Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Scholars Townhouse Hotel

Traveller (227)
This is the delicious sea food chowder on the lunchtime menue.
Dining (45)
Room
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 6 hotels in Drogheda
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Originally built in 1867, this charming town house has been tastefully renovated in a modern style, whilst retaining its historic charm, with stained glass windows and high coved ceilings. Once used as a Christian Brothers house, Scholars now provides all the facilities and features of modern accommodation. It occupies a privileged position in the centre of the historic town of Drogheda, County Louth, only 20 minutes from Dublin airport via the nearby M1 motorway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Fireplace
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

King Street, Drogheda Ireland
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
Dublin Airport
33.1 km
See all flights
680Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 422
  • 166
  • 57
  • 28
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Topdeco69 wrote a review Jun 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia34 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I held my wife’s birthday dinner in Scholars. After lockdown it was so great to get out. The hotel had built a temporary structure beside the hotel to facilitate outdoor dining. We had eaten here before and the food was as god as before, probably even better. The staff went out I go their way to give us a great night. I would highly recommend Scholars for a lovely night away with fabulous food and a warm welcome. Will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wmartin@cme-energy.com wrote a review Mar 2024
Boston, Massachusetts24 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely, well-located hotel with well-trained, helpful staff. It's in a quiet location and their restaurant/lounge is very popular with locals, for good reason. Our room was small but fine. We are greatful for the staff working so hard to successfully find our luggage lost on the bus.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sean F wrote a review Aug 2021
Waterford, Ireland23 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had my first experience today of Scholar's Townhouse Hotel, and it won't be my last. Coming up from Waterford to take my sister to lunch, she chose here, and we both loved it. From being met at the entrance to have our covid certs checked to when we left, everying and everyone were attentive, pleasant and welcoming. The lunch menu was really good, and we both opted for the old reliable, fish and chips. Well, it can only be described as gorgeous. The best fish and chips I've had in any establishment, and that's saying a lot at 65. Well done chef, and thank you. Dessert too was scrunptious, you'll just have to go and experience it. The staff were all polite, attentive without crowding you, and friendly. Again, well done to all. I left looking forward to when I can return, and that can't come soon enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DayTrip54782424847 wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Scholars, it is a fabulous hotel and the staff were lovely and helpful. We spent our first two nights in a very expensive hotel in Malahide and I have to say our stay in Scholars was much more comfortable.
The breakfasts were lovely especially the smashed avocado.
We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs B wrote a review Aug 2023
Ireland68 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for a night last minute and didn't really check reviews. I was delighted to show up and find such a beautiful and unique hotel. My family and I were in the presidential suite. It's a 2 room suite, small, very clean and the beds are so comfortable. If you like modern and mimimalistic this is not the hotel for you. This is old world charm with beautiful antique furniture and detail that will transport you back to another time. The staff are attentive and friendly, wine was nice. Breakfast was beautiful but not your normal buffet style. You order at the table and they bring it to you. Would have been nice to have some croissants/pastries. The juice was warm but we got some ice for it and it was fine. I would love to return for a romantic weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road671108 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I could only imagine what the energy rating if the rooms are.Terrible insulation.My room was freezing due to single pane glass and extremely noisy as was next to a kids school and playground.Zezo concierge facilities as advertised.No plug in car charge facilities and was offered no help in getting to and from the local charge area.Three kilometers away is an open air car park.Not Safe.So if you are looking to plug in ,look elsewhere.The food I ordered was awful.The ham was too salty to eat.SO disappointed that I decided to eat elsewhere for my evening meal.No room safe.No Robe or slippers.
Very dissappinted As Had a poor nights sleep.Left earlier than intended.
Will not be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Mr T This review is a clear retaliation for the fine imposed for soiling my bedroom for five nights. You had the room littered with cigarette butts and empty bottles of spirits. The smell of cigarettes was blatantly obvious, part of the window sill had been badly burned and the frame has to be replaced. The room has since been fumigated. All of the proof is by email and photograph, you signed our check in document agreeing with our no smoking policy. You apologised for the inconvenience in an email and then expected a refund for the damage caused for some reason. It was an expensive night at €800.00 for soilage, the room was out of action for 5 nights. I hope the party was worth it, the loss for the hotel is much greater than the fine imposed by the way. In regards to the sandwich I am surprised you could even taste salt considering the amount of cigarettes consumed. The wine bucket in the room was loaded with butts along with the wine glasses. As for the coldness in the room, it was -5 degrees and you had the window open to try cover up the smell of smoke, You were never worried about the stained glass windows because you had the bloody window open......... of course you were cold. I am thrilled there was no robe and slippers in the room for you because they would not have survived your stay. I have a few questions for you. How many 3 star hotels in the country have plug in charge points? Why would anybody help you charge your electric vehicle? If it was a petrol car, do you think the concierge would take you to the petrol station and fill it up for you??? Why on earth would you think that this comes standard in a 3 star hotel? Why are open air car parks not safe? Mr T, I think you should take a long hard look at the hasstle you have cause Scholars Townhouse Hotel and have a bit more respect for other peoples property. You are not welcome back to my family hotel. Regards Mark Mc Gowan MD
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maureen Cullen wrote a review Oct 2021
Termonfeckin, Ireland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Delicious dinner in Scholars last night. Very strict Covid cert check at the door which made us feel very safe. Also tables are well spaced. Had a table in the bar area and we enjoyed a delicious sirloin steak, cooked to perfection. Great, friendly service too. Well done to all concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Iau wrote a review Jul 2023
Timbuktu, Mali38 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room provided (116) was, at first glance, excellent but it was so noisy at night from two refrigeration units just below the (single glazed) window that we struggled to sleep.
Most dissapointed. I had expected better from a hotel that brands itself as 'luxury', it certainly wasn't for us.
I wish we had gone elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mairead P wrote a review Oct 2022
United States1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let's put it this way.... One would be hard pressed to find any fault in this beautiful hotel and its staff.
We were so comfortable and were made to feel so welcome by Anna.
All the staff are so helpful and friendly.
Had a delicious chowder for lunch.
The breakfast was lovely.
Very carefully kept inside and out.
Four of us friends stayed over to go to Thomas Leddy Theatre for a concert on Saturday night.
Looking forward to staying here again.
Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DubtravellerDublin wrote a review Apr 2023
Dublin45 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Over-priced and extremely poor service and management attitude. Very hard to access by car and poor car parking facilities when you arrive. Things can be pricey these days of course but there's no excuse for the price here relative to the poor attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from MarkMcGowan
Drogheda, Ireland19 contributions2 helpful votes
Sure, we have elevators up to the hotel level. If you have any issue with parking just call and we will send a manger out to assist you. Kind Regards Mark
Yvonne asked a question Dec 2022
Navan, Ireland77 contributions57 helpful votes
Do you have a gluten free menu?
Answer from alex154995
LONDON27 contributions17 helpful votes
Their website shoes afternoon tea but it appears to be for a more adult clientele. I would contact them directly. They seem very helpful and upfront so I think you would get honest advice.
susan c asked a question Jan 2018
Cape May County, New Jersey34 contributions53 helpful votes
Does this hotel have an elevator or someone to help carry luggage? is it a 2 story hotel?
Answer from Chelmo_Man
Brandon, United Kingdom869 contributions31 helpful votes
Yes it has a lift. It has a ground floor with reception, bar and restaurant. Accommodation is up one level. Staff are ok and will help you too.
Answer from irl
Dublin, Ireland98 contributions89 helpful votes
hi west29 is really nice for food and cocktails. mcphails for a lively atmosphere and live music!! enjoy
Mary wrote a tip 1 May
Drogheda, Ireland385 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great, coffee great food. Don't pass the chance to eat here food is excellent "
Read full review
wmartin@cme-energy.com wrote a tip Mar 2024
Boston, Massachusetts24 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need a cab from the bus or train stations. It's apart from City Center but very nearby."
Read full review
Joanne W wrote a tip Dec 2023
Skerries, Ireland42 contributions40 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking, v steep hill outside."
Read full review
Alan F wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good location but tiny rooms."
Read full review
Iau wrote a tip Jul 2023
Timbuktu, Mali38 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do no accept room 116."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Drogheda area.
PRICE RANGE
€196 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scholars townhouse drogheda
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty LouthDrogheda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCHOLARS TOWNHOUSE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Drogheda, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

All Drogheda HotelsDrogheda Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DroghedaHotels near Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire