We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,099: English reviews
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for Aug bank holiday weekend.. Hotel was lovely, very clean and rooms were really comfy.. Dinner in the olive bistro was absolutely amazing! Highly recommend eating here and not waiting too long! The reason I would dock it a point is just minor things that cud be improved, understanding it was Also race week... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank annamarie87
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Annamarie, Thank you for your comments, firstly really glad to see that you enjoyed your overall experience. We have a new cocktail list in place and indeed some exciting new offers in Craft Beers & Ciders also. We have also extended the wine & dine offer to be available all day. We look forward to seeing you in Galway... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Myself my husband and my 7 month old baby stayed here for 1 night.we ate in the restaurant, food was edible but not great.service was very poor.i was half way through my dinner and the waiter asked was I finished.felt very rushed.maybe they wanted the baby out of the restaurant but it was only 6pm. when we were leaving we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace K
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. It was disappointing to read of your experience in our restaurant. Please be assured that we welcome children throughout the hotel. The charge for room service was unnecessary in this instance as you have rightly pointed out. These issues have been shared with the teams involved and hopefully corrected for future guests We... More 

Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely time in Galway at the Pillo. The staff were very nice and friendly and made our stay so enjoyable. Everything was really clean. Would definately come back. Free parking and easy in and out. Easy to find right beside the roundabout.

Helpful?
Thank 3lads
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such nice comments. It is nice to hear positive feedback especially about our staff. We look forward to seeing you in Galway again soon. Siobhan Burke General Manager More 

Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Arrived at hotel for mid week break at start of Aug.first day all ok,,2nd day we came back after been in galway shopping.to find air con was not working,we instantly informed reception and housekeeping.got call back from male manager who informed us it wouldn't be back for a few days.most unhelpful manager as he would not locate a fan for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mckw17
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologise for the lack of air conditioning on your 2nd day. It was very unfortunate that we experienced this problem and we worked to get it repaired as quickly as we could. I am sorry that you had an issue with receiving a fan. I am glad that Arlene located one for you. On the plus side,... More 

lismore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for Galway races. Happy enough with our stay. Breakfeast was excellent & our evening meal, staff polite & helpful. However bar area lacking athmosphere, compared with the Menlo Hotel across the road which we went to on one night, which notably was the complete opposite! Beadrooms were very comfortable, except for the air con...noisy & when... More 

Helpful?
Thank christinalismore
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Christina, Thank you for your kind feedback about the staff and your dining experience. It was disappointing to hear that you did not find atmosphere in the bar and that you found the AC in your room to be noisy. I have noted your feedback on these. However, I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with... More 

Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

From arriving at the hotel I was a little surprised at the quality as the website is very misleading as are the photographs. The room we got had been well used. Race week took it's toll over the years. Very poor quality and uncomfortable. Bits and pieces falling apart and a double bed made of two uneven singles. Fabulous restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank De_Long_Lad_87
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind feedback about our restaurant and the staff. I will pass on your comments to the team. It was disappointing to read that you found some issues in your room as we are normally complimented on the standards of our rooms, as you can see from many of our previous reviews. I would... More 

Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night with my mother. It was her birthday treat. A Night away in Galway for her 60th. I just wanted somewhere reasonable with nice food and a spacious quiet room. Upon arrival i quickly discovered the entire hotel was boiling hot. Our room was insufferable and the air conditioning did not work. I asked at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amihill
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apologies for the lack of air conditioning in your room during your nights stay with us. I do appreciate that it made your stay less enjoyable. Unfortunately, it was out of our control, however, we got the situation resolved as quickly as we could. I am sorry that you felt your complaint could have been dealt with... More 

Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Pillo Hotel on July 5/14. The hotel is in a great location. Within walking distance from shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. There is air conditioning in the rooms and ice machines on the floors (not common in the hotels we stayed in while in Ireland) Complimentary Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank JRodway2014
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our location, the standards in your room and throughout the hotel, including the complimentary wi-fi. I hope that you had a lovely trip to Ireland. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager More 

Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Pillo Hotel is well situated within a short walk of Galway city centre. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. The shower is over the bath but worked fine and both the room and bathroom were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel both mornings of our stay and it was excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mo_gormley
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay. It is always nice to hear when our guests are happy and especially when they say that they will choose us as their accommodation option for their next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Galway. Kind Regards, Siobhan Burke General Manager More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in the hotel the night before a wedding as it was a ideal location to the city for hairdresser etc the following morning. Nice modern hotel. lovely clean spacious room. had previously heard good reports, looks to have a fab spa Free underground car parking.Friendly people on reception however some of the staff in the restaurant could learn a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gracetipp
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Grace, Thank you for your kind feedback about your room and the service you received at reception. I apologise that you did not feel that the restaurant service was to the same standard. It was disappointing to read this as we generally do receive positive feedback about the team. Your comments have been shared and acted on since you... More 

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
950 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,485 reviews
3.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Galway
1,156 reviews
2.1 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €59 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Courtyard
Galway Marriott
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#12 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Business Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor suite and deluxe king room lovely”
 of 5 bubbles katy4cmn, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“our room was overlooking air conditioning units at back which emitted a constant hum though not noisy enough to keep awake”
 of 5 bubbles 800mariang, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a tub as they have great soaking tubs”
 of 5 bubbles LornaKayT, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor prob best and to back as cars passing at front. Spa on 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles gtgallagher, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Really comfy beds, we all slept well”
 of 5 bubbles PDMLewis, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay