We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny R95 NR20 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$91
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$91
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Hotels.comUS$91
PricelineUS$98
TravelocityUS$91
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Kilkenny
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Kilkenny Inn is a budget boutique hotel offering exceptional value and comfort in a great location in the city. Located under the shadows of St. Canice’s Cathedral on the Medieval Mile, Kilkenny Inn is only a few minutes walk from all major attractions, restaurants, shops, bars and night life Kilkenny has to offer. Our recently renovated 30 guest bedrooms at Kilkenny Inn are bright, modern, spacious and have been tastefully decorated and designed to meet all the requirements of our guests, business and leisure alike. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and Free parking for guests too. There is so much to do in Kilkenny and surrounding areas, our reception team would be happy to assist in recommending things to do in this Medieval city in Ireland's Ancient East.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and 1 more
575Reviews6Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 209
  • 82
  • 20
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rebecca Y wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
The Kilkenny is just a short walk from the main drag. Perfect location for me! The staff was very kind and accommodating. I was able to check in a bit early. I went into the bar to have a drink and plan out my stay. The bar was absolutely charming. The breakfast included in my room was excellent—a very nice choice of food. After checking out, I was able to leave my bags in a secure area at the front desk for a few hours before my train. Everyone I came in contact with was very nice and friendly. I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
wmm74 wrote a review Jan 2023
Antrim, N.Ireland10 contributions
Very nice hotel to stay in. Clean, quiet and friendly, great breakfast and a 10 minute walk to the centre of Kilkenny. Niall the barman was good craic and although the bar was quiet due to the time of year it has a nice atmosphere
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay & will be sure to pass along your lovely comments to Niall. We do hope to welcome you again soon. Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitan592320 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Great stay, very quiet at night, great staff, perfect location, great price. I've stayed in a few places in Kilkenny and this was the best one for me. Would definitely stay here next time I travel to Kilkenny.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Cosmopolitan592320- Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you again soon. Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
giantdefy wrote a review Dec 2022
Kildare, Ireland94 contributions41 helpful votes
Myself and my wife have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel, which we have stayed in on a few previous occasions and always found it a very pleasant place to stay. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. I have a couple of issues from our latest stay, we stayed in room 109 and in the early hours of the morning there was a continuous noise like a motor humming and vibrating just outside our window and when it woke me for the umpteenth time I went to make a cup of tea but the electric kettle wouldn't work which was a bit frustrating and we felt it was too early to ask for a replacement. The breakfast was delicious as always so no complaints there. We informed the lady at reception of the problems we faced during the night and to be fair to her she was very apologetic. Still a great place to stay and very handy for the city centre
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2022
HI giantdefy- Thank you for your review. Upon speaking to me on check out I looked into the concerns you had in your room. We found that the kettle did work and the motor noise you heard was coming from one of our neighbors heating/air conditioning systems. I did apologise about this and wished you would have asked to move rooms or asked for a replacement kettle than me reading this review as this is something we could have sorted for you if known about and we wouldn't have got this review. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again and hope that should any problems arise during your next stay you mention them to one of our staff at the time. Thank you, Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
freebs5 wrote a review Dec 2022
Lemont, Illinois20 contributions4 helpful votes
Kilkenny Inn is a great hotel in a great location. Walkable to all major attractions in town and the wonderful pubs and restaurants. Room was comfortable, roomy, and clean, and I would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hi Freebs5 Thank you for your lovely review. We do appreciate all your lovely comments. We do hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat P wrote a review Dec 2022
Dublin, Ireland
We stayed for two nights, we had two adjoining rooms. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. There was a nice choice for breakfast each morning, the food was freshly cooked and served hot. We would be happy to stay in this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
HI Patp531 Thank you for your lovely review. We do appreciate all your lovely comments. We do hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jaypea wrote a review Nov 2022
Hoboken, New Jersey43 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We had a 10-day Ireland trip planned for March 2020 and then the pandemic hit. This was the only hotel that refused to cancel and refund us. They said that they would keep our reservation and we should let them know when we rebooked our trip and they would give us a room any day we needed. Two years later we we’re finally headed to Ireland so we contacted them to book the stay. They said rate gone up and they had to charge us the difference from two years ago. (That’s not what it means when you hold a reservation and refuse to refund money.) They apologized and said that they would give us a upgraded room, free gifts like chocolates on arrival, and luxurious bathrobes for our stay. We had a wonderful time in Ireland and arrived in Kilkenny for our last night. We walked into the hotel gave our name and they said that the name had already been checked in. They gave our room to another group with a similar sounding name. We asked if they were kidding because it took two years for us to get there and now they just gave away our room? The man at the front desk offered to cancel the reservation and refund our money… two years after we made the reservation, they refused to cancel it because of Covid, and now that we were standing in the lobby! We were a group of three and had reserved three separate beds. They said that the only room they had available was a double and a single. We were furious but needed a place to stay so we went up to the room. The room was very small for three people, it was old and dirty with scratches on every wall and peeling wallpaper. The room only had towels for two so we called down for another set of towels and tried to laugh off the fact that this other group of people with a similar last name we’re eating our chocolates and wearing our bathrobes. An hour later we opened the door and saw that they had dumped a set of towels on the floor and left. We had to check out early the next morning to get to the airport but the person at the front desk said that they would waive the additional cost from the increase in price. This experience ruined our last night in Ireland and left us with a sour feeling the whole flight home. Avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Worst service in all of Ireland.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hi Thisisjaypea- Thank you for your review, it is through reviews like this were we can improve on our training and guest experience. Firstly I do apologise that we were not able to refund your booking during the pandemic but all guests who booked non refundable bookings were given a credit voucher or we moved to a date that they could arrive due to the booking terms & Conditions you agreed too. This means we held the amount you paid towards a new reservation, our prices do increase/decrease depending on availability/season so I do apologise if you were not made aware of this when booking. Secondly, I do apologise about the mix up with your room when you had arrived, the receptionist on duty who made the mistake felt awful and couldn't be more apologetic that he made this mistake as it this has never happened before. The mistake was there was 2 names with identical first and last names and as it was a mistake on our part is why you were offered the refund. He has also been given more training so that this does not happen again. Thirdly I do apologise that the room was not to your standard and will look into all the issue's you have outlined above and replace/repair. Again I do apologise about your experience and if you did not want to stay we would have help you find alternative accommodation if the issue's above were such a big deal. If you would like to discuss any of this in further detail, please contact me on the below: Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management manager@kilkennyinn.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seamus b wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Close to the town centre. Rooms were clean and modern with a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was decent.minimal fuss at checking and checkout You can get a drink in the nice bar. Would reccomend, good value option.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hi Climber16904581148 Thank you for your lovely review. We do appreciate all your lovely comments. We do hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew L wrote a review Nov 2022
Keenagh, Ireland1 contribution
Staff very Polite and very helpful. Rooms were great a clean. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Easy to find with Google Maps. Only downside is parking at the Hotel. People may be using the Hotel as an easy place to park as it is close to Kilkenny center.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hi AndrewL728- Thank you for your lovely review. We do appreciate all your lovely comments. We do hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fennellgeri wrote a review Nov 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom2 contributions
Its a hidden gem in Kilkenny. Staff were lovely especially Lee on reception he was really helpful.We had adjoining rooms,they were so comfortable, with everything you needs Gorgeous deco,fabulous toiletries,plenty of tbags/coffee water etc. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel.Breakfast plentiful choice. Parking very secure. The rooms are smallish but with adjoining rooms the felt very big. We would not hesitate to return.So near the centre of Kilkenny too. 10 out of 10. Thanks for making our stay so lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from jessica murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2022
HI Fennellgeri Thank you for your lovely review. We do appreciate all your lovely comments and Lee will be delighted with your lovely comments. We do hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Kind Regards Jessica Murphy Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kilkenny hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KilkennyKilkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KILKENNY INN HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower (0.1 km), Rothe House and Garden (0.3 km), and Black Abbey (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Rivista, Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, and Cakeface patisserie.
Is Kilkenny Inn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Kilkenny.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Czech, Hungarian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Kilkenny Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilkenny Castle (0.9 km), Rothe House and Garden (0.3 km), and Kilkenny Famine Experience (0.8 km).
Does Kilkenny Inn Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Kilkenny Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.