We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Save
Share
King Street, Drogheda Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (187)
Dining (38)
Room & Suite (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Drogheda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
638Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 163
  • 54
  • 25
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
YSD wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions10 helpful votes
Having had to cancel during lockdown, we were delighted to make it to Scholars for an overnight stay on the 23rd. My interaction before getting there had been very professional and friendly - I had the same experience when there. Really nice staff! Delicious meals. Scholars is a listed building with a great history that has been tastefully renovated. As a result, our bedrooms were small but we had the best of bed linen and plenty of fluffy towels. I was impressed by their covid precautions, including Coffee & Tea facilites having been removed from the rooms (but we were given a voucher for same, which was a nice gesture) It was easy to spend hours wandering around Drogheda - there is so much to see. We really enjoyed our Staycation, and would highly recommend both
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
matt staunton wrote a review Aug 2020
Ireland229 contributions264 helpful votes
We recently spent a weekend in Scholarstown House. Its a quaint little hotel that has preserved the original building. The interior has tastefully retained its original features and antique furnishings. But be warned some bedrooms are very small! They have an amazing floral display in the little garden with a terrace for outside dinning. Mark is the manager/owner a really nice and hard working person along with Will and all the staff they are friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Susan wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband and I had lunch here today and were extremely impressed with the impeccable service we received. The set lunch in the restaurant was excellent value. The generous portions were beautifully presented but the standout feature was the absolute professionalism of every member of staff and the excellent maintenance and cleanliness of the whole property.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JohnChapin wrote a review Feb 2020
Meath, Ireland60 contributions61 helpful votes
Fast and efficient online check in to speed up arrival. Staff friendly, quickly shown to room. Got a great deal on a larger room with four poster bed in this beautiful building with free parking, patio and landscaping. Bedrooms have everything you need, free WiFi and a new addition of a convenient bedside power station with two USB slots and regular sockets, excellent for overseas visitors, great for anyone’s devices. Only had breakfast this time , which like all their food, is excellent, served in the beautiful dining room, full service of hot food to order. Highly recommend and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Road671108 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I could only imagine what the energy rating if the rooms are.Terrible insulation.My room was freezing due to single pane glass and extremely noisy as was next to a kids school and playground.Zezo concierge facilities as advertised.No plug in car charge facilities and was offered no help in getting to and from the local charge area.Three kilometers away is an open air car park.Not Safe.So if you are looking to plug in ,look elsewhere.The food I ordered was awful.The ham was too salty to eat.SO disappointed that I decided to eat elsewhere for my evening meal.No room safe.No Robe or slippers. Very dissappinted As Had a poor nights sleep.Left earlier than intended. Will not be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Mr T This review is a clear retaliation for the fine imposed for soiling my bedroom for five nights. You had the room littered with cigarette butts and empty bottles of spirits. The smell of cigarettes was blatantly obvious, part of the window sill had been badly burned and the frame has to be replaced. The room has since been fumigated. All of the proof is by email and photograph, you signed our check in document agreeing with our no smoking policy. You apologised for the inconvenience in an email and then expected a refund for the damage caused for some reason. It was an expensive night at €800.00 for soilage, the room was out of action for 5 nights. I hope the party was worth it, the loss for the hotel is much greater than the fine imposed by the way. In regards to the sandwich I am surprised you could even taste salt considering the amount of cigarettes consumed. The wine bucket in the room was loaded with butts along with the wine glasses. As for the coldness in the room, it was -5 degrees and you had the window open to try cover up the smell of smoke, You were never worried about the stained glass windows because you had the bloody window open......... of course you were cold. I am thrilled there was no robe and slippers in the room for you because they would not have survived your stay. I have a few questions for you. How many 3 star hotels in the country have plug in charge points? Why would anybody help you charge your electric vehicle? If it was a petrol car, do you think the concierge would take you to the petrol station and fill it up for you??? Why on earth would you think that this comes standard in a 3 star hotel? Why are open air car parks not safe? Mr T, I think you should take a long hard look at the hasstle you have cause Scholars Townhouse Hotel and have a bit more respect for other peoples property. You are not welcome back to my family hotel. Regards Mark Mc Gowan MD
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scholars townhouse drogheda
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty LouthDrogheda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing