Railway Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Railway Hotel

Traveller (37)
twin room
Room & Suite (22)
dining room
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#20 of 20 hotels in Limerick
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Railway Hotel was originally built in 1871 as an old coaching inn, this family run hotel has developed over the years into a thriving 30-bedroom city centre hotel. Situated opposite the rail and bus station and less than five minutes walk from the centre of Limerick makes it the perfect stopping place for both businessman and tourist alike. With its warm hospitality, good food and personal attention from the Collins family and their staff, your requirements will be fulfilled to ensure each stay is as pleasant and as comfortable as the last.All rooms are tastefully furnished and have tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone and multi-channel television. The Railway Bar is the perfect spot to relax in the local atmosphere whether it be for a pint of stout or a cup of coffee. Food served all day long.Private car parking to the rear of the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint

Location

Parnell Street, Limerick Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Shannon Airport
20.3 km
See all flights
91Reviews2Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 24
  • 18
  • 13
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Aug 2002
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at the Railway Hotel on Parnell St. (just across from the Limerick City Rail and Bus Stations) several times, most recently in May, 2002. It's a small, family run hotel and maybe because I am a 'repeat' customer, they treat me like family there. There's a bar and restaurant on the main floor, so that probably qualifies it as a 'GuestHouse.' The most inexpensive pint of Guinness (2.50 Euro) I found on my May visit was at the Railway's bar; and the restaurant serves a hearty midday Buffet meal for a fair price. Breakfast is scheduled at 8:00 AM but I never had a problem getting an early service so I could catch the Bus Eireann to Shannon Airport at 7:45 AM.
Rooms are with bath ensuite, clean and quiet. It may not qualify as a Bord Failte 3-or-4 shamrock establishment but it meets my needs nicely.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilltopper2000 wrote a review Jun 2015
17 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Got in late after a long bus trip. Extremely convenient, right across from the station. Rang the bell at the desk and had smiling service immediately; got us checked in to our rooms pronto! Fresh sheets, comfortable bed, clean room. The next morning we had a lovely cooked to order breakfast in the vintage dining room, and the cook even came out to be sure we were happy. Lots of locals pass through for a meal or a drink, and lots of bus passengers too.
This hotel is an grand old lady showing her age, full of character and characters. Comfortable, clean, great service. If you want an unaltered taste of Ireland, this is it. We'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eurotraveler110 wrote a review Apr 2016
Munich, Germany1,204 contribution187 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to spend a weekend in Shannon and Limerick to explore the beautiful western Irish countryside. I wanted a room close to the city center of Limerick as well as to the churches, monuments and train station.

I selected the Railway Hotel due to its proximity to the central station. I was met at the door by a warm and friendly Irish staff person who attentively took great care of my needs. I stayed in an en suite room in the top floor and was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the bed and the quality of the bedding. It is an older facility, but with the great help, fantastic Irish breakfast and ease of accommodation with everything I needed, this hotel provides honest, Irish value. I was able to park my car at a locked facility just around the corner from the hotel, which was very convenient. I stayed for three days, and would certainly come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheHappyCamperz wrote a review Oct 2013
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The single worst place I have ever stayed. Cannot begin to imagine why anyone would enjoy staying here. If it was possible i would give it a negative rating out of 5 it really was that terrible.

Hard to believe that anyone who gave this hotel a good review are not in some way connected with the hotel as it was simply that bad.

The number one complaint that I have about this hotel was that the rooms advertised in the pictures displayed were no where near comparable to the dump of a room myself and my girlfriend received upon our arrival. The room we received was to be put it simply abysmal. The room was cramped, dirty and has not been refurbished in the last 30 years. The only clean and professional thing associated with this hotel is the misleading pictures posted on hotels site,

In addition to this, the walls were paper thin. We could literally hear everything, EVERYTHING, that was going on in the other rooms. Not just the ones on our own floor but also the ones on the floor above us.

The room was also notable dusty and dirty. There was holes in the wall as well as well a pipe sticking out of the cracked tiles in what was our dingy bathroom. The shower had not been cleaned prior to our visit and as a result the shower floor was covered in hairs from our previous visit.

To mention the staff, they were quite rude and seemed quite un-interested in assisting guests throughout our stay which was most disappointing.

The attached photos show an accurate picture of what the rooms actually look like. not the misleading ones displayed on the hotels own site.

To sum it all up, this really was an appalling stay and I would strongly discourage anyone from considering to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just dont stay here. There are not any good rooms..
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside9793 wrote a review Apr 2003
2 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic value!! Rooms are clean, staff are friendly, food tastes great - they serve food all day which I found very convenient after getting off a bus from shannon airport. The owner arranged a tour for me to the cliff of moher and to killarney.Next time I visit this is where I will stay!!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dream11435 wrote a review Jan 2005
Boston, MA2 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son, friends and I have stayed at the Railway Hotel in Limerick several times. It is clean, convenient and reasonably priced. Who could ask for more.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
towntravellerennis wrote a review Sept 2014
Ennis, Ireland21 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It is dirty ..its smelly and staff are rude...and when I complaint I was told dont be nutty...and I was not wecome back...thank god I wont be going back..and I hope they read this and relise that people share there experiences
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michele C, Owner at Railway Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2014
Dear Brian, It is very unfair of you to put up a review when you did not even stay with us. Your problem was you wanted a refund of €3.69 that was a non refundable deposit and you didn't get it. You booked a 'standard single room' on line for €30.00 and paid a deposit to the service provider, which we do not get. On arrival at the hotel when your booking was explained to you that you had not booked an 'en suite' room, Your manner with the member of staff was appalling and it was all over €3.69. If you look on our website and click on the 'single room' tab. it explains what you have in your room and clearly tells you that the bathroom is 'shared' with a couple of other rooms. We 'normally' offer upgrades to people , if and when we have them but unfortunately your attitude did not warrant one. In fact we have every right to charge you for the balance of your room of €26.31 as you did not fulfil your end of the bargain and give us 24 hours notice. You had a rant and stormed out the door. It's funny how the general perception is that the 'customer is always right' but in this case you are clearly in the wrong and being nasty for something that could have been easily solved without loosing your temper.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel27404 wrote a review Oct 2002
Nerja, Spain1 contribution9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely family run hotel, nestled in the heart of Limerick. Convenient to catch the bus or train and very near the city centre. we found it a great place to relax and talk to the friendly locals!!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jenniferfromWexford wrote a review Jun 2015
Wexford, Ireland27 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a dirty, old, dark, dismal dump. The two bathrooms I used were disgusting. Who still has bars of soap in public toilets? The staff are so rude both to each other, and the customers. The food I had was good and reasonably priced. Did not stay and never would. Go for food nothing else.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrankCortesBcn wrote a review Feb 2015
Alicante, Spain174 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to the hotel after making the reservation online. The hotel is well located right oposite from the Train Station which is the best of all.
The room was super old with dust and breaks everywhere, and spider nets. Noisy and dark, with very old sheets and appliances. Worst was when in the morning the hot water was down so we couldnt get a shower.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever been in...and i´ve been in many crappy places. Avoid!
The surprising thing is that is actually have all the certifications from "Failte", which is unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place for this price you can get better places.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from hooleyqueen
San Rafael, California2 contributions
I always stayed here my last night before leaving Ireland. It was comfortable with immaculate white linens. It is an historic building. I am sad to see it close. I found an affordable hotel nearby for my next trip to Ireland to stay the final night because of proximity to the Shannon airport. Limerick has great Pubs and a Castle right on the river. Also it was the childhood home of the Pulitzer Prize winning and NY Times record breaking author Frank McCourt. His autobiography Angela's Ashes is one of the best books I have ever read, and I have read about 1,000 books since age 14 (I'm 68) McCourt died at age 82; so sad to lose him.
Lyonresh wrote a tip Apr 2017
Port Talbot, United Kingdom68 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The booking service is quite honest and trusting when it comes to advice = go with it !!!"
Read full review
billy t wrote a tip Mar 2016
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"go for the character and stay for the home away from home feeling for four star treatment stay at a four star hotel"
Read full review
richiedix wrote a tip Dec 2015
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom192 contributions95 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"book elsewhere and don't believe this is a good bargain....it ain't"
Read full review
ld1978407 wrote a tip Oct 2015
County Galway, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't Stay Here!!!!!"
Read full review
Bosspat wrote a tip Apr 2015
Dublin, Ireland1,746 contribution121 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only book here in handiness for the train and bus"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Limerick area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
railway hotel limerick
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty LimerickLimerick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAILWAY HOTEL - Reviews (Limerick, Ireland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Railway Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Railway Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mother Macs Public House (0.3 km), The Milk Market (0.4 km), and People's Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Railway Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Railway Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Railway Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Railway Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coqbull, Freddy's Restaurant, and The Glen Tavern.
Is Railway Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Limerick.
Are there any historical sites close to Railway Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Grange Stone Circle (2.9 km), Augustinian Church (0.3 km), and The Granary (0.6 km).
All Limerick HotelsLimerick Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LimerickHotels near Railway Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire