We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Save
Share
Ormonde Street, Kilkenny R95 Y5CX Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official Site
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (254)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (274)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 20 hotels in Kilkenny
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
2237Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,100
  • 645
  • 313
  • 116
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anne-marie wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We availed of the ormondes summer sale and we were not disappointed. Food was excellent, great value, staff friendly and situated so central to visit Kilkenny. Room was fabulous with massive bed in one section and 2 singles in a little room off it. Packaging for tea tray and toiletries was a brillant idea. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Visit the castle and its magnificent grounds
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katie O wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here for two nights . The positives were Staff at reception were lovely very welcoming upon arrival. Room was nice , but bathroom definetely needs updating , and bath/shower itself wasn’t clean unfortunately. No air con. We had booked to dine here both nights- but we were very disappointed with dinner on the first night . Very little choice and food was obviously reheated (came out straight away) and didn’t taste great. Bar staff were lovely and helpful but we also had to send a drink back as there was an awful taste off the drink which was evidently a glass not washed or rinsed correctly. We chose not to dine in the hotel the second night. Breakfast was fairly average and I do feel they are very under staffed at the moment which is understandable in these times but we had booked for breakfast but were left waiting for a good while. Upon check in I paid the full balance . My partner looked after checking out where there was a balance for a room service the night before of 23euro. He was charged the full balance again for the two nights stay but thankfully realized before we left Kilkenny so we went back and had it refunded onto my partners card. I wouldn’t go here again .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Ahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Dennacon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I'm obviously disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your meal and may I take this opportunity to apologise sincerely to you and your partner. I'm not sure when you stayed but we currently have 7 starters and 10 main courses on our evening menu, plenty of choice I would have thought. You don't make any reference to what you ordered but nothing is "reheated" on our menu. Some items are served cold and others are very quick to prepare, such as the curry for example. Our current menu is designed to be cooked and served in an expediate manner, as seating times are limited under the current regulations. I am also very sorry for any error with your billing and can assure you it was an honest mistake on our part. I do hope that you will see fit to visit Kilkenny and the Ormonde Hotel again, and please contact me personally, so that I may may have the opportunity to show you every courtesy. Yours in Service, Colin Ahern General Manager
Read more
Niamh wrote a review Jul 2021
15 contributions6 helpful votes
Travelled as a family to celebrate my father's belated 70th birthday. The hotel itself was lovely and most staff were very pleasant and helpful. However, on our second night after we had been sat in the restaurant for over an hour, a waiter approached us and accused of not paying our bill from the previous night. His accusatory tone really upset us and had he approached this in a different manner, we wouldn't have been half as upset. Unfortunately, I didn't get his name. We sat at 2 tables of 4 in the restaurant and asked if we could move the 2 tables together to which we were told we could and that we could also move to another table and all sit together. The covid officer approached us a while later and told us we couldn't all sit together and asked us to leave the restaurant as he had no other solution for us. I completely understand the current restrictions in place but why tell us we could all sit together and then tell us an hour later to leave? Even though our second night put a bit of a dampener on our overall stay, we met some lovely staff including Eoin and Tom in the bar who couldn't do enough for us when we were banished from the restaurant. Also, the housekeeping staff were very smiley and friendly on both mornings. Maybe some of the other staff could benefit from the same training that they had in dealing with customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Ahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Niamh G, I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in general and thank you for your kind words about all of our Team, especially Eoin and Tom. I'll make sure to let them know. I am very sorry if you were spoken to in an unprofessional manner and I'll certainly take it up with our Management Team in HOBAN over the coming days. Unfortunately, the current regulations only allow for a maximum of 6 adults per table, I'm sure you're aware of this, as there's been a lot of commentary about it in the news for the last few months. It's never easy to be the enforcer of such regulations but I trust that this was explained to you and you were offered another area of the Hotel to continue your Father's birthday celebrations. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again, perhaps in more "normal" times and please let me know if you are, so that I can show you every courtesy. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager
Read more
A Moriarty wrote a review Jul 2021
Dingle, Ireland22 contributions9 helpful votes
Arrived on a busy Friday evening, our room was not ready until 5 pm, we were offered complimentary drinks. Used laundry was left outside bedroom doors until the following afternoon. Meal on first night was good. However meal on 2nd night was inedible, grossly overpriced and we just had to leave it. Staff were helpful and apologetic. On being seated at a “freshly prepared “ table for breakfast on Sunday morning I went to pick up my knife and napkin…they were covered in butter and beans, clearly left by the previous diner…Covid precaution non existent. Very disappointed with our stay, got a partial refund.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Ahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear aineandtadghm, Thanks for the feedback. Obviously, I'm disappointed to learn of your experience at breakfast, in particular. Quite a lot has changed for the time being and we're working really hard right now to make it as safe and hygienic as possible for everyone. Our standard is that the breakfast linen is changed after every guest. It is possible that it was transferred by the server or their tray, when they were setting the table and I'll certainly bring it up with my team over the coming days. I also note your comments about your second meal with us and I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy it as much as the first. Our general pricing doesn't change from day to day, our prices would have been the same for your first meal with us and are in line with most local restaurants in Kilkenny. I hope you do come back and give us another chance, perhaps in more "normal" times and please let me know if you are so that I can show you every courtesy. Many Thanks, Colin Ahern General Manager
Read more
mairead a wrote a review Jul 2021
cork8 contributions19 helpful votes
Stayed in the Ormonde Hotel for two nights. The location of the Hotel was excellent. Stayed during the heat wave and there is no Air conditioning in the rooms, however we were given a fan upon request. Room very clean and well serviced. Breakfast: The food was very good, however people were walking around without wearing face covering, I mentioned it to one of the floor staff in the Breakfast Area and she said she that already mentioned it to couple in question, however twas the same story this morning. Table clothes on the tables were not being changed all of the time after the table was vacitated, in these current times you'd expect they should. Had dinner outside last night, and server was under pressure to clean tables, take and bring drink & food orders.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin Ahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mairead a, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Whilst I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in general, I do note your comment about dinner service on our terrace and I apologise for our shortcomings in this regard. The current guidelines do make everything happen a little slower but I can assure you that we are all working very hard right now to ensure that our service levels are maintained at all times. With regard to breakfast, our staff are fully trained to deal with any issues arising from the COVID regulations and there will always be 1 or 2 people in 250 that might forget or are exempt from wearing face coverings for medical reasons. There are 2 table cloths covering every table and I can assure you that the top table cloth, which covers the entire table top, is changed on every occasion, in line with the current guidelines. Thank you once again and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Kilkenny and the Ormonde again soon. Kind Regards, Colin Ahern General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kilkenny ormonde hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty KilkennyKilkenny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Medieval Mile Museum (0.2 km), The Hole in the Wall (0.2 km), and Kilkenny Castle (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truffles Restaurant and Wine Bar, Petronella Restaurant & Cafe, and Butcher Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Kilkenny.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilkenny Castle (0.3 km), Rothe House and Garden (0.5 km), and Kilkenny Famine Experience (0.9 km).
Is Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.