General Manager at Breaffy Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip R Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Breaffy Woods Hotel. I am humbled to read your pleasant review and I am happy everything was to your satisfaction and more. We aim to provide the highest standard of holistic care to all of our guests and I am glad Kamal...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.8 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
800 reviews
1.8 km away
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
#5 of 8 in Castlebar
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
768 reviews
16.0 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
1,482 reviews
16.5 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Breaffy Woods Hotel

Address: Station Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: €61 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breaffy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Breaffy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breaffy International Sports Castlebar
Hotel Breaffy International Sports
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Breaffy Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify if you wish to have a room with a Bath.”
 of 5 bubbles goodchoice, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask to be away from the bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles clevercat123, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have nets so you are overlooked anywhere on the frontor back”
 of 5 bubbles lin652015, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pool is across the car park at Breaffy house”
 of 5 bubbles Bat100, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a very enjoyable stay, food, facilities, staff, Hotel, and surroundings well worth a visit. Great location for Knock Airport.”
 of 5 bubbles geraldinemcnulty, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay