Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel

Kilkenny House Freshford Road Freshford Road, Kilkenny R95 X6W3 Ireland
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#18 of 19 hotels in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
**newly refurbished** Welcome to Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel! We’ve recently undergone a complete renovation of the property and are excited to welcome guests back to the hotel. We are a family run hotel situated a short 20-minutes’ walk or 4-minute drive from Kilkenny’s beautiful city centre and castle. The hotel is also directly across from the Kilkenny City bus route which runs every 30 minutes into the heart of the city. We provide ample free parking to guests. Right opposite St Luke’s General Hospital, this boutique hotel offers newly refurbished chique and traditional rooms. All of the rooms have the usual facilities as well as free wifi and 40’’ smart TV’s so you can binge on your favourite shows. Feel free to draw up a stool and enjoy a drink with the locals in Dore’s bar which offers a friendly service and bar food daily. Looking to explore? Then look no further than St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower (0.8 mi), Black Abbey (1.0 mi), and Rothe House and Garden (1.0 mi), the city centre (1.0mi) and Kilkenny Castle (1.2mi) which are some popular Kilkenny attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. Enjoy your stay in Kilkenny!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German, Polish
31Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
colingm wrote a review Oct 2021
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived on Saturday 2nd of October, the hotel itself is on the outside of kilkenny, the rooms are clean abit basic but a nice shower. Breakfast is okay, a buffet when the hotel is busy, individual options when not. The staff apart from Barbara (who seems to fulfill a numerous of roles), are somewhat Kurt and flexible with the bar and late night snack times against what is stated, and tgey do not like been challenged on this!!,
The biggest bugbare was the lack of WiFi in room 121, the fact it worked in the rest of the hotel was annoying.
When we asked for it to be fixed we were told it would be, however on several occasions after asking again and again we were given silly excuses why it wasn't working including the owner been in hospital opposite the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Good afternoon Colin, Thank you for the review comments on you recent stay here. I must say that the rooms cannot really be called basic, when they have recently been redecorated & refurbished to a modern design, now with 40" flat screen TV accepting Netflix, Youtube etc & new directional spot/reading lights built in to bedside lighting, plus USB sockets. Food in the evening is served in the bar from 1800hrs - 2030hrs only, after that you can buy sandwiches, crisps etc in the bar. (I am aware that on a couple of occasions you asked for pizza when you had returned to the bar after 2230hrs & the chef had already finished work; you were reminded of the food times). Regarding the WiFi connection in 1 of the rooms, 1 am not aware of any silly excuses given to you. The simple fact is, WiFi was working everywhere in the hotel; both myself & the owner of the hotel took different devises to the room to check the connection and there was no problem in connecting at all. There was no problem with internet for the television either, as this was checked too. So I can only guess that the issue was with the devise that you were using or you were not entering the correct password. Best Regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire27 wrote a review Sept 2021
Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Kilkenny hotels are always expensive so this one was suitably priced for me when I stayed. I parked at the hotel and happily walked in and out to town - a good 10-15mins walk. My room had a bath which I was delighted with as I had just completed walking the waterford greenway. The front desk was not manned for most of my time there but I presume that was due to staff shortages that the entire hospitality sector is experiencing. My bedroom was clean, had a good TV and was a good temperature and was quiet . Overall I was satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2021
Good afternoon Claire, Thank you for the lovely review & 4/5 score, we are most grateful. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay & everything met your requirements. When there is not a member of staff at the reception desk, a staff telephone number is left there in order that guests can contact somebody to deal with them. Should you ever be returning to Kilkenny, we would be pleased to welcome you here again. Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corinne_21217 wrote a review Jun 2024
Seevetal, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had room 1 on the ground floor, near the reception area. The first night the music from the reception area/bar was quite loud. Upon speaking to the staff on duty (apologetic) the volume was turned down a bit. I closed the open (!) fire doors and that took care of the rest. Our stay was otherwise comfortable. The KK2 bus stops nearby or you can walk into town.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edward Dore, Owner at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 16 Jun 2024
Good afternoon Corinne, Thank you for the lovely review comments & excellent 4/5 Star score, we are most grateful. I am pleased to read that the staff dealt with the noise issue immediately & to your satisfaction. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay; perhaps we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phill H wrote a review Aug 2021
Chester, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is very basic and was the most expensive we stayed in during our recent tour of Ireland. The price we paid was extortionate for the standard of bedroom - cheap toiletries, no shave socket, poor shower, rubbish coat hangers, no soundproofing.

Breakfast was buffet and everyone who had breakfast used the same serving cutlery despite the Covid risks!!

Menu limited.

Only boutique thing about this basic hotel is the price.

I’m surprised at the former 3 reviews as being so outstanding. Clearly never paid what we did!

The only hotel we stayed in that never asked us if everything was OK when checking out. Also had to pay upon arrival. Speaks volumes.

Avoid unless you get a 50% discount and have breakfast elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Good afternoon Phillip, Regarding the price you paid, as already explained to you, you stayed on a Saturday night, so naturally prices are more at the weekend but we were still less expensive than our nearest 3 star competitors. Also, paying on arrival is the practice in a lot of hotels now, so this is not unusual & neither does it "speak volumes". Again you mention cheap toiletries - to my recollection, nobody has complained about the toiletries before and I can definitely say that nobody has ever been critical to the degree of commenting on coat hangers, saying they are rubbish. Yes, there was noise in the corridors on the night you stayed, this was due to a number of people returning to the hotel after a night out but our night porter dealt with this immediately. The evening food menu is always subject to review/change. Your concerns regarding the use of same serving utensils - guests are asked to use the hand sanitizer provided. As I was not on duty when you checked out so I don't know what was said or not said to you but all reception staff know the appropriate way to deal with guests at check-in/out. You say that you are surprised by the previous reviews of our hotel being outstanding - maybe they are the norm & yours is just the exception.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith H wrote a review May 2022
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have family in Kilkenny and are regular visitors to the city. Our experience at this hotel was not good. Below is a list of deficiencies that we felt were not acceptable:
1. The bed had a broken leg and was supported by an empty paint pot.
2. There was no hot water for the 1st 18 hours due to a boiler valve issue.
3. Cups were not washed in the room on the 1st morning and tea and coffee was not replenished.
4. Wifi was fine in the public rooms but the signal was not strong enough for use in the more distant rooms.
5. Bread was mouldy on the 2nd morning breakfast.
6. Food was cold on the 3rd morning.
7. Breakfast cutlery was grubby at best.

There was clearly an issue of staff shortage/untrained perhaps due to post Covid problems but we paid 468 Euros for 3 nights and expected a significantly higher standard. Boutique should not mean basic or low standard!

We will not be returning to this property and would definitely not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Good afternoon Keith, This is the second time that you have posted this review on the internet. We have addressed all your comments on another page. Its odd that you feel the need to post again especially as none of this was mentioned during your 4 day stay here. Faulty Towers is an utterly ridiculous comparison that is not at all amusing as we endeavour to run a serious business with dedicated staff who work to keep guests happy. For clarity again, if you had mentioned anything at the time of your stay our staff would have immediately tried to rectify any issues. We recommend that when you stay at other hotels in Kilkenny, they would really appreciate if you let them know of any issues you find instead of maintaining silence and posting on the internet. You will enjoy your stay more this way. We are glad you brought up the price of €468.00 you paid with us for the four days as the average rate in Kilkenny was €712.00 - we pride ourselves on competitive pricing. Regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary OC wrote a review Jul 2021
Tralee, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the hotel on 6th July, got a great welcome . Our room was in excellent condition spotless.We dined in the bar the girl who served was very pleasant and most attentive. We would be delighted to stay in this hotel again.
On leaving I noted it was rated as 3 star it should be at least 4 star in the excellent condition it is in .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was beautifully presented we were only there for one night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your review, the comments & excellent scores given, we are most grateful. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay & it would be a pleasure to welcome you here again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DebJBaba wrote a review Feb 2023
Tacoma, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying at 8 or so different properties in Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Scotland over the past 3 weeks, I can say that without a doubt this was our worst lodging experience by far and the most expensive as well.

The first room we were assigned to smelled of cigarette smoke. The room we were reassigned to was tiny by comparison and had shabby, uncomfortable furniture, especially the smaller bed. In addition: the bathroom was small with no place to put our things; theroom decor was past its prime; and the window looked out on a service yard.

When we asked Ted, the owner, in the morning for a price reduction, he said all of the rooms were the same price. Before and since we’ve payed no more than $120/night for rooms, some with king beds and some were even studio apartments. We paid $214.71 USD for this disappointing hotel.

The only thing good I have to say about the Kilkenny House (non)Boutique Hotel is that the breakfast we paid for was tasty & ample and that the service was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edward Dore, Owner at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Good afternoon Devora, Regarding your review comments about your stay I will address your issues in order. In the 1st room allocated to you there was the faintest smell of cigarette smoke from the previous night's guest but we had aired the room & there was a plug in air freshener in the room, you did not mention this. Incidentally we do not allow guests to smoke in the rooms or anywhere inside the hotel itself. The 2nd room shown to you was smaller but there is nothing wrong with the furniture in the room; it is all in good condition & good working order. The bed was only 6'' less in width; I am aware that when you made your reservation that you specified that you needed a bed more than 1.52m wide. You saw both rooms & I let you decide which room you wanted to take. There is a shelf in the bathroom & windowsill if absolutely necessary, where you could have put your cosmetics etc. The room decor being past it's prime - the colour scheme was suggested to us by professional interior design specialist. Ted was quite correct in telling you that all the double/twin rooms were the same price. You are quoting prices (in USD) for other hotel stays that you have booked in Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland & Scotland, clearly, none of which were a Saturday night in Kilkenny, so it is not a fair comparison. For your information, our nearest competitor was charging at least €25.00 more than us for the night that you stayed here. Best Regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire B wrote a review Jun 2022
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed had 3 legs a tin of paint was holding the bed up. When any weight was put on the bed it lifted off the ground.Dangerous !

Advised management. They offered a refund for that night and moved us to another room.
We left for a wedding only to get a message to say our stuff was in plastic bags at reception. They said they had sold the new room for that night and so left us without any accommodation. They would not refund or offer any kind of compensation for the 3 leg bed room which also smelled like smoke, apparently it is" not hotel policy".Manager said they could also sell the room with the 4 legged bed 10 times over. In packing my stuff they let a bottle of nail polish remover spill all over my makeup brushes and luggage.

So in fact no refund or any kind of compensation was given or offered and we were charged for a room which was not fit to be slept in and then left without any accommodation at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Good afternoon Claire, Regarding your review of your experience at our hotel, I apologize again - we had already spoken about this when you were here at the hotel. Just to make it clear to anybody reading this review, when you booked you asked for a room with a double bed. The room you were given had a double bed & single bed; it is the single bed that the review refers to & not the double bed which you were using. In my opinion, there may have been misunderstanding on both parts regarding cancellation of the 2nd night's stay & the refund of €159.00 which was given. Best Regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WearyTraveller777 wrote a review Sept 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My working party took 5 rooms for 2 nights in this place. We all ate and drank there the first night. 2nd night we arrived at 11.27pm back from work and the reception guy "Frenell" or something similar point blank refused to serve us one drink. He was rude and completely unhelpful. Just what you need at the end of a long day in an establishment you have spent a lot of money in. We return to this area regularly with our business and guess where we will not be staying next time? Personally I wouldn't let that man anywhere near any business of mine. Thanks for nothing!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ted Dore, General Manager at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 11 Sept 2022
Good afternoon, Thank you for the review of your stay, we do appreciate all feedback from guests. I am sorry to read that you found Fernando, our night porter to be rude & unhelpful, I would not think that he meant to be; all our staff know that it is important to be polite & friendly towards guests & your complaint has been discussed with him. The hotel bar closes at 2300hrs week nights which you were made aware of, so when you returned to the hotel after that time, there would not have been bar staff on duty & Fernando is only here as night porter. I do sincerely hope that you re-consider making reservations with us again & not let this isolated incident with 1 member of staff deter you. Kind Regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie R wrote a review May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location and rooms were lovely. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the beds were very comfortable.

There are definitely some things that could be better.

Would let guest know its over bath shower in advance of stay, people have mobility issues and with modern bathrooms assume these things might be accessible but climbing into bath for a shower was not ideal.

After a long day driving and touring would be nice to have tv reception in room, it was really bad reception and very few channels to browse.

Breakfast ‘hot’ foot was not hot and got even colder with only having cold plates to put the food on to.

Toasters are so slow, need to put toast on 10 minutes before rest of food.

Iron and table in room would be good.

These things wouldn’t put us off staying but they are all things that take away the shine of a nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If leaving around 8-9 am hospital opposite and a lot of traffic can make it harder to get on your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edward Dore, Owner at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 Jun 2024
Good afternoon, Thank you for the review score & comments, we appreciate all feedback from guests. At present some of our guest rooms have a bath with a shower over it, while others have shower only. Most guests with mobility issues message the hotel in advance to ensure that their room has a walk in shower. The televisions in the rooms have a selection of terrestrial channels & our hotel bar shows a number of sports channels. I am sorry to read that you had problems with the reception. Regarding the issue with breakfast, had you said this to a member of staff at the time, they would have been happy to resolve this for you. There are irons & ironing boards available for guests to use. Kind regards, Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie R wrote a tip May 2024
57 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If leaving around 8-9 am hospital opposite and a lot of traffic can make it harder to get on your way. Food in bar was good but overpriced"
Read full review
Anne-Marie M wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need a good chef and good fresh food "
Read full review
Stacie C wrote a tip Apr 2023
Somerset, Kentucky1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is approximately a mile from city center, but an easy walk."
Read full review
Princess Rachel K wrote a tip Jul 2022
Prenton, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Large family rooms available. Free parking and good wifi. Outdoor beer garden is a gorgeous sun trap."
Read full review
steph wrote a tip Dec 2021
Laytown, Ireland1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking. Lovely comfortable bar and friendly staff"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kilkenny area.
PRICE RANGE
€132 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KilkennyKilkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KILKENNY HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL - Now €127 (Was €̶1̶4̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Medieval Mile Museum (2.0 km), The Hole in the Wall (2.0 km), and St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truffles Restaurant, Indique, and Petronella Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rothe House & Garden (1.7 km), Kilkenny Castle (2.2 km), and Kilkenny Famine Experience (2.0 km).
All Kilkenny HotelsKilkenny Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KilkennyHotels near Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire