We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel Limerick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Limerick
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Limerick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 994: English reviews
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We paid an extra 20€ per night to upgrade. We got triangular room mostly taken up by the bed we had to move chairs and a table to get into the safe,we took the ironing board out of the very small built in wardrobe in order to hang our clothes. It was like staying in recently redecorated student accommodation. Rest... More 

Helpful?
Thank james s
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not believe your upgrade to be worth the price and found the room was not spacious enough for your needs. Our deluxe rooms, which are situated at the end of each corridor, have floor to ceiling windows looking out over the River Shannon. The rooms carry a... More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
633 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2014

The hotel is quite good. The bar and restaurants are also good as is the service. Location we found not to be the best. Unfortunately the area around the hotel is not too nice. There are only a couple of restaurants within walking distance. You could find much better.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read you did not find the area around the hotel to be to your liking, we do get such excellent feedback on our location on the banks of the River Shannon and the convenience of the hotel to the city centre. Thank you also for your comments on your dining experience... More 

Tralee, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The hotel is noisy, pillows are uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for families. The staff are nice but the hotel itself was unimpressive and way overpriced. when we arrived we were informed that the twin room only had single beds (never encountered this before in a hotel!) we had to pay extra on top of an already expensive rate. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank SandraMaJo
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us recently, especially that you found the hotel to be overpriced. I am also sorry to read that you were not entirely happy with your dinner experience. With regards to the reservation which you made on bookingcom, the room type which... More 

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night,because that's what was available.Hotel in a superb location right on the banks of the Shannon and within 5 mins walking to Main Street of Limerick.rooms are large with all expected extras.Very modern in design and tasteful decor. Breakfast is buffet, and excellent.Only one negative,car parking is outside the hotel limits, and is private so you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our convenient city centre location, the hotel being just a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area and tourist attractions. As a city centre hotel we do not have our own parking facilities but have a negotiated rate available for... More 

Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Comfortable, up-to-date room with a beautiful view of the Shannon River and King John's Castle in the distant. Steps away from shopping and restaurants. Delicious food served in the hotel restaurant. Very happy with our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Diane V
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this year. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our rooms, location and your dining experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Very good location- close to attractions but quiet. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent jacuzzi. Clean spacious room. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Maybe a little upgrading needed. Enjoyed my stay.

Helpful?
Thank 62Kathy52
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular our convenient city centre location. I am very glad to read also that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, our team have been working very hard to improve the variety available to our guests at breakfast so it is... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Very nice hotel. My advise: book through Expedia or any other booking websites, that's how you can save around 60% from the hotel price of the room. And the second advise: try a room with the river view. It's stunning and absolutely relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Kseniase
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2014

I have stayed here for 6 nights and felt it is substandard hotel for the level of inputs that we see in the web. The location and the food inside the restaurent is great but the rooms need an uplift. The bed seems to be quite old and the entire room appears to be as "cheap" product all together. Again,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aravind G
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us recently. With regards to your comments on our rooms, we do have a refurbishment plan in place for the hotel which should rectify the issues you experienced during your stay. All of our bedrooms are to be fully renovated... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed in this hotel once a week for the last 6 weeks and enjoyed my stay each time. Its a nice hotel for the money. Food in restaurant is good and staff are friendly & helpful. Apartments on 15th floor are tired and in need of a refurbishment, standard of double rooms ive stayed in is higher. Good location... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinkpink78
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stays with us recently, including your dining experiences and our convenient city centre location. We do have a refurbishment plan in place for the hotel which should rectify the issues you experienced during your stay, all of our bedrooms are to be fully renovated, including our apartments... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Had a restful stay, comfortable bed, great view of the Shannon, lovely swimming pool. Pity about fee paying parking. The price was just about my budget until I got the parking bill...€8.50 for the night. Breakfast was great. The staff really looks after everyone. 80 people came in at 7am. looking for breakfast and the staff was able to cater... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hipayay
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that you were given the opportunity to relax during your visit making use of our Sanovitae leisure facilities. As a city centre hotel we do not have our own parking facilities but have a negotiated rate available for our guests, €8.50... More 

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.5 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,767 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,188 reviews
0.7 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
1,043 reviews
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.6 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Price Range: €72 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Limerick staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Limerick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You must have a room with a river view !!”
 of 5 bubbles radioman60, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views in Limerick, or at least the highest views :) ...... Higher floors are better for the view but all offer something to look at.”
 of 5 bubbles troyo320, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go all the way to the top!! Quiet, with spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles VickieF_12, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beware rooms are not very sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles sean67c, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For the best views try to get an upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanF1983, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay