Dromhall Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dromhall Hotel

Traveller (461)
Classic Double
Room & Suite (273)
Abbey Restaurant at the Dromhall Hotel
Dining (85)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
€249
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
€254
€232
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#15 of 41 hotels in Killarney
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

Muckross Road, Killarney V93 PY80 Ireland
1,777Review21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,144
  • 424
  • 134
  • 42
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steven Robinson wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited for 1 night as part of a longer overall stay in Kerry. Upon check in there was a little confusion as no sooner were we in the room than maintenance were knocking saying they needed to fix the shower. This was a little odd but not too big a deal as we were going straight into town anyway. A very pleasant member of housekeeping offered to move our bags to another room should this be necessary.

Upon our return there was chocolates and a personalised apology note from management. Mistakes can happen but its how a hotel deals with them that tells their true quality I believe.

Notably friendly staff throughout our stay. A lovely cooked breakfast and a real emphasis on safety with covid 19 measures clearly well thought out without being too invasive. First time visitor and would happily return
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Thank you StevenRobinson63, for your kind words above. I really appreciate your understanding with regards to the maintenance issue and I am glad you did not let it disrupt your stay or your view of us a hotel. Unfortunately maintenance issues are untimely events as was the case on this occasion. Our staff are working hard to ensure guests enjoy their much needed get always at this time and I thank you for your observations on our covid19 measures. We hope to welcome you back to Dromhall again sometime in the future. Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian L wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland26 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked this hotel for a 2-night stay and loved it so much we booked another night at the end of our holiday. Check-in staff gave a lovely warm welcome, the bedroom was luxurious and the beds so amazing that I took note of the make and model! The bar was lovely, very well run and coping very well with the new restrictions. There was no need to book breakfast and it was delicious. The dining room is stunning with linen napkins, linen table clothes, fresh flowers and chandeliers. The staff were impeccable, friendly and delightful.

I was looking enough to book a last-minute massage. I'm afraid I can't remember the girls name (possibly Cait) but it was amazing!

I would most definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Thank you dillydaydreams, for your lovely words above, and I am heartened to hear our efforts are not going unnoticed and that you extended your stay with us - a sure sign we are doing things right. It is so rewarding to hear feedback like yours and we really do appreciate it. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carmel40 wrote a review Jul 2020
Limerick, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing holiday at the Dromhall, it felt so clean there were hand sanitizers everywhere, staff all wore masks or visors. Breakfast was really nice & only difference you ordered everything you need & it is brought to your table. Bar food really good & the Standard of hygiene everywhere at Dromhall was excellent. Highly recommended a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2020
Thank you Carmel40 for your fabulous review of Dromhall following your recent stay with us. Delighted you felt you were in a safe environment and we really appreciate your recommendation. Regards, Bernadette Randles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
450pedro wrote a review Aug 2020
County Waterford, Ireland39 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This well run hotel in short walking distance of Killarney town center is operating all the COVID regulations. However to see multiple dogs (10 during our two day stay) some even being fed in the lobby where the previous evening we had seen two babies crawling on the floor seems that basic hygiene is being forgotten in their pet friendly policy. I have travelled all over Europe and pet friendly hotels provide kennels and do not allow the pets in the rooms.
To have a room where you do not know if the previous occupants included dogs makes you wonder about every stain on the carpet!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear 450pedro, I hope you enjoyed your visit to Killarney and your stay at our hotel. I We are a Pet Friendly Hotel and we have a number of allocated rooms for pet owners. The housekeeping services are to a very high standard, as in all our rooms. Guests when booking are informed that they must bring their own bed for the pet such as a cushion, cage or basket. It is stressed to the guest that the pets are not allowed on the beds or furniture. The pet will not be allowed into the restaurant but they can use the Lobby area if the pet is well behaved. In my experience the majority of the Guests who are pet owners, are responsible pet owners and appreciate the hotel and its surroundings and give respect to others guests. They are thankful for the opportunity for a breakaway and to be able to bring their loved ones with them. I hope in giving this explanation you have a better understanding of the service we offer to pet owners and how this service is provided. I am thankful to you for your feed back and comments on our covid measure, as they are well appreciated and of immense value to us. Hopefully you will choose to return to us in the not too distant future. Regards, Bernadette Randles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rory M wrote a review Oct 2020
Cork, Ireland77 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The biggest challenge with a trip to Killarney is picking somewhere to stay, as there are so many hotels. We chose the Dromhall this weekend, and I can highly recommend it. The location is perfect, it's a few minutes walk from the town center so you don't have the noise of all the crowds, and it's less than a 10 minute drive to both the INEC and Muckross House. The staff were extremely friendly, particularly the bald man with the white shirt serving us in the bar/restaurant - which seems to be popular with locals, always a good sign. We will stay here again, and I'd recommend it to anyone who is visiting this lovely region.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Thank you RoryMCork for your kind and highly regarded review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are delighted to have been chosen for your stay in Killarney on this occasion. I appreciate your kind words on Stephen our bar supervisor – and he will be delighted to read your comments and indeed our bar and brasserie is very popular spot for local trade and of course our hotel residents. We thank you once again for your review and we too look forward to welcoming you back to Dromhall in the future. Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
holidayfan55 wrote a review Sept 2021
Romford Essex548 contributions303 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely well equipped and large room. Safe, Iron/Ironing board, Tea & Coffee, Large flat screen TV, Fan and even a Dyson style air con/heater tower unit all supplied. (The filter on this could have been a bit cleaner but this is a minor point.) Wi Fi worked well in rooms but not in Reception. There was no hand towels in the bathroom when we arrived but these were soon supplied when we asked. The carpet at the entrance to the bathroom was lifting which posed a trip hazard and although they did try and glue it back down it started to lift again. But this is again a minor point that didn't detract from our overall enjoyment especially as the Guinness in the bar was €4-50 a pint!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5* review. I am delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us recently. Dromhall is the perfect place to relax and unwind for a few days and I am glad you have the opportunity to stay with us. Sometimes guests can minor details impact a stay in a bigger way, but I am delighted that the minor issues your encountered didn't detract from the overall service we provided. The Guinness in Kayne's is always tasty and I am particularly pleased you got the sample it. We thank you for high recommendation and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dromhall in the future. Best Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie B wrote a review Jan 2020
Lusk, Ireland2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When trying to cancel one night of a 2 night stay, was told I could not do this as 1 night stays were sold out... In a room i had booked for the Friday night I could not stay in unless I stayed an extra night. I found staff very unhelpful when trying to to initially enquire about I was repeatedly told one night stay sold out and that was it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BernadetteRandles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you Kbbermingham, for you comments above and I am disappointed you felt that our staff were unhelpful and didn't deal with your query correctly. I would appreciate it if you emailed me personally on bernadette@randleshotels.com in order for me to get the full details and investigate thoroughly here. Looking forward to hearing from you. Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ambassador69241 wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
great location on Muckross road,... remembered my wife's birthday with welcome chocolates which was very nice. Room very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, all hot food served from kitchen and not from buffet, which meant everything was very fresh. My wife loved the fresh scones!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Thank you Ambassador69241, for your kind feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Dromhall so much and that we were chosen to help celebrate your wife's birthday. We have always served a cooked to order breakfast for our guests and it has always been a welcome relief from the dreaded buffet queues. Thank you for the 5* review and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dromhall again in the future. Kind Regards, Bernadette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NualaOSullivan wrote a review Aug 2021
Cork, Ireland45 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My advice to anyone contacting this hotel is to get confirmation of what is promised in writing from them. I telephoned the hotel on 3rd August to let them know that guests (my friends) were checking in with them for a couple of nights, on 4th August to celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary. They thanked me for letting them know and were very gracious and promised some chocolates in the room with a card wishing them a happy anniversary from the hotel. I asked could a copy of their wine list be sent to me as I wanted to gift them a bottle of wine to help with the celebrations. This was duly done, I rang the receptionist back and ordered and paid for the Rioja (the most expensive wine); I was assured that a card with my full name would be delivered wishing them a happy anniversary. This did not happen. A bottle of Italian wine, was delivered to the room but no note to say it was a gift from me, my friends assumed that the chocolates and wine were a gift from the hotel. I have telephoned the hotel twice to seek an explanation as to how this happened and have been promised phone calls back but nothing to date (15th August). This is very disappointing, I trusted the hotel in good faith, to carry out what we'd agreed over the phone. I also contacted them in the hope of getting an explanation twice. This review I hope will get their attention and hopefully I will get my explanation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear Nuala, Thank you for your review and getting in touch with us regarding your friends stay and the error that happened with the personalised card you had requested. Firstly let us iterate that thankfully, your friends had a great anniversary stay with us here at the Dromhall and have great memories from their special anniversary which makes us all happy. Yes, my colleague at the desk made a human error after your conversation and did not place the card with your name in the room with the bottle of wine. We acknowledge that this was an unacceptable oversight but there was never any intention to cause any upset to you and it was most unfortunate that this happened as your friends were unaware of your nice present for their night and we understand the frustration this has caused. Human error does happen in every aspect of life and it is most unfortunate that it happened to your kind and thoughtful gesture. For this I would like to sincerely apologise as it most definitely should not have occurred this way and the normal procedure is to write out the card per the instructions, as you duly gave and place this card into the bedroom on the day of arrival along with the wine. Both I and my colleagues are fully aware from the telephone conversations and communication via facebook and here on trip advisor of the disappointment it has created for you. We also apologise for not getting back to you sooner, it was an oversight on our part, and we know this delay has only added to your upset. Again I apologise for our shortcomings on this incident, but as your will see from the various accounts from other visitors to our hotel this is not the standard that we are accustomed with and hope that you give us another chance in the future. We hope you accept our apology. Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jojedi wrote a review Dec 2022
County Galway, Ireland90 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in superior room which was newly decorated and spacious. Checkin and out was easy and pleasant. The quality of breakfast and choice was very good and the breakfast staff could not do enough for you. Everything was done in a timely manner and there were no delays with service. The location of this hotel is less than half a km from the town and took 5 minutes to walk. We would definitely choose this hotel returning to Killarney. The room price was just right! Two nights including breakfast was €230 midweek.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernadette Randles, Owner at Dromhall Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2023
Dear guest, thank you for your amazing review, I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us at Dromhall and I really do appreciate your fine feedback for our decor, check in and front desk efficiency, our breakfast offerings and of course our unique location. We are delighted with your high recommendation and we too hope to welcome you back to Dromhall again in the future. Kind Regards, Berandette Randles.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mairead Conneely
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not sure about the time limit we were there for about 90 minutes No fridge in The rooms
Philip McCourt asked a question Oct 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
Does hotel have a lift ?
Answer from Etienne M
Dublin, Ireland25 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes absolutely
LauraG asked a question Sept 2020
Ireland11 contributions2 helpful votes
Is the pool and spa open
Answer from Shirley Murphy
St Mullins, Ireland5 contributions3 helpful votes
I was open when I was there a few weeks ago... Enjoy
Igiveupalready2 asked a question Mar 2019
Baiting Hollow, New York152 contributions39 helpful votes
Do they have a washer / dryer on site to do our laundry?
Answer from BernadetteRandles
Killarney, Ireland2 helpful votes
Hello, we do have a laundry service available for guests.
Stanky217 asked a question Mar 2019
Carlow, Ireland392 contributions88 helpful votes
What type is breakfast is served ? Is it buffet ?
Answer from BernadetteRandles
Killarney, Ireland2 helpful votes
Hot breakfast is cooked to order, continental is buffet style.
Margaret H wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The spa treatments are great. You are worth it."
Read full review
RobLaw47 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania3,577 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking just out the door."
Read full review
Kingdomofkerry wrote a tip Feb 2024
Tralee, Ireland30 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is a little limited in the hotel car park."
Read full review
Sunflower1805 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Westport, Ireland6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only 5 min drive from Killarney National Park "
Read full review
Jan K wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can not say enough about this hotel "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Killarney area.
PRICE RANGE
€138 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dromhall hotel killarney
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKillarney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DROMHALL HOTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Killarney, Europe) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dromhall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dromhall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Killarney - Kerry's 1st Live Escape Room Game (0.6 km), Celtic Steps The Show Killarney (0.7 km), and Killarney National Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dromhall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Dromhall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dromhall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dromhall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tan Yard, Kitty O'Se's Seafood and Grill, and Murphy Brownes Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dromhall Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Dromhall Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Killarney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dromhall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dromhall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dromhall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dromhall Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
All Killarney HotelsKillarney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KillarneyHotels near Dromhall Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire