We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Muckross Road Woodlawn, Killarney V93 YX95 Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Parkavon Hotel
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly located within walking distance of Killarney town centre, Killarney National Park and the INEC Events Centre, we are here to help you make the most of your stay in one of Ireland’s most beautiful destinations. Feel the difference the moment you step through our door with a warm Killarney welcome from our friendly staff.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Hiking
Horseback riding
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German, Polish
69Reviews3Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 17
  • 13
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shaun S wrote a review Jun 2022
Atlanta, Georgia267 contributions147 helpful votes
I don’t think this hotel intends to be high end. So keep that in mind when staying here. The rooms were clean, the lobby is well appointed, and the staff are polite. We got pool time without trouble. It’s a very strong three-star hotel. We were there on a very busy weekend and everything got done. So cheers to them. The extra star is for their great pub attached to the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Shaun S, Thank you for your great review & we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend. I have passed on your compliments to the team & we look forward to seeing you again at The Parkavon. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Melissa P wrote a review May 2022
Halifax, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel itself is nice. Good location to the National Park. Stayed 2 nights. Went to the buffet style breakfast gave our room numbers and directed to a table. When we left I received an email that breakfast was not included and given a bill. We were not told breakfast was not included when we checked in and again when we went for breakfast we were not told anything. Very disappointed to a receive a bill after. Not only a bill for myself but they charged me for another couple who was with us but booked in a separate reservation. If we had known we would have chosen to get something small at the gas station rather then pay $87 euros for breakfasts 😡
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear melissa0662020 Thank you for your disappointing review. You made an online reservation on a room only basis. You and your travel colleagues had breakfast each morning (seven covers in total I believe). You did not check out with hotel reception on your departure. It was at this point the hotel mailed you regarding the unpaid breakfast charges. Thank you for settling the bill but I am at odds to fathom your moan having to pay for a service of which you availed of. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
SinP2012 wrote a review May 2022
Waterford39 contributions13 helpful votes
I’ve just returned from my friend’s hen party in Killarney and we stayed in the Parkavon Hotel. From start to finish, the staff were so accommodating. They reserved an area in the bar for us to have drinks on arrival, they placed all of our rooms in the same corridor and there was no problem with amending our booking. A big thank you to Breeda, who looked after our booking, for being so accommodating and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear SinP2012, Thank you for your fab review. We were delighted you enjoyed your friends hen celebration with us and I have passed on your thanks to Breeda & the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future at The Parkavon. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Roisin wrote a review May 2022
Dublin2 contributions1 helpful vote
Family break Wonderful family break, a second stay for us. Excellently located, spotlessly clean, friendly staff. Ideal hotel for a family stay, spacious family rooms with the addition of a swimming pool on . Look forward to our return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Rois_2202, Thank you for your 4* review. It is so encouraging to welcome returning guest and we look forward to seeing you again at The Parkavon. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Classicovintage wrote a review May 2022
County Cork, Ireland7 contributions3 helpful votes
We came across this hotel by pure chance. The entrance inside and courteous reception staff was a welcome after a long drive. The corridors and room were clean as if it had a refurbishment and my room was lovely, spacious and the view from the window was a tree canopy, personally I loved it; sitting on the windowsill and tune in with nature listening to birds singing - relaxing. The food was superb and catered for my elderly Mother thank you; great atmosphere too. I didn't avail of the leisure centre as it was 9am opening due to an early start on the road, but I will next time. I would say the front of the building would need painting but no doubt that is on the cards and a few window hinges need looking at, that being said couldn't fault this hotel and would put some five star hotels to shame. A gem of a find and look forward to returning- thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Classicovintage Thank you for your super review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again at The Parkavon this year. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Jeff wrote a review Apr 2022
Virginia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked at hotel website for April 2022 and have to cancel. Never received a confirmation email nor text but was given a booking ref number at the website. Via email I requested a cancellation and hotel's reply directed me to use the "booking engine". Nowhere at hotel's website to cancel. Spoke on the phone with a lady at reception who was *unable* to cancel my reservation. Hotel manager "on holiday". I was asked to phone again after 15.00 and speak with her supervisor, Carly. Likely I'll just notify my bank and have them reject any charges from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear Jeffery, I am sorry there was confusion in relation to your request. I am aware Carly cancelled your reservation when she telephoned you to confirm the cancellation later the same day. You also refused a cancellation confirmation at this time. You will be delighted to know you do not have to take the time out of your schedule to contact your bank as your reservation is cancelled without charge. No hoops required - just a little patience. Regards, Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
martina m wrote a review Mar 2022
Dublin, Ireland19 contributions7 helpful votes
We are just back from a two night stay. We had a fantastic time. It was my partners birthday and the hotel couldn't do enough. On arrival we got a free room upgrade and on request they had placed some fruit and a birthday note in the room. All the staff from reception, leisure centre, housekeeping, bar and restaurant were all helpful and pleasant. The hotel is situated 2mins from the town with lots of parking available. The food in the bar was really nice and the breakfast was piping hot. 10/10 for the Parkavon Hotel. We will be back. Martina and David .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Martina & David, Thank you for your 5* review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again at The Parkavon this year. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Seamus Flynn wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Booked hotel as it had a pool but tried to book the pool and was told that it was booked out then tried to book breakfast and was told it was booked out too. Told receptionist that i was very disappointed with this and she just sighed and said she would pass my comment onto management. I could understand this more before Covid restrictions were removed but should be able to avail of the pool and get some breakfast! The pool is small but it should be made clear when booking that there is a good chance that you might not get to use it. As for the breakfast, surley you can make a bigger space for breakfast area if you cant facilitate the existing number of guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear 465seamusf, I am sorry to read you were unable to avail of hotel facilities. I can confirm the pool was open 3/9pm on the day of your arrival and from 9am/9pm on Sat 12th March, with available swim slots each day. You booked on room only basis, again there were early breakfast times available each morning. Perhaps the available times were unsuitable. Please know Hotel Reception will always reach out to a guest should a specific requested time become available. Best wishes, Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Esther Dowling wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in a superior family room (1 adult 4 children) Thursday 24th Feb 2022. The exterior of the hotel reception area, where it actually says ParkAvon, desperately needs a good power wash. The lobby was very welcoming with an open fire (no fireguard) and beautiful carpets and seating. The reception desk was nice and they staff there were very pleasant. There and then I had to book a time for breakfast and the pool, but I couldn't book the pool with the receptionist....I had to book that with the leisure center. There for I don't know if we'd end up swimming at the same time as having breakfast. A bit awkward as it all seem to be done on paper ...no centralised system Our room was 351...nice bathroom with shower and bath and some toiletries First bedroom had a double bed a plenty of storage space Second room had another double bed, a sofabed and a cot. There was also a table in this room. Both room had TV's (not smart) Plenty of clean towels and tea/coffee making facilities I had booked the pool the previous day for 4.10pm so off we went Pool was small enough but because they only allowed 22 people in at any one time it worked out perfectly.(I would not liked to have seen how packed in was in pre-Covid times) The session lasted 40 minutes which the kids found too short but I thought was perfect. There was a very small kids pool which was on a raised area up maybe 6/8 steps which didn't really make much sense with regard to safety. At the other end of the pool was the Jacuzzi, Steam room and sauna which unfortunately I didn't get to use. All good so far..... Breakfast......where do I start. The kids always look forward to the pain au chocolate or the pancake maker it the buttery croissants. They are tired of eating cereal at home. There were miniscule croissants in a basket......but that was the extent of it. They had one or two each with some apple juice and orange juice. I decided to treat myself to a full Irish.....although the little side plates would not have held a full Irish.....maybe a mini Irish. Sausage-nice Black pudding-tasted weird-could not eat White pudding-tasted even weirder- could not eat Hashbrown-nice Beans-cheapest own brand-could not eat Scrambled egg-pale yellow almost white in colour,solid,tasteless-could not eat Rasher-i can only describe whit I think it was because it was certainly not a fried or grilled rasher that you would expect. I believe it was one large piece of bacon which was boiled and then sliced to resemble a bacon rasher-could not eat So unhappy with the breakfast ..... certainly not worth the money that I paid for it. We stopped at Lidl after checkout (which is very early,11am) and got proper croissants and hot chocolate Stay for the friendly staff, location and swimming pool but definitely go ROOM ONLY
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear Estherdowling, A comprehensive short story indeed. I am sorry our breakfast offering did not meet your expectation. I have brought your comments to the kitchen team for improvement. I would suggest you could have mentioned your misgivings to a member of our breakfast team at the time to give the hotel an opportunity to ensure your satisfaction with breakfast. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Lia M wrote a review Feb 2022
Province of Munster, Ireland188 contributions168 helpful votes
Lovely experience. Nice, clean rooms. Good location. Nice, friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Close to the Gleneagle for shows etc. Budget hotel. Nice food & drinks in the bar. Nice decor. Would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen O Connor, General Manager at The Parkavon Hotel
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear Lillypod11, Thank you for your fab review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again at The Parkavon this year. Best wishes Stephen O' Connor - General Manager - The Parkavon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn killarney hotel killarney, killarney holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Killarney
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKillarney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Parkavon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Parkavon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Killarney - Kerry's 1st Live Escape Room Game (1.0 km), Killarney National Park (0.6 km), and Celtic Steps The Show Killarney (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parkavon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Parkavon Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Parkavon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Parkavon Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parkavon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Garret's Killarney, The Mad Monk, and Kitty O'Se's Seafood and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Parkavon Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Parkavon Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Killarney.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Parkavon Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Parkavon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parkavon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Muckross Abbey (2.4 km), Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms (3.5 km), and Muckross Traditional Farms (3.5 km).