We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Dublin Road, Drogheda Ireland
Booking.com
Priceline
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4-star Failte Ireland Approved and 'Highly Recommended' Orley House is situated in Drogheda, just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Pick up and drop off at airport can be arranged. Walking distance to Bus & Train 24 hours service provided. Orley House is beside many award-winning restaurants and Drogheda town. It is a short drive from 4 golf courses including Baltary, home of the Irish Open. Orley House is centrally located for exploring the Boyne Valley, Newgrange, Hill ofTara, Belfast Titanic, Dublin and Wicklow,Sherries & Malahide. The 11 option breakfast menu is a real treat, and features local farm produce and homemade brown bread. It is served in the beautiful conservatory, with views of the pretty garden. Staff have great local knowledge of the area, and golf tours can be arranged. Free internet access on a guest computer is available, and free Wi-Fi is accessible. Ground-floor rooms are also available, and on-site parking is free. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and equipped with pleasant extra touches including blackout curtains, luxury linens, an LCD flat-screen TV/DVD player and a tea/coffee tray and chocolate treat and complmentary bottle of still water. The modern bathrooms luxury bathrobes, thick white towels, quality range of revitalising toiletries and a hairdryer
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
101Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 20
  • 7
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
MatureCouple_C wrote a review Oct 2018
Toronto, Canada66 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed here because there were some good reviews on TA, although not many from the past year or so. This place should probably no longer be in business. When we arrived at the agreed time, no one answered the door bell. After knocking for some time,if one of the guests came to let us in – when the proprietor came, he said that the doorbell doesn’t work. No apology, no mention of when it would be fixed. The room was small and smelled of dog. The toilet didn’t flush well. The walls are thin – we could clearly hear voices in the next room. This place not inexpensive, overpriced considering that it is remote from the town centre. To make matters even worse, the day after we paid our bill and left, they charged our credit card an additional 20 Euros without informing us or asking permission. When I found out and complained, they claimed that a couple should use only the small double bed (see their picture!) and not also the single bed that was in the corner. There was no mention of 2 beds or one bed in the agreed price. What would they have done had I paid with cash? If you still decide to stay here, be aware that it is hard to find. There is a sign on the main road but after turning off, Google Maps says you have arrived but you actually have to go 100 yards, around a corner on a side street to see the small unlit sign.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Certainly don't stay in the Room 1.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda Maria P, Owner at Orley House
Responded 12 Oct 2018
The guest arrived just as one of are guests was going out I was standing behind them. No body was knocking for sometime as I saw him from my sitting room as he entered and came to the door. Our door bell was out of action as we have just got a new kitchen in and we were waiting on the electrician to come to fix the problem a pulled wire. The room is a triple room en-suite that is 20 by 18ft not a small room. I have got an email off him threating me to return his money otherwise he would write to everyone about us. Nothing wrong with the toilet my dads a plumber and well had to show them how to flush the toilet which has a handle on it how childish can you be. The toilet was flushed 3 times in their presence and flushed 3 times. A remote area we are within walking distance of the town ??? how remote is that. All the walls are concrete and not thin walls. We don't have small double beds it is a standard double bed. Clearly states on the booking form you booked double room not a room with two beds. The prices are clearly posted that a double is 100.00 and a twin 120.00 our cleaning lady must be paid and well you used two beds and left one with some marks on it and with having a toilet so close by in your room is a disgrace perhaps that is why you had to use two beds . The cleaning lady was disgusted by what she saw the sheets were bagged and binned and she has seen somethings in her day. Every a dog is toilet trained. The guest was so rude other guests even heard him it was hard not too from arrival to departure he wanted everyone dancing attendance on him and being rude at the same time. It fact he had to be the most demanding and commanding of a man. Sorry but no one can put lights on signs on a main road. We have the standard Failte Ireland sign perhaps he could take it up with Failte Ireland. He also wanted a sign erected you have now arrived also probably with flashing lights. Well been nearly 40 years doing B&B and met all sorts but this was the first I was going to ask to leave. I don't have to take that type of abusive off anyone. I will not be bullied in my own home by anyone either or threated to return his payment so he will not write to everyone about me. Nothing wrong with the signs the house the room just wants his money returned and well the answer to that is no. Sad way to be on a holiday. Con artist on holiday he must think all Irish people are very green. Regards Brenda Phillips
Read more
Suzanne M wrote a review Jul 2018
Seaford, Australia140 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
This was our first night after arriving in Dublin late. From the moment we arrived it was great. Friendly, chatty, willing to help and just an overall delight. We were shown to our room and explained everything. Bed was very comfortable! We woke early and were due to have breakfast at 8:30am but went in early to the conservatory and was well looked after. Food was great and spoilt for choice. The conservatory is just beautiful, the flowers and overall feel was special. We thank you for an amazing night and are up for a chat anytime lol
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ChrisK2709 wrote a review Jul 2018
Seaford, Australia88 contributions63 helpful votes
My wife and I were very pleased to be welcomed so warmly on our visit to Orley House. The hosts are the friendliest and most hospitable people we have met here. The location and venue are amazing. The gardens are expertly manicured. Breakfast was exquisite. A true five star meal. The bacon and scrambled egg was cooked to perfection. The selection of breads was extensive. Also we were presented with a large selection of cereal, fruit and other items. We wish we had spent more time getting to know the hosts. If you want a clean, friendly place to stay this is it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Fergus H wrote a review Oct 2017
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
We had booked two rooms here for two adult couples and were looking forward to a rest after a long drive. It was difficult to park in the front yard, but having finally managed it, I knocked on the front door. The woman who answered looked at me curiously and when I explained we had bookings, told me in a very cursory way that all bookings had been cancelled and I should have checked my email. I was taken aback by her blunt and almost confrontational manner. Rude would be an appropriate description. I told her politely I hadn't received any email notification, but she insisted that it had been sent to all intending guests, with the implication that I was at fault. (Subsequent checking showed absolutely no email with this advice.) She mentioned that a bereavement had occurred and ' nothing could be done about it', before closing the door on us. We were, of course, sorry to hear this, but also affronted by her unhelpful, brusque and unfriendly manner. In retrospect, we are glad not to have stayed there. 'Failte' my eye.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is very tight. If you have experienced genuinely friendly and helpful hosts elsewhere in...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda Maria P, Owner at Orley House
Responded 6 Dec 2017
On opening door and we told you of our situation of being closed due to the death of my mums brother. You were so rude and your aggressive manner was shocking. You had no respect for us and our situation and if questioned the death. You were offered help but went off like a bull. You denied getting an email but it was present to you at the door and you then said you didn't check it all the time. You had an entire driveway to yourself and you difficulty !!!! says it all. in business almost 40 years and well there is always a bad apple in every basket
Read more
claudiebeetle wrote a review Oct 2017
North Troy, Vermont61 contributions7 helpful votes
We got there and our room was not ready, were told To go down the street to the Pub. We were ready for diner so that worked good fo us. Our room was quite spacious, clean bed comfortable. Peter was very talkative and also gave us directions to “Newgrange”. A MUST SEE SITE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
AndreasTylla wrote a review Aug 2017
Wil, Switzerland20 contributions8 helpful votes
As we arrived they almost did not open the door, took our booking, came back and forth and told us that they do not know Ebooker and that they did not have our booking.!!! The whole time we had to stand in front of the door!!! Then we could go without a room Ebooker was also very unable to help us with a room. So we had to look for ourselves what was not easy as a lot was already booked out. Later on the lady of Orley house wrote us a email (interesting as she said she never got anything about us!!)that she found our booking through Expedia!! But as she had cancelled to work with Expedia, she did not have it in her booking system. We talked to other owners of bed and breakfast houses later. They told us, that even if you cancel a contract with Expedia you have to do all bookings which you already got. We can only say it was a disaster. It costed us a lot of time and nerves. Never book there because you don't know if they do your booking correctly. All was very unfriendly. Kurz auf Deutsch. Die haben unsere Buchung durch ebookers verschlampert, uns unfreundlich vor der Türe stehen lassen und wir durften neue Unterkunft selbst suchen. Ebookers war ebenfalls unfähig und hat uns auch nur Zeit und teures Telefonat gekostet! Auch von Ebookers können wir nur abraten.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda Maria P, Manager at Orley House
Responded 6 Dec 2017
On arrival you were told we did not have a booking in your name. You were on sure who you had booked with. After some time you said you had used e-bookers . You were told we were not with that agent and would not accept bookings as we would not be paid from them. Sorry we only accept bookings from agents we advertise with. The mistake was your own and no proof of any booking was provided at the time. As we were full we were unable to take you and advise you of another B&B a few mins drive away that had rooms so no problem as you made it out to be.
Read more
Malcolmfire wrote a review Aug 2017
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom175 contributions92 helpful votes
Everything about Orley house is adequate. The room was clean & bed comfortable. The breakfast was ok & edible , albeit over cooked or had been standing under heat for some time. The place is pleasant & the host helpful & friendly. Not the best we have had but then again not the worst
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Kyla S wrote a review Aug 2017
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked this B&B through B&B Ireland. Arrived here earlier around 4:30 pm, rang the doorbell three times, and got no answer... There was a car in the back, so I figured that the owner must have stepped out or hopped in the shower, no big deal, so we went and had dinner in town. When we came back 2 hours later we found a sign posted on the door that reads "Sorry, we are closed due to water leaks and loss of full power in the rooms." Knocked again to see if she could help us, no answer... We received no phone call, no e-mail, nothing. Meanwhile, the same car is sitting in the driveway and the back door had been opened since we were there earlier, so OBVIOUSLY someone was home. We were stuck in Drogheda with nowhere to stay for quite some time, and we didn't have international cellular service. So we had to just knock on the doors of random B&B's until we found someone who would take us in so late. Really really poor management.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't, avoid this b&b.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda Maria P, Owner at Orley House
Responded 6 Dec 2017
The water problem was in the whole area and not just with us. There was a major leak in the area and surrounding area. We had to close as we had no water , no shower no toilet facility. How you could see our back door is a very strange. When we were out we had details of a hotel in Balbrigan that had rooms available and they had water as they are on different water supply.
Read more
Mememe O wrote a review Jul 2017
Denver, Colorado29 contributions6 helpful votes
We arrived without a reservation and were so lucky to find vacancy at Orley House. It was a terrific find. Everything was clean and comfortable. The host recommended a terrific pub just down the road and breakfast was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
chasglen wrote a review Mar 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We recently had a two night stay here and were made most welcome by the owners. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We would certainly recommend Orley House to anyone visiting Drogheda. Maureen and Charles Glen
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
orley hotel drogheda
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty LouthDrogheda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Orley House
Which popular attractions are close to Orley House?
Nearby attractions include St Peter's Church (0.7 km), Monasterboice Monastic Site (0.7 km), and St. Laurence Gate (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Orley House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Orley House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Orley House?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Orley House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goodwins Steakhouse & Grill Bar, Simona Cafe, and Aisha's Cafe & Bistro.
Is Orley House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Drogheda.
Are there any historical sites close to Orley House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bru na Boinne (5.5 km), St. Laurence Gate (0.5 km), and Beaulieu House and Garden (3.4 km).