We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely room and a great breakfast with all we needed. We had a couple of choices. Irish breakfast and pancakes and more was on the menu. Plus there were cerials coffe tea yoghurts and bred and toast. The staff was super friendly. It was worth the money we paid. Thanks for the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnnyeightpence
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Starting with the good part, staff were very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately after that it all goes downhill. The rooms are tiny and shabbily furnished, beds are small and very uncomfortable. The bathroom is just large enough to move in with old and worn out fittings. Furnishings in the room are what you would find in a charity shop, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank INBtripz
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I don't suppose your review would have anything to do with the fact that you cancelled at the last minute and were charged for your room anyway, as you didn't give us a chance to sell it on? Unfortunately when there are staff and bills to pay it is not possible to refund a payment for a guests...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night. The street noise was loud, as were the people walking by at night. The walls were thin and could hear our neighbors till 3 AM. The food was good. The parking is fairly limited, better get there early! It was an easy walk to town and all of the shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meaganwc
Dungarvan, Ireland
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We visited this guesthouse on 10th July and we thought it was great. We arrived and parking was a slight issue but we managed OK. The location is perfect free parking if you can manage to get it is an added bonus. We had a room on the top floor and it was spotless clean. Breakfast in the morning wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gemma C
Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We loved our visit to Kilkenny - O'Malleys was conveniently located to the Main Street and the castle. Rooms/facilities were clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - wish we had booked a second night here. No vacancy - book ahead of time for this accommodation. You won't regret it !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank birdiek1
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We recently visited this B&B for a concert and was very pleasantly surprised. It was very central and the staff were very friendly. I had a couple of small issues - one being that there was not a lot of parking, secondly - we had a room on the ground floor which was quite noisy with passing people. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank direne321
West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Positives: 1. breakfast was very good and service was excellent Negatives: 1. we called owner to get exact directions as we have had issues in the past. Owner gave us directions that were completely incorrect. We stopped and asked three different people how to find it and none understood her advice. Wasted 30 minutes driving around looking for place 2....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank W Mark H
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at O'Malley's much earlier than planned due to a flight change, but the hosts were welcoming and helpful despite our unexpectedly early arrival. The room was comfortable and offered a quiet respite from the bustle of the city. There was a wonderful tea tray, complimentary toiletries, and free parking. We appreciated the close proximity to local points of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sactraveler2014
ireland
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Have to say the staff are the friendliest ive ever met,noting is to much trouble for them. For Breakfast you can choose From full irish (WOW) to omlettes (amazing) bagels,pancakes, poached boiled and fried eggs,cheese plates and the buffet has so much to choose from. Rooms are spotless clean and its only a 2 min walk to the town centre....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tunisialover26
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Disappointed by standard of room given for the money paid. The staff were extremely nice and kind but obviously the owner does not take kindly to complaints and was offhand and rude. Easy money made due to whole city being booked up. Hope she was happy and enjoyed the money she made for such an excuse for a room

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank maureenland

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,647 reviews
0.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
669 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
694 reviews
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ormonde Rd | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland (Formerly O'Malley's Ormonde Court Guesthouse)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: €66 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think you can see from the pictures that we were pretty happy campers! PS The on-site parking was really helpful and secure.”
 of 5 bubbles clwwood, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“nothing to say”
 of 5 bubbles L2715OIalessandror, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing street.”
 of 5 bubbles ncc1701a, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieG962, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask for room 5, its small and unkept”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5