We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Killarney International Youth Hostel

Save
Share
Aghadoe House Ring of Kerry Road Fossa, Killarney Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (6)
Bathroom (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 57 Specialty lodging in Killarney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ring of Kerry Youth Hostel is an impressive 17th Century mansion, set in 75 acres of lawns and forests, overlooking the Lakes of Killarney and the Macguillycuddy's Reeks. If you want good food, a good night's sleep, washing and drying facilities and a great atmosphere, then Killarney International Youth Hostel is the place to be. The Hostel was renovated in two phases, early 1999 and early 2000 to include smaller rooms and family rooms, a very large self catering and catering area and very comfortable common areas. This hostel is the centre for exploring the impressive scenery that is the Ring of Kerry. The 'Ring of Kerry Tour', the 'Dingle Tour' and the 'Gap of Dunloe Tour' depart daily from the Youth Hostel and show the visitor some of the most impressive scenery in the world
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Coffee shop
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
99Reviews1Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 25
  • 31
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deirdre W wrote a review Aug 2019
16 contributions22 helpful votes
Great views and great customer service at breakfast. Rooms were conpfy enough but a suggestion of lamps for each bed would be nice for reading at night as an individual rather than one light for whole room. Breakfast was delicious and great price of €4 for continental breakfast. Staff were super friendly and there was even a charging station for phones in the lounge area. Only thing os its a bit far from town. Requires Taxis or long walk. National park is very near and great for hikes and walks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Silvermist wrote a review Sep 2018
15 contributions2 helpful votes
From the very beginning, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Whatever we asked for, they did everything to help us. The building seems kind of maze-y like an old mansion or a mini-Hogwarts, but it's easy to find your way around. The room was clean and simple. There is a big kitchen everyone can use, with all the necessary cooking utensils, a boiler for hot water and free tea bags, coffee and sugar. There are also nicely decorated common rooms with books, sofas, board games, and TV. Toilets and showers are shared, but there were plenty of them on our floor and we didn't need to walk to them at all. In some showers you can't adjust the temperature, but they were still warm. The blankets were thick, warm and cosy. The only complaint is that they don't give you duvet covers, only a pillowcase and two bed sheets. The wi-fi works only on the ground floor, but sometimes you can see it upstairs as well. A taxi to the hostel was 13 euros. There is also a bus stop really close to the hostel that goes to the city centre, 2.70 euros each way. Most of the time we just walked there though, it's like 5-6 km and there's a pedestrian walkway all along the way. Overall, if you're not picky and don't expect much more than a place to sleep, then this is a great choice. We loved the place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from anoigeiyha, General Manager at Killarney International Youth Hostel
Responded 7 Mar 2019
Hello. Thank you so much for your lovely review and positive feedback. We really appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chalkywhite2017 wrote a review Aug 2018
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
I slept in a single room which had no furniture except a decades old bunk bed, with an equally old thin mattress. Not a great sleep. It was a shame because many other things about the hostel are praiseworthy, e.g. kitchen shared areas and information from the manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Not the one I slept in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DinkyIRL wrote a review Aug 2018
Tipperary, Ireland305 contributions105 helpful votes
had my kids in large dorm, not enough power points in room, beds are adequate, showers are communal again fine. the main house is the hive of movement and friendly activity. big kitchen with loads of equipment and space for many to operate. great staff and very well priced. do call as its location is at the dingle side of killarney and not far to national park walk
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: ask where showers are located
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mou J wrote a review Aug 2018
3 contributions
we had such a great time here! The hostel is a wonderful place to stay, the house looks so nice and has a very comfortable and big living room. The room was nothing special, but it was very clean. The kitchen got everything you need for cooking and the host is very nice, he gave us good advices for our trip through Ireland. See you the next time!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lisa C wrote a review Aug 2018
Bath45 contributions11 helpful votes
One of the many good things about this hostel is the location. Set on the edge of woodland, there is plenty of opportunity to explore the grounds and as it's on the ring of Kerry, there is so much more to explore that it just 10 mins drive away. There is a pub 10 mins walk away which serves food and if you are feeling flush, you can walk to a couple of nearby hotels for food too. The staff are very friendly and will recommend walks, places to see, local tips, etc. We went as a family and were pleased to note that families were housed in a separate building to the side, which meant we weren't disturbed by teenagers coming in late and you were sharing washrooms with other families/couples. The building itself is a little dated but this adds to the charm and character of the place. You can lounge around in the TV room, take a quiet spot in the library or sit in the dining room. The only small flaws are that there is just one plug socket in the rooms (well in ours there was only one). There is a charging station in the TV room but I'm not sure how confident I would be in leaving devices plugged in there whilst we went off. Also the management might want to note that the cleaners aren't sweeping the floors of the rooms. I noted this was mentioned in an earlier review and our room had not been swept, so I did this myself. Other than that I would highly recommend this hostel for families, travellers, those on a budget, etc. Do make sure you visit the Gap of Dunloe, it's well worth the 10 min drive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Malcolm F wrote a review Aug 2018
Frankfurt, Germany17 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
eugh. probably just about passable in 1998. it hasn't changed, just a slow deterioration. dirty. smelly. breakfast was 4€, apparently continental but makes hospital food look great. memorably dreadful. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy M, General Manager at Killarney International Youth Hostel
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Hi Malcolm. Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you had such a poor stay and your feedback is something we'll be discussing with the hostel manager right away.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ela B wrote a review Jul 2018
Zagreb, Croatia9 contributions
It's a quite place outside the town, rooms are a bit small but clean and you can have breakfast for €4. Staff was nice and helpful. Ok value for money, nothing special. On the other hand, Killarney national park is amazing!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Max P wrote a review Jul 2018
Akron, Ohio37 contributions55 helpful votes
This hostel is housed in a really cool building. However, the amenities inside are a bit dated. There are no lockers in the rooms and limited outlets in the 10-bed dorm. The shared bathroom is adequate but nothing special. There is not enough shelf space to put your stuff. We were there at the height of summer and the place was not crowded so there is a decent chance of privacy even in a shared bed dorm. It is outside the city center which means you have to bike or drive to get to restaurants except for 1 nearby bar. The advantage of this location is that it is away from the chaos and partying of the city. So easier to get a good night’s sleep. As long as you aren’t expecting anything fancy, you’ll enjoy your stay. Oh, and towels are not included free so bring your own or be ok paying.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy M, Public Relations Manager at Killarney International Youth Hostel
Responded 23 Jul 2018
Hi Max, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sorcha R wrote a review Jul 2018
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night and was really disappointed with the service. The outer building looks appealing and there is parking but that is about it. We were shocked to find wifi was only available downstairs. When we arrived we were never shown around or where the kitchen was. We were just handed our keys and sheets and told where to go. I couldn't believe we had to make our own beds and bring the sheets down the next day. It is obvious the dorms are never checked because the floor was dirty and there was a pile of rubbish behind a chair in the room. The showers are not suitable. There are 3 showers side by side with see through glass so you had no privacy and could see the people beside you. There was no where to get changed or no privacy whatsoever. There was also no towel to dry hands. Overall it wasn't the worst stay but there are a lot of improvements to make
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy M, Public Relations Manager at Killarney International Youth Hostel
Responded 23 Jul 2018
Hi Sorcha, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your comments to the hostel manager and we will see if we can get some action taken on those points
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKillarney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Killarney International Youth Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Killarney - Kerry's 1st Live Escape Room Game (5.0 km), Falconry Kerry (5.6 km), and Killarney Falconry (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rozzers Restaurant, Garret's Killarney, and The Mad Monk.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Killarney International Youth Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Killarney International Youth Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Muckross Abbey (7.4 km), Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms (7.8 km), and Muckross Traditional Farms (7.8 km).