We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

McSweeney Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
McSweeney Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for McSweeney Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for business and found the staff very welcoming. My room was well equipped and clean. Great suggestion for dinner and helpful with my questions. Breakfast was great. Loved the fresh fruit selection. Would definitely stay here again in future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria P
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, Your kind words are warmly received by all of the staff here in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you agian on your next visit to Killarney! Kind regards, Aodán

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Just back from a fabulous 2 night stay in the McSweeney Arms Hotel the location is brilliant 2 minute walk from the train station & only a couple of minutes walk to the heart of everything but also plenty of bars with entertainment & food on your doorstep and the outlet centre only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle P
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, We are always striving to provide the best experience possible for our guests and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Aodán

Pennines
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Had a very friendly welcome from Kelly. We had to adjoining rooms and both had very comfortable double beds. The hotel is perfectly positioned in the centre of Killarney so expect some noise. Our only niggle was that the duvets were more winter weight which made it a hot night! Breakfast was amazing, a huge range of fresh fruits, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reebi
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reebi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our delicious breakfast! We look forward to welkcoming you again on your next trip to Killarney, Best Regards, Aodán

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Staff was great, felt very personal. Room was clean and cozy. I was on the first floor facing the street and above the bar so I was concerned it would be too loud at night but I was surprised I had no problems with the noise level. My only minor complaint is that all the room doors slam shut so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Coleigh13
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Coleigh13, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I will look into the door issue you mentioned immediately, many thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Killarney! Kind Regards, Aodán

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel was perfect in every way clean well decorated and the staff could not do enough for our time there, food and drink are excellent. Tony and Kerry Anne were lovely and looked after our party of 4 very well, will be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suebenny2016
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suebenny2016, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, It was a pleasure to have you during the August Killarney race meeting, your kind words bring a smile to the faces of all of our staff who strive to deliver the best possible experience for all of our guests, We look forward to welcoming you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

And once again they didn't let us down, it might have been noisy on the street from the students getting their exam results but not in our bedroom, secondary double glazing was brilliant. The bedroom spotless, the bed was huge and immaculate. Their onsite restaurant was as busy as ever but we managed to get a seat and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrissy063
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrissy063, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, We ae delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially the delicious food in The Sandtrap Bar & Grill, We look forwrd to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Aodán

Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Arrived to a very warm welcome given withba smile from a well dressed young male manager. We were attending the Inec. The hotel is priced fairly , is in the centre of town and we found it spotless with everything we needed. We had excellent simple bar food served by a very friendly lady. This hotel is well worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thanks you so much for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the food and friendly service in The Sandtrap Bar & Grill, all of our staff strive to provide the best experience possible for our guests and your kind words are...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Compact, centrally located hotel with well-appointed & very popular bar, which serves good food. The standard of hygiene was evident throughout the hotel and the bedroom had everything you need, including good light, ample power points (I was semi-working) and a hairdryer, which wasn't set into a drawer that you can't control properly! Friendly service from the proprietors and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda G, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at The McSweeney Arms Hotel, It's fantatstic to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you again on your next trip to Killarney! Best Regards, Aodán

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Aodán was very helpful at finding us a room on short notice. It was quite spacious and had beautiful views of Killarney. He had wonderful advice on Killarney National Park and hikes. Very welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable beds, and clean accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith H
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meredith H, It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the McSweeney Arms Hotel, especially our beautiful Killarney National Park and surrounding areas, We would love to welcome you agian on your next trip to Killarney and thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, Kind Regards, Aodán

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Great little hotel located in the center of town. We had the big room on the top floor facing town. Absolutely a beautiful view. Áodan was the front desk/ guy who ran everything the evening we were there. He was a great host and one of the main reasons we picked that hotel while walking around the town. He helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
Aodán G, Operations Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Josh H, Thank you for writing a review here on TripAdvisor, Your kind words are warmly recveived by all of us at the hotel and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town, especially the view from your room! We hope to see you again on your next visit! Best Regards, Aodán

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
1,440 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
868 reviews
0.1 km away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
1,374 reviews
0.9 km away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
721 reviews
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill
Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Grill, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
McSweeney Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the center of Irelands most famous tourist town Killarney. McSweeney Arms hotel is a three star family run hotel with a unique and friendly atmosphere. We hope that your next visit will be with us here personally in Killarney.Our bedrooms at McSweeney Arms Hotel are a home away from home. Comfort, quality and relaxation are essential to a good nights sleep, therefore at McSweeney Arms Hotel we promise to ensure all guests the best nights sleep possible. Each room has a unique style and loving touch. Perfect for a few nights away to explore the treasures of Killarney. ... more   less 

Additional Information about McSweeney Arms Hotel

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Price Range: €98 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McSweeney Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McSweeney Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McSweeney Arms Hotel Killarney, Europe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from McSweeney Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Suffolk UK
Waterville, Ohio
1 month ago
3 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from McSweeney Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back maybe if you don't like noise from the street”
978amandag, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Right in the centre of everything, dining, pubs etc.”
Belfastcouple, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Third floor superior room”
Otuama, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Loved our view overlooking town on the 3rd floor--corner room.”
InnerDriveGolf, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I don't know any”
Y203ZHjohnt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5