We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,548: English reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend. Centre of town. Near all pubs and restaurants. Lovely hotel. Every one so friendly and helpful. Rooms were spotless and big. Didnt take advantage of the offer of 4 course dinner for two with a bottle of wine for €60. Bargain price for that. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Anything you wanted or needed was there. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary f
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear garyf, Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kilkenny and I hope to welcome you back to the Ormonde Hotel again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Room was warm and inviting. Very comfortable bed. We had dinner, breakfast and lunch and the food was excellent.. Have to mention the staff who were so friendly and helpful. Visit to the KIlkenny Ormond was a very positive experience and would highly recommend visit to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Breda B
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Breda B, Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation of our Hotel. I'm really glad that you had a positive experience here and I will pass on your comments to my team. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 5 February 2015

My husband and I stayed in the Kilkenny Ormonde hotel recently and couldn't fault the hotel, staff, food or anything. The staff, from receptionists, room cleaners, to the bar staff were very friendly And the hotel itself was very clean and beautiful to come in to.The weekend we stayed was a very cold weekend but it was lovely to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne W, I'm delighted to read that you and your husband had a very enjoyable weekend with us in Kilkenny. Thank you for the recommendation and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you both back to the Ormonde Hotel again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Reviewed 5 February 2015

We arrived early which was no problem. I worried about the noise level as there was a wedding on but it was not an issue at all. The rest of the hotel functioned really well despite the big wedding. The room was lovely and warm and the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was really well serviced and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoife G
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aoife G, Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and our location in the heart of Kilkenny City. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a huge room! The hotel is very central and ideal for the many bars and restaurants. It is very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. There is a pool and gym adjacent to the hotel that guests can use. It's much nicer to exercise outside though with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen M, Thank you for your kind review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to Kilkenny. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Dublin
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Stayed here for the first time over the weekend with family. Reception staff were nice when we were checking in. We decided to eat in the restaurant on Friday evening, I found the waiter to be very attentive, however the meal was not nice. I had some kind of tartlett for starter and Sirloin Steak for main - Additional supplement...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MulvDublin
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MulvDublin, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. A really good standard of food is of utmost importance to us and I cannot offer any excuses to you if we failed at what I believe we do best. The least you should expect from a Hotel such as ours is a good quality meal,...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Lovely hotel easy booking and check in. Very friendly staff and great location for walking around city. Parking over the road with discount for hotel guests just see the front desk staff before you leave the parking lot to receive discount. Nice lounge area for coffee and weekend breakfast buffet is really good value if travelling with family . Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colleen H, I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kilkenny and thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

ireland
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Attended a wedding last week at the Ormonde hotel, it was my second time visiting and would have no hesitation in recommending and staying there again. The staff ,food and room were all really nice, the room was clean and very spacious and we had a view of the (top of) castle from our window. The location of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artic
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear artic, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 26 January 2015

myself and my hubby stayed here for the weekend, we were given a free upgrade to a suite, the room was beautiful very clean, and comfortable the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, we were a bit disappointed with the choice of food for dinner ( included with our room) and the breakfast choice was also disappointing,, just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karen b, Thank your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Whilst I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in general, I do note your comment about breakfast, in particular. I apologise for the inconvenience caused, however, I assure you that all the items you have mentioned are available on request and outlined in the breakfast menu...

Reviewed 26 January 2015

I attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed one night, it was gorgeous! The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were nice, perfect location right down the street from the Kilkenny Castle and lots of little shops and cafes! This was by far the best place I've stayed in Ireland and I will definitely stay there when I go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ametstexas
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ametstexas, Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation of our Hotel and I will certainly pass on your comments to my team here, especially Catherine. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

514 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (365)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (39)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (48)
Viewed
Super Double Single Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,647 reviews
0.4 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,777 reviews
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
694 reviews
3.2 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Savour Restaurant
Savour Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: €81 - €405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
19 days ago
Fort Wayne, Indiana
over a year ago
2 months ago
Ferns, Ireland
2 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to get a room facing the street since they are little more noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciaaQ8116DL, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for breakfast early as they really can't cope with a full hotel”
 of 5 bubbles liamm869, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not the Bridal Suite, normal rooms are bigger and in better condition”
 of 5 bubbles carey_harte, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 102. Huge room. So quiet got great sleep in very comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles helenconway74, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back room would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles progers747jumbo, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5