We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Now under new management. The Metropole in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers Inn with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to family rooms. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in Medieval Tavern (Eatery & Bar).
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
160Reviews
43Photos
0Q+A
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 25
  • 18
  • 19
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was the worst "hotel" experience I have ever experienced. It was basically a hostel labelled as a hotel, but to be honest, I haven't stayed in a worse hostel either. After a certain point in the evening, all the staff just disappear, and it just descends into chaos. Guests
Read more
We only stayed one night, but if you are in the town a short while this is highly recommended. We did not get to experience the bar or restaurant downstairs as both were closed. Lovely town though - and from the hotel we could walk everywhere. Kilkenny Castle and Smithiwicks
Read more
We booked the Metropole pretty last minute. It was the only place that wasn't asking for an arm and a leg for a Friday night in December. I was a bit nervous because the reviews were a bit mixed, to say the least. We arrived in Kilkenny around 3 pm and parked in the Market Cross
Read more
Response from Tomasz O, Front Office Manager at The Metropole
Responded 15 Dec 2018
Hi Mairead C, thank you very much for your time and your review :D Great to know that you have liked our place. We would be delighted to welcome you In The Metropole again in the future. With best regards, Tomasz Olesinski Manager
Read more
First our booking wasn't taken correctly and then when we arrived we were told use our own phones to amend reservation and contacted eventually what can only be discribed as the most unhospitable person I've ever heard ... Infact it was a blessing as we found a place near by
Read more
I can't believe how good this wee hotel is. I booked last minute for a friend's weekend away. Was accommodated in the main metropole hotel building. Initially I was dismayed by having to carry luggage upstairs but this dissipated the moment I saw the bedroom. Beautiful! I
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
So clean and it had a large window ledge, very bright and warm!
Large enough bedroom to throw a party, but we didn't ;)
We had the lovely grey, steal blue and white bedroom. So relaxing!
案内されて実際に泊まった部屋はツイン。
Ceiling
PreviousNext
123
"No room stay anywhere else!"
"Stay elsewhere!"
"Room 16 was very spacious (double bed + single)."
"Go somewhere else"
"ask to see room before you pay, you will be asked to pay on arrival so check 1 st"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterKilkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing