We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Denny Street, Tralee V92 NDT8 Ireland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (184)
Room & Suite (96)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 24/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 14 hotels in Tralee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grand Hotel is one of the most established hotels in Tralee and renowned among Kerry hotels. It is a Tralee town centre hotel and has been beautifully restored to its original architectural beauty, while incorporating the best of the modern boutique hotel style.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Car hire
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Finnish and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
1212Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 775
  • 290
  • 77
  • 39
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ronan D wrote a review Yesterday
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in this establishment on 31st July for a night away with my partner. Was expecting this hotel to be up to standard, but Grand it certainly is not ! On arrival found that there was no lift and as my partner and I are in our 60s I struggled up the stairs with our bags only to discover our "room" was at the rear of the hotel down narrow corridors and steps .The room window faced a concrete wall with air conditioning units continuously running all night and staff out smoking on they're break every few minutes. That wasn't the worst ,we went to the bar for something to eat as the dining room was close which I assume is because they are understaffed, service was deplorable, attitude of staff was terrible and food was utterly the most tasteless bland gloom I have tried to eat . My partner had a Caeser salad and when we saw it brought ato the table we both knew there was something wrong. We finished what we could and had a drink before retiring to bed . Had a light breakfast the following morning and my partner said she felt unwell. Checked out of hotel and then the real trouble started. She was extremely ill all the way home and I had to stop the car several times to let her out and clear her stomach. I emailed the hotel and have been basically told that I am inventing this . Terrible customer service and care from them ,I won't mention the managers name but suffice to say We will never return and I advise anyone thinking of booking this "hotel" ... Don't!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Tracey P wrote a review 2 Aug
Clonmel, Ireland159 contributions79 helpful votes
On arrival we had to park abit away as the set down area was occupied so when we checked in we asked about parking permit and where to park. We were told to pop change into ticket machine and after 6.30 its free and as the next day was a Sunday the following a Bank Holiday Monday we would be fine. We checked in at 3 and set down area was occupied still by the same car. As we had 2 kids ( 1 being a baby ) we needed set down area to off load. In the end my partner went and got bags from car. We left hotel to go for a stroll and food at 4.30 and the same black car was still there I said it to one of the waitors and was informed the could be in the restaurant. Completely understand we would be waiting for set down area, but it's a set down area not parking space. No lifts also in hotel. Room was nice and clean, travel cot was supplied which is so handy! Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was Nice and big. Breakfast was so nice both morning we all ordered the same things but got different things both mornings not quiet sure why as they were busy we said nothing as we liked what we got anyway. Breakfast staff were so nice and helpful. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for people with small kids, we could here people outside in the beer garden both nights and people loudly walking along the corridors talking. I wouldn't recommend for people with kids but I would happily go back without kids. Location is central. Plenty pubs and restaurants around, and I wouldn't be bothered about the set down area. With kids you bring everything but the kitchen sink. Can't say anything bad about the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Park lightly so you don't rely on the set down area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Aine C wrote a review 1 Aug
Limerick, Ireland4 contributions2 helpful votes
Came for breakfast this morning, staff friendly but food is very disappointing. A full Irish breakfast missing food, toasties with one thin slice of ham. Sautéed potatoes came out as two hash browns covered in oil. Wouldn’t recommend for food, the menu is very deceiving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey O' Sullivan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi Aine, We were disappointed to read this review and apologise that you were dissatisfied with your breakfast. Subsequent to your review, we are no longer serving the hash browns for breakfast. However, we do encourage our guests to share their experience with a member of staff or management rather than turning to social media. It is widely known that this is a challenging time for hospitality businesses in particular and if you read over our recent reviews you will see that our food has been consistently praised. We hope that this isolated experience will not diminish your view of The Grand Hotel and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Kelsey, Guest Services
Read more
georgeal2n wrote a review Jul 2021
Naas, Ireland2 contributions
We were in Tralee for a day trip and decided to have lunch outside the hotel. After asking 3 times one of the servers finally cleaned our table (this should not be such an effort given the times we live in). I ordered the chicken quesadillas and my wife ordered a chicken ciabatta with special request for dairy free. When we ordered the waitress brought us the bill and told us that the policy was to pay before receiving food and drinks, which we did, it transpires that this was not the policy and in fact that none of the other tables were asked to pay up front, they must have thought that us and our baby were going to do a runner. 15 minutes after ordering and us paying the waitress returned to advise that the ciabatta was not dairy free and we requested another type of bread that was. Approximately 15 later our food arrived, surprisingly the dairy free sandwich was served with cheese in it.... This was returned to the server and a new sandwich presented 10 minutes later without cheese. Our overall experience or the food and the service was very disappointing and we would not return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey O' Sullivan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi George, We are sorry to hear of your recent experience. We pride ourselves on first-class service and we were disappointed to read that this is not what you seemed to be privy to. It is generally accepted that this is quite a challenging time in the hospitality sector. We have found that, in general, people have been understanding and patient with our staff. If you read over our recent reviews, you will see that our food and service have been consistently praised. This being said, we are aware that there are issues that we must continue to iron out on a daily basis. We are receptive to all your comments, although we feel that some may have been somewhat unnecessary, and we thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Kelsey, Guest Services
Read more
Olivia wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We booked into the Grand Hotel in Tralee for 3 nights & our only problem was that we didn't want to leave!! The staff, food & service were absolutely fantastic. The staff had permanent smiles on their faces & the management could not do enough for us. We ate in the hotel 2 out of the 3 nights as the food was so good as well as the service & craic with the staff. We can't wait to go back. This was the best hotel experience we have had to date !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey O' Sullivan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us! We're absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We are renowned for our delicious food and wonderful staff and we are delighted to hear about your experience. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel tralee, tralee grand hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryTralee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Siamsa Tire National Folk Theatre (0.3 km), Kerry County Museum (0.3 km), and Tralee Town Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quinlans Seafood Bar, 7Th Heaven Bistro & Cafe, and The Pikeman Bar - The Grand Hotel.
Is The Grand Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of Tralee.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wether's Well (6.1 km), Annagh Church (3.4 km), and Chute Hall Ogham Stones (5.3 km).