The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.

View from bedroom window
Traveller (35)
Spicy Louisiana Chicken Wings
Dining (28)
Beds
Room & Suite (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 14 hotels in Tralee
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Being Tralees quaintest, unique Hotel, with 27 rooms, we have the time and energy to try and make your trip a memorable one for the right reasons.Being an Old Georgian Building, we do not have a lift, but will assist you with your luggage or any other items to your room. Located in Tralee town centre, the Imperial Hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Double, twin and family rooms are available and are equipped with TV, direct dial telephone and complementary tea/coffee. All rooms have en-suite facilites. We have a great reputation for food being a busy business lunch venue right in the heart of Tralee Financial District. We like to try and warmly welcome our guests . A friendly face after a days travel can be worth a lot . We really look forward to welcoming you should you decide to stay with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid public parking nearby
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Water park offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

27 Denny Street, Tralee V92 PK76 Ireland
356Reviews2Q+A56Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 93
  • 33
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TIZADAVID wrote a review Jan 2020
Seville, Spain585 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family had a extremely pleasant New Years Eve stay over at The Imperial Hotel. A very warm welcome from the reception and staff.
The Dinner menu was extremely good value with all commenting how generous the portions were. 2 of our guests actually stating that the sirloin steaks were ‘the best they have ever had’ personally the fajitas were also great.
We would without doubt recommend a stay at this hotel where we paid €250 for 2 double and 1 single room (room only).
There is a carpark with space for 8/10 cars at the rear of the property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derek C, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear David, Thank you so much for completing your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed Connie Foxes Bar and Steakhouse also. Until we meet again........... Always with a Smile, Derek.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TipperaryMM wrote a review Aug 2020
County Tipperary, Ireland13 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights last week,myself & my wife in a double room & my teen daughters in a twin
From the moment we stepped inside the door the staff were so so pleasant & helpful,it’s honestly the best customer service I’ve ever experienced,there was such a pleasant atmosphere all over the hotel due to the friendly staff.
The location is excellent if you like town centre, sure there’s a bit of street noise but that’s town centre for you.
The car park is a little tight alright but there’s a loading bay right at door to drop off bags/family etc and several car parks very nearby if you want to drop your passengers and then park up.
Rooms were very clean and the shower was excellent with some toiletries provided.
It’s an old building (but well maintained) so we didn’t expect a lift but I wouldn’t let it put me off,we stayed on the top floor and the stairs weren’t so bad and I’m sure the staff would help with luggage as they offered to help us.
Breakfast was top class and although not buffet due to Covid restrictions the lady serving us made sure our teas/coffees/juices were topped up at all times.
My daughters had fresh pancakes which looked nice and my full Irish was one of the best ever.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was a very relaxing meal with huge portions and again great service.
It was well worth the price we paid and do intend to stay here again in the autumn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary H wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a few hotels in tralee over the years and imperial has to be the best by far for quality and value, the room was comfortable and very clean, we an evening meal and the food was delicious, and the breakfast could not be faulted with so much choice. All the staff members were so helpful and friendly. I must say a huge thanks to Katie at the front desk who went above and beyond to make our stay at the hotel a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imperial Hotel, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Dear Gary, I am delighted that you had a warm and welcoming visit to us. Katie is thrilled to get a great review. Thank you very much. I hope it will not be long before you call on us again. Derek Carroll
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Muinteoir wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland27 contributions45 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this old hotel which was very central in Tralee from Wednesday 25th August 21 to Friday 27th August 21. Receptionist was very formal on check in but she did summon a young man to take up our bags as we travelled light to our room which we appreciated I was travelling with my husband who is a Parkinson's suffer not able to climb 3 flights of stairs My daughter was also in the group. Please note this hotel has no lift be aware as I was not. The room was old 1 double and 1 single bed drab curtins mostly faded You could not close the bedroom window as it was old with rust i did try to close it one night as the hotel workers seemed to be down there working I could hear glasses and trollies Room 221 looks out on to an ally way so groups gathered there and of course noise was made. We were lucky the weather was so good as if it rained our bed would be wet as the double bed was right under the window you could only get into the bed from one side no room at window side Thought this a Fire risk We also had no shower gel it was empty when we arrived on Wednesday and never refilled The soap dispenser was leaking when you pressed for soap it all came out but i went and bought soap and shower gel i was conscious of Covid and breach of rules Shower was ok you had climb in over bath it was not stand alone which most modern hotels have I suggest the manager and staff sit and read this report as it urgent i feared a fire would break out and we would not stand a chance. i noted it was a young lad that was serving the room I did not think he was properly trained on the job and it showed i would have thought that a trained employee would note soap missing window always open The gentlemen in the bar was very efficient well trained and most helpful thank you. the staff at breakfast were very helpful breakfast was basic cereal orange juice fry tea toast/brown bread which was nice. Breakfast finishes a little too early 9.30 Lady in restaurant was so kind she actually brought me up a kettle and tea bags,coffee I reallly appreciated her kindness beyond the call of duty. I dont know her name but will find out and send her a card.I was surprised there was no tea making facilities in the room. the non slip bath map has seen better days I usually stay in good hotels like Brehon .Muckross Killarney but I certainly wont be visiting Imperil again I will go back to Tralee as i loved Croi restaurant and the food is gorgeous do give it a visit. We paid £288 for 3 of us Bed n breakfast in all We love to holiday abroad we have been twice this year to Majorca and think we will stick to that but so much for staycation its not worked out for me I hope my review will help others not to waste their money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: See the room before you pay we were asked to pay up as soon as we arrived insist on viewing the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imperial Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 28 Aug 2021
Dear Muinteoir, I am very sorry that we did not meet with the expectations that you have from staying in what is regarded as the best 4 Star hotel in Ireland. It genuinely upsets all of us here when we do not have a Happy Guest walk out the door. The issues you mentioned could all have been remedied straight away by a short mention to one of our team, as you did about the kettle( covid restrictions have insisted that no hotel provides this facility at this time). I apologise fully for our shortcomings. I am delighted that you felt our team were friendly and helpful and that our food offering was very good. To any reader who has not stayed with us before, we are a small 27 room Georgian style Hotel on Denny Street in Tralee town centre. We are not a modern hotel and as a result have some issues that cannot be helped such as no lift. What we do have, however, is a particular team of people who work with us and create a fabulous atmosphere for guests to come and stay. All team members put 100% into their freindliness and kindess and also into their dealings with our guests. Our food is highly regarded and I will stand over it in any comparison for freshness, flavour and value. I look forward to welcoming you very soon. If you would like reasurrance on your stay with us, please feel free to contact me via generalmanager@imperialhoteltralee.ie Thank you, Derek Carroll
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill T wrote a review Sept 2021
Harlow, United Kingdom461 contributions220 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one night here in Room 323. It overlooks what appears to be staff quarters and was noisy with people chatting outside fairly late at night. Room was clean bur there are no extras provided. It was the 5th hotel we have stayed in on a 3 week trip to Ireland and the only one that didn't proved bottled water or shampoo just generic wash. The biggest problem was that WiFi would not connect in the room as the signal was non existent. Breakfast was limited menu but the young lady that served us was so friendly. Derek was good and allowed me to use the bar in the morning as I needed to use my laptop.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imperial Hotel, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 13 Sept 2021
Dear Gilly, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you found our Hotel to be clean and that our service was very good. I am sorry about the street noise, sadly , sometimes in a town centre Hotel it can happen, it does not normally be like this. Also apologies on your device not connecting to our WiFi, I do not know why this happened but am getting it checked out. Safe travelling, Derek Carroll
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry o wrote a review Jan 2020
Vienna, Austria37 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visited over Christmas. We received a very warm welcome had a family room. The staff were most friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The room was warm and comfortable and we received a superb rate by booking directly with the hotel. Breakfast was prepared to order and was of a high standard. We really enjoyed our short stay and would really recommend this hotel. One issue was that the bedroom window could not be opened due to safety issues and the room got warm. Perhaps this issue could be addressed by management.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Derek C, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear Harry, Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would be eager to return.I see that you stayed in room 103. I am getting the window checked as we speak because there should not be a problem with it, thank you for letting me know. Happy New Year. Always with a Smile, Derek.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra M wrote a review Aug 2021
Carrickmacross, Ireland8 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the Imperial Hotel recently with my husband and parents. We had 2 double rooms. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of Tralee and it has free parking at the back of the hotel. The staff were amazing and so helpful. They always had a friendly smile and chatted to everyone. We dined there the first night and as the food and service was do good we ate there on our second night too. It was very good value and we could not fault what we got. Breakfast both mornings was also fabulous. .There are no kettles in the room due to Covid but free tea and coffee is available at all times and they will even bring it to your room for you. It was fantastic value for what we got and for its location. The only downside is there is no lift but you can request a lower floor when booking.
I will definately return if I'm even in Tralee again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imperial Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to have the kettle on for you again very soon. Derek.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Feidhlim K wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in the midst of Storm Denis . My wife and I, my daughter and her 2 friends . We had 2 rooms side by side which we got a great deal on . From the minute we entered the lobby to check in to us leaving the staff could not be more friendly or more helpful . Bang in the centre of town made up for any leisure centre or gym , especially the fact that it is in walking distance of the Aquadome . The fact that the cinema is next to the Aquadome and our girls are 14 meant they had freedom to move around , check out shops and do as they wished safely .
All in all, when i asked the girls would they return to the Imperial the reply was a big yes without hesitation . From 3 teenage girls thats a huge endorsement
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JR wrote a review Oct 2020
Kildare, Ireland29 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay in the Imperial was far from pleasant, the room we were initially given had blood stains on the bedsheets. We asked to be moved which we were but still felt uncomfortable sleeping on the bed. We actually went out & purchased our own blankets to sleep on. The mattress was really poor & neither of us got much sleep. When we tried to shower the next morning there was no hot water.
I will say though that the staff were very friendly, especially the lovely lady who served us breakfast the next morning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garry T wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To say that the staff did everything possible for us in order to make the night a very memorable night for us and our family and friends would be an understatement. From start to finish nothing was a bother and they were accommodating to all of our requests on the night and the lead up to the party. The food was also excellent quality and value and was commented on by or friends and family. We also had a DJ for the night who also worked very well with the hotel and the actual venue for a large family party was ideal with music (DJ) in the cellar and the main bar is only a few steps away for a quite drink and a chat with family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ring directly and talk to the staff or even call in to the manager if looking to book this venue.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richaras T asked a question Feb 2018
Cork, Ireland4 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm staying on Saturday night just wondering is there any entertainment in your bar thanks
Answer from Derek Carroll
Tralee, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Rich, Thank you for your message. We do not have entertainment in the bar tomorrow evening, but we are located within walking distance of many venues. Our staff will be happy to assist you and to point you in the direction of entertainment available. We look forward to greeting you at The Imperial Hotel. Kind regards, Reservations
Answer from Derek Carroll
Tralee, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your mail. We will be more than happy accommodate you before 3 pm. Just let us know what time you would like to arrive. We are in the heart of Tralee on Denny Street. Looking forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel, Kind regards, Magdalena Reception
Garry T wrote a tip Oct 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ring directly and talk to the staff or even call in to the manager if looking to book this venue."
Read full review
J N wrote a tip Aug 2022
Rochester, New York37 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking garage is secure but not on premises. A short walk from the garage to the hotel."
Read full review
Eileen M wrote a tip Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stayed in a twin room it was comfortable"
Read full review
Pat D wrote a tip Oct 2021
Lisdoonvarna, Clare, Ireland17 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staff could not be more helpful"
Read full review
Clair N wrote a tip Sept 2021
Kildare, Ireland69 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any of the rooms would do."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tralee area.
PRICE RANGE
€98 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial hotel tralee
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryTralee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE IMPERIAL HOTEL, TRALEE. - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Which popular attractions are close to The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Nearby attractions include Siamsa Tire National Folk Theatre (0.3 km), Kerry County Museum (0.2 km), and Tralee Town Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quinlans Seafood Bar, The Mall Tralee., IL Pomo Doro Restaurant, and Cassidy's Restaurant Tralee.
Is The Imperial Hotel, Tralee. located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Tralee.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Imperial Hotel, Tralee. offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wether's Well (6.1 km), Annagh Church (3.4 km), and Chute Hall Ogham Stones (5.4 km).
Does The Imperial Hotel, Tralee. have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Tralee HotelsTralee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TraleeHotels near The Imperial Hotel, Tralee.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire