Claremount House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Claremount House

View from our room across the streeta
Traveller (68)
Dining (9)
Our room
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#16 of 125 B&Bs in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Claremount House, your Galway “home away from home.” Claremount House aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Close to some of Galway's most popular landmarks, such as National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG) (2.1 mi) and Kirwan's Lane (2.1 mi), Claremount House is a great destination for tourists.

Claremount House is a family-friendly bed and breakfast offering a flat screen TV in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The bed and breakfast features newspaper. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Galway. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While in Galway, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Claremount House, including La Collina Restaurant (1.1 mi), Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant (0.7 mi), and The Galleon Restaurant (1.1 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area, and there are several great attractions that are within walking distance of Claremount House, including Quay Street (0.3 mi), Salthill Promenade (1.1 mi), and Wild Atlantic Way (1.0 mi).

Claremount House puts the best of Galway at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Hiking
Horseback riding
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Modern

Location

Galway Ireland
258Reviews0Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 25
  • 10
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rachel R wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I had a wonderful time staying with Anna at her B&B! The room was spotless and overlooked the ocean, the breakfast was incredibly good and generous (you can choose a full English breakfast, just tea and scones, or anything in between), and the host was so lovely and helpful. It's a beautiful 60 min walk to downtown Galway along the ocean, or else an easy bus ride. Definitely recommend this delightful B&B!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christina D wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister, mom and I absolutely loved staying with Anna at her beautiful and most delicious B&B. She felt like family by the end of our stay. Her bed is the most comfortable. Down comforter and pillows. We all slept like babies. The location of the house is great while staying in Galway and the view from the house overlooks the water. Can’t wait to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon M wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Claremount house was our last B&B in our two week Ireland adventure and we enjoyed it immensely. The room was comfortable and we felt at home. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed watching the golfers across the road as they played through their game. The breakfasts were wonderful! I'm disappointed with myself that I didn't ask for the scone recipe - some of the best I've ever had. The B&B is in a great location as we were able to visit Galway City, Connemara, and Kylemore Abbey. It was a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is limited.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorinda W wrote a review Jan 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good and not so good points
The house and bedrooms were very cold when we arrived and when we asked for the heat to be turned on, Anna said she would put the heat on at 6pm but not before then so during the day it was uncomfortably cold.

There’s no coffee facilities in the room and breakfast stops at 9am so no hope of a ly in, usually it’s served until 10.30 or 11am.

The bed was very comfortable and had a lovely cosy duvet. It was dark and quiet.

Nice breakfast with a stunning view of the bay.

Overall, for the price it’s pretty basic and unremarkable. I wouldn’t return in a hurry, especially in winter when it’s so cold.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It’s cold in winter so dress warm. Breakfast stops at 9am so don’t except a sleep in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Monaghan, General Manager at Claremount House
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hi . I have responded to your review on Booking.Com. From the time you arrived 3 hours early at 1 pm when it states check in is 4pm you were not very happy as you wanted to cancel 2 days before arrival and stay at the hotel were the conference was been held that you were attending . You asked for the heating to be put on at 1 pm when your check in time is 4pm. The heating is on from 4 pm and you were told this. You came down for breakfast at 8 30am and left the table at 10 20am. I have given a description of all that is on offer at the Claremount House in my response to your review on Booking. Com. You order was poached egg and spinach which was served hot to you and then you complain on your review that it was cold. It took you almost 2 hours to finish breakfast. You did eat everything. You were offered coffee and scone on your arrival. Guest can have tea or coffee anytime during the day and enjoy the views over Galway Bay from our beautiful sitting and dining room. Our room price is based on 2 persons sharing and you booked for 1 person. I feel this review was already written by you before you arrived as it was the hotel you wanted to stay. I had lots of guest staying the same weekend for the same conference and each and everyone had an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
betterthanwork wrote a review Jun 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights here as part of our Ireland trip. We were extremely well looked after by the lovely Anna.
The large bed was very comfortable in our garden view room. As we had not taken shower gel with us and it was not supplied, Anna kindly gave us some of her own
Breakfasts were very filling and everything was of a high quality. It was lovely to have fresh strawberries and blueberries each morning. As we stayed several days, we alternated the hot dishes between the full Irish and porridge and pancakes. Anna gave us some foil to wrap her home made scones in for us to eat later in the day.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
catherine H wrote a review Oct 2023
Long Island, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful home in a great location with parking and convenient to the Galway area attractions. Our rooms were impeccably clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. Bathrooms were en-suite and had a great shower. We enjoyed breakfast and our host was so welcoming- she directed us to a restaurant for dinner within walking distance and offered directions for a scenic route to our next destination. A lovely B and B outside the hustle and bustle of Galway City.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica S wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved our short stay at Claremont House. The beds are SO comfortable - like sleeping on a cloud! Showers are perfect - super hot & have great water pressure! The standout however is the service Anna provides! She is so caring and puts on a superb breakfast. Loved our stay! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle F wrote a review Jun 2022
Ballinasloe, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed with Anna on Friday night as we attended a wedding in the Salthill Hotel. Anna is a wonderful host, very helpful and hardworking. The room had a beautiful sea view but unfortunately it was raining for our visit. Room was spotless, very comfortable bed and enauite bathroom was immaculate also. Breakfast was beautiful as was the fresh coffee! Thanks again Anna and we will be staying with you again in the future I'm sure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DAVE C wrote a review Jul 2006
Guelph, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't let the location make you move on (it's beside a petrol station on a busy road). This is a great place to stay with the best bed, towels and shower that we experienced in Ireland. (A good bed and bathroom is all you want at a B&B anyway.) Steve, the owner, ran a pub for over 20 years, so he knows how to be a genial and welcoming host. Anna, his wife, welcomes you into their home and you feel part of their large family.

It's only a short drive into the city of Galway or you can take the bus that's just outside their door. The Galway Golf Club is just a block away and you have an excellent view of the bay with a superb walk along the Promenade down into the village of Salt Hill.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alyssa Y wrote a review Sept 2016
Scranton, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time to Ireland and first time ever staying in a B&B. We loved It! We only stayed a night and our room was Lovely! The bed was so comfortable, too! Anna answered all of our questions about what to do and how to get into Galway once we arrived. We only stayed one night but Steven and Anna let us keep our luggage there while we explored Galway in the late morning/early afternoon before catching a bus to Shannon so we could fly home the next day. They even made sure a taxi was waiting for us to take us And all our luggage to the bus statiob. And breakfast was wonderful and she put out quite a spread! We had fresh fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, bacon, and fresh scones and bread! And the scones were delicious! I would absolutely recommend staying here. And you cannot beat the view!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Dorinda W wrote a tip Jan 2024
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s cold in winter so dress warm. Breakfast stops at 9am so don’t except a sleep in."
Read full review
Sharon M wrote a tip Oct 2022
19 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is limited."
Read full review
Bob S wrote a tip May 2019
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany137 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great Galway Bay view"
Read full review
James R wrote a tip Sept 2018
castlewellan4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Anna will be only too pleased to discuss your needs at the time of booking"
Read full review
Colin S wrote a tip May 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Phone Anna for a suitable room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galway area.
PRICE RANGE
€196 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLAREMOUNT HOUSE - UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Galway, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Claremount House
Which popular attractions are close to Claremount House?
Nearby attractions include Trad on the Prom (1.3 km), Pedal Power Galway (3.2 km), and Ireland's Smallest Comedy Club (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Claremount House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Claremount House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Claremount House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Claremount House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esquires Coffee ( Eyre Sq, Galway ), Alma Restaurant, and West Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Claremount House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Saint Nicholas' Collegiate Church (3.5 km), The Medieval City Walls (4.0 km), and The Lynch Memorial (3.6 km).
All Galway HotelsGalway Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GalwayHotels near Claremount House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire