We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Meyrick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Meyrick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,257: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was really looking forward to our pre-Christmas stay but sadly we left disappointed. We stopped in for a drink on a previous visit to Galway and were really impressed with the lobby area and bar. Unfortunately this is not a true reflection of the hotel. On arrival we had to park at the back of the hotel in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pebs101
Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in here on a recent trip to Galway for coffee and cake. We had two young children and a newborn with us - plenty of room to manoever buggies and let the kids play/run around. The Christmas trees and decorations were so pretty, there was also a girl playing the piano in the background, it was really lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoifej
london
Reviewed 1 week ago

From check in to check out everyone and everything was fab. Our suite on the 5th floor was spotless and so spacious with lovely extras. Spa was bliss, staff in every department so helpful with everything, Looking forward already to our annual weekend there next year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laua8
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is in a great location. Bar area is buzzy and nice place to have a drink before heading out or on way back Rooms on front have good views of eyre square but dirty windows take away from this. Reception wasn't great in terms of friendliness.We arrived half an hour after check in time and were told it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john o
Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had afternoon tea here over Christmas, but it was poor. Dry white bread ham and cheese sandwiches, what tasted like microwaved scones, and stale desserts. We had our tea about 20minutes before food arrived. Wouldn't go back, or recommend I'm afraid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VisitorIreland13
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, VisitorIreland13, Thank you for sharing your afternoon tea experience with us. We appreciate your feedback greatly as without it we are uncertain if our service needs improving. It's displeasing to hear of your experience and we would like to apologise for the shortcomings regarding your afternoon tea. We would like to advise you that our afternoon tea is completely...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked lunch here Christmas Eve for family dinner having been there previous evening we like to go here as a family when we all get together we ordered food from menu soup for two salad for one pulled pork for one poached egg for one I ordered pulled chicken on a bap it came with lettuces? I mean the stalks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kangoojt
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, Kangoojt, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent lunch at the hotel. Obviously, it's disappointing for us to hear about your experience. We have relayed your comments to the head chef and we apologise for your thoughts about the food served. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be introducing a...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the suites which was a huge open plan room. The furniture really needs to be upgraded. We were disappointed with the view which was of Galway Bay ( it was in the distance) but via the railway station. At check In I mentioned that maybe we should have asked for a room in the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion275
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, Marion275, Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay with us. It's disappointing to read that there were some negative aspects to your recent stay. We wold like to apologise sincerely for this. The accommodation manager has been notified on your thoughts concerning the furniture in your suite. Unfortunately due to our city centre location, the...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband booked a 3 night stay at the meyrick for my birthday. We arrived 13 December to a lovely warm welcome from a male receptionist. He said our room wash ready and as requested it was a suite looking onto the square. We have stayed here several times and also stayed in different rooms, this room was all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, Anne M, Thank you providing us with such a positive review. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable birthday at the hotel. The staff involved in bringing to you an enjoyable stay on such an ocassion will be glad to know their hard work is paying off. We wish to extend our thanks also for recommending...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had our annual Christmas afternoon tea in the Meyrick this year but was so disappointing. Staff seemed stressed and lacked Christmas cheer. We had to constantly ask for tea and fresh cups and for three there was not enough sandwiches. All the food lacked creativity and interest... was too basic and lacked any finesse. Feels like a token add on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larchil
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, Larchil, Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback regarding your afternoon tea experience. We are disappointed to learn of your thoughts of the whole experience. Your comments have been taken on board and we are very appreciative of you bringing the matters to our attention. Kind regards, Hotel Meyrick Management Team

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a recent visit to Galway on a miserable, rainy day, we took refuge in the Meyrick Hotel, for a spot of lunch. The hotel is situated on Eyre Square, right in the centre of Galway city. This is an old world charming hotel, with old style hospitality. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The waitress who served us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thethreemusketeers28
HotelMeyrick1852, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review

Dear, thethreemusketeers28, Thank you providing such comprehensive feedback regarding your recent lunch at the hotel. We are glad to read about all that you enjoyed about your experience. The staff will be happy to be relayed with your nice comments. We look forward to you calling in again. Kind regards, Hotel Meyrick Management Team

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (381)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,549 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,554 reviews
1.4 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 47 in Galway
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €116 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Meyrick staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Corrales, New Mexico
Juno Beach, Florida
1 month ago
Baltimore, Maryland
1 month ago
3 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Meyrick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I overlooked a car park, I was not there for the view. Sleet on the window woke me up one night.”
 of 5 bubbles gell4045, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Eyre Square are great.”
 of 5 bubbles RichieBoland, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hotel (cf. Room 321) overlook Eyre Square and have old-European charm.”
 of 5 bubbles VisitingCleric, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Right beside the train station and a bus stop outside if you want to go to Salthill for a bit of sightseeing”
 of 5 bubbles mishorourke12, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front view of Eyre Square is best.”
 of 5 bubbles francesvbauer, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay