We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
US$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (342)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (70)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 19/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Updated 19/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 21 hotels in Kilkenny
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1063Reviews10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 671
  • 224
  • 102
  • 38
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Aileen K wrote a review 4 Aug
County Kilkenny, Ireland6 contributions1 helpful vote
We celebrated our Golden Anniversary recently with 45 family and friends in LangtonS Hotel Kilkenny. From the first meeting with Eddie Langton we knew we would have a wonderful night, and we had..... Everything was fab. The room set up, the professional staff, headed up by Collette, we could not fault a thing. Then to the dinner...every one of our guests spoke about how delicious it was and how much they enjoyed it. Well done Langtons, and a BIG thank you for making our Anniversary so special.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian H wrote a review Jul 2022
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here recently and loved it. Quirky decor, lovely friendly staff that were very helpful from the reception to the food and beverage staff, great food and drink. Lovely big clean rooms, and plenty of off road parking. We will be back next time we are in Kilkenny !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kilkenny girls wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We had dinner in Langton's ,nice buzz for a Tuesday evening.Extensive menu plenty of options.Generous portion sizes & prompt service. We were well looked after by Andrei & Michaela,will return & would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about your experience, and especially to Andrei & Michaela, we will be sure to pass along your kind words. Kind Regards Management
Read more
sahira21 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cava De' Tirreni, Italy40 contributions25 helpful votes
Before starting I'd like to preface that I was working for years in 4 and 5 stars hotels so i know exactky how it works.. SO...Where do I start? - Luggage left at the reception (because the room was not ready at 3 pm)with no proper storage room as it should be. So basically someone could have walked and take one bag and walk away with it. - went into the room which was on the first floor ( steps to do with a heavy pram carried by ourselves). No pram friendly at all. When you see a reservation coming in with a baby, automatically you should assign the room that can FACILITATE the most the all situation. But instead the ground floor was given for a wedding. Evidently they were paying more than us so they didn't care. - sink not working properly.Water was going down slowly after a good while. Called the front desk. They sent up a poor lady that just observed the situation. No plumber sent. - air conditioning not existent. The manager explain to me that Irish hotels do not have it. Which is not exactly true.The solution proposed were 2 fans. My baby was grasping for air in that room. It was a microwave. - noise in the background for the wedding going on. In the policy they do mention they have a night club until 2 am. But I was complaining for the wedding not the night club. We literally had to walk in the middle of a wedding speech and celebration to reach our room. It was embarrassing for us and very bad for the wedding itself. You should have 2 different ways for 2 different type of guests so they do not cross paths. - I asked to be re-protected in another hotel, like a "walked guest". Even worse. They called 2 hotels. One had the fee too high and one has just twin beds with no cot.The manager "forgot " to mention the baby. She wanted to get rid of us so badly that she forgot to mention the baby on purpose.When you reprotect a reservation you have to go for same level or higher (upgrade)BUT keeping the same price for the guest. That's the rule, at least in Italy. - at 4 am the smoke alarm went off TWICE waking up the baby and the all floor. Called the reception. Apparently a guy was setting the alarm off knocking on every door pretending a fire was going on. - Front office Manager very young and not experienced at all. She handled the situation very poorly. Not up to the standard of a 4 stars at all! And when I pointed that out the manager (if she really was one)was offended. Seriously???? PLEASE. They should really receive an auditing. We left at 6 am without the breakfast because we had enough! Avoid at all cost especially if you are a family!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valentina, I am troubled to read your review and am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to contact us directly and discuss further please do not hesitate to call us on 0567765133. As a family run hotel we love welcoming families to Langtons and in recognition of the nature of weekends we do go to extra lengths to ensure our guests are aware of noise levels, on both our booking engines and guests who book over the phone. If you had contacted us with a special request for a ground floor room prior to your arrival we would absolutely have done everything to have facilitated you but as you must understand with your experience logistics at full capacity to change rooms is not always possible with limited room types. Can I please take the opportunity to note that the manager in question was very upset after your interaction and took everything you said very seriously. This lady is an outstanding valued member of our team and does not deserve such comments as you have made above. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday. Langtons
Read more
ksman1951 wrote a review Jun 2022
Maize, Kansas91 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed in a garden suite. It was quiet, clean and lots of room. The mattresses and pillows seemed quite old but we seemed to get a decent night’s sleep. The mattresses were quite firm and the pillows were very flat and firm. The staff seemed courteous and were masked. We had a good breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent experience with us. If you wish to contact us directly, to discuss these issues further, our direct email address is reservations@langtons.ie. Kind Regards Management
Read more
Leah wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Couldn’t have asked for better service, food or atmosphere than what we received in Langtons over the weekend for my sisters hen party. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was delicious and extremely reasonable. I would definitely recommend Langtons to any family or friends travelling to Kilkenny in the future. Also dealing with Nicola made organising everything so easy as she was so friendly, helpful and professional. I can’t wait to visit again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, and we are delighted to read that you and your group enjoyed your recent experience with us, and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our team and also to Nicola. Hopefully we get the opportunity welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Management
Read more
Colette K wrote a review May 2022
Kildare, Ireland3 contributions
Few days break here couldn’t fault it. Lovely room great food and drinks. Staff couldn’t be more pleasant and welcoming. The bar and restaurant both had a great atmosphere and evening entertainment was super too
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully we do get the opportunity to welcome you back to us soon. Kind Regards Management
Read more
Paul V wrote a review May 2022
North Sydney, Australia199 contributions75 helpful votes
I have come to Langtons as a visitor to Kilkenny for almost 39 years. My father-in-law used to have a regular chair here! The decor has changed at least once and it has grown. But it remains a good place to come to. Not as cosy as some of the smaller pubs in Kilkenny (try The Front Room for one of those) but still a great pub.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thank you for your kind comments, and hopefully we will see you again very soon. Kind Regards Management
Read more
sprinkledwithsugar wrote a review May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
I’ve worked in hospitality roles previously so I know it’s not an easy gig and I really don’t like to leave poor reviews, but I feel compelled to leave a review following our experience at the weekend. We were attending as a group for my sisters hen brunch, we had been poring over the menu and were all really looking forward to a nice meal and a few drinks to start the day off, however I can only describe the experience as poor. Service was friendly but pretty sketchy; simple requests with orders were ignored/forgotten, noticed by staff but brought out anyway; we had issues with a round of drinks which when we raised with the waiting staff (after agonising about doing so in the first place); after lengthy discussion and excuses as to why the drinks tasted so weak we got a fairly lukewarm offer to make new ones, however when the replacements arrived over 30mins later they were possibly the worst espresso martinis I have ever had in my life, sour with mystery white specks floating in them like turned milk. After tasting these we were offered replacements again but declined as by this point we just wanted to leave. Trying to find a member of staff to let us pay the bill at the end also took over 30mins and this was only due to one of the waitresses with her coat on being kind enough to delay leaving long enough to fetch us the card machine. From start to finish we were there 2hr45mins and I only managed to successfully consume my meal and one drink, although not from lack of trying. All in all it was really disappointing and put a sour note on what was meant to be a happy occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent dining experience with us. If you wish to contact us directly, to discuss these issues further, our direct email address is reservations@langtons.ie. Kind Regards Management
Read more
Sarah B wrote a review Apr 2022
Cork2 contributions
We visited Langtons early April for a hen party. We were quite a large group of 30 and Nicola went out of her way to assist us. We had pre paid for the nightclub and due to the size of our group we were anxious to get seating together. On a very busy night, Nicola went out of her way to locate us in the front bar and give us our stamps early so that when the nightclub opened we could just enter with ease. Outstanding customer service and it really made our night stress free. We also got cocktail trees too which were fab!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Langton House, Owner at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, and we are delighted to read that you and your group enjoyed your recent experience with us, and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Nicola. Hopefully we get the opportunity welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
langton hotel kilkenny, langtons hotel kilkenny, langtons kilkenny
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Langton House Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KilkennyKilkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Which popular attractions are close to Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Nearby attractions include Medieval Mile Museum (0.3 km), The Hole in the Wall (0.4 km), and Kilkenny Castle (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Conveniently located restaurants include Petronella Restaurant & Cafe, Truffles Restaurant and Wine Bar, and Indique.
Is Langtons Hotel Kilkenny located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Kilkenny.
Are any cleaning services offered at Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Langtons Hotel Kilkenny offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Langtons Hotel Kilkenny?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilkenny Castle (0.3 km), Rothe House and Garden (0.5 km), and Kilkenny Famine Experience (0.3 km).
Is Langtons Hotel Kilkenny accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.