We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Show Prices
#14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,522: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The interior of the G was fantastic & I loved walking through the different rooms. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff at the desk were welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful & the breakfast was delicious and varied. I feel like I might be nit picking a bit but we had asked for champagne in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKoalaBear
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the unique decor and design of the hotel. Our team were delighted to have been considered helpful and welcoming. Please accept our sincere apologies that the wrong type of glasses were delivered with your Champagne and that the ice bucket was not up to the normal standard of...

dublin
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights midweek with my husband. Hotel was quiet enough being midweek but this didn't bother us. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, preferring to sample some of the many eateries in the city. The room was lovely, we stayed in a superior king room and had separate bath and shower I. The bathroom and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farrelsm
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at the g on TripAdvisor. Our bedrooms and bathrooms receive constant praise and we were so pleased that you enjoyed the room you were allocated. Our standard bedrooms do not boast the stunning views that your room benefited from. Our breakfast team were so pleased to read that...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night in June for my birthday. This was our first time staying but we are familiar with the hotel as we live in Galway! We were upgraded to a luxury room which was beautiful, spacious, bright and had all the facilities you could wish for in a top class hotel. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us at the g. We were delighted to read how well our team looked after you and that you enjoyed all the facilities the hotel boasts. Our team were so pleased to be mentioned in your review. We have shared your wonderful feedback about our bedrooms, bathrooms, breakfast and...

Reviewed 8 July 2014

...... of a shopping centre car park. Not what I expected for €300 for one night. Very poor value for money and not at all a 5 star experience. Also carpet was stained in the bedroom. On the plus side my wife enjoyed restaurant and prices were reasonable

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank venividi70
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Naturally we were all greatly upset to read that you were not entirely impressed with certain aspects of your stay. The g is a city centre hotel which does limit the views available. However many of our deluxe bedrooms and all our suites boast stunning views of Lough Atalia, which forms part of Galway Bay. Please accept our...

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was fun because it is half menu and half buffet, all for the same price. The beds were very nice, made it hard to get up and start the day and I mean that in the most positive way. The location was okay, the staff said it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cardak1990
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighted to read that you found our team welcoming and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. The hotel is a fifteen to twenty minute walk into the city centre but only a five minute car journey. We hope that we can welcome you back to the g again soon and that the weather will be slightly...

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner and had a brilliant time. The hotel is lovely, staff are very friendly, is in a good location and has free parking (got stung in Dublin extra £20 per night). Went to the thermal suite both days and it was absolutely amazing. I have never felt as chilled out as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JourneyBhoy
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were so pleased to read that you had a brilliant time with us in the g. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we were all pleased to read that you found time to visit our thermal suite in ESPA at the g. Your wonderful comments about our bedrooms, creative menu offerings and...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a girlie weekend away and it was very enjoyable. I loved the design of the hotel and unlike some of the other reviewers I thought it has a nice atmosphere. I couldn't get over how quiet it is at night and early morning which makes for a great sleep quality. The room was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LunanGirl
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to spend a weekend at the g with your friends. We were delighted to read that you loved the design of the hotel as well as its unique atmosphere. We have shared your kind comments about our bedrooms, menu offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and our Spa with all. We hope that you will stay...

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a stay at the g hotel with friends. Positives were the design, the rooms and the spa. Negatives were the poor atmosphere in the bar, the very very slow service at dinner and the overall feel of a well designed 4 star hotel rather than a true 5 star hotel. The hotel definitely has potential. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank W_TMV
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel as well as our beautifully appointed bedrooms and Espa at the g. Naturally, we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience in our Signature Lounges. We have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, David, for him to look...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Back for another wonderful stay in the G. Staff welcoming but unobtrusive and added a lovely personal touch of sending up personalised desert plates for my children. Without a doubt the classiest and most luxurious place to stay in Galway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frances579
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for returning to stay with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and that the team made your stay extra special and personable. We are all looking forward to your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it as...

Waimea, Hawaii
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lake view room that was spacious, modern and clean. Beds comfy, crisp clean linens and soft pillows. In room bar fridge, lots of storage, deep bath tub and walk in shower, turndown service at night. The modern air conditioning was a treat, many of the older hotels do not have AC and June was warm and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StacyFromHawaii
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were pleased to read you enjoyed our modern and spacious bedrooms. We have shared your kind words about our linens, amazing bathrooms and of course our arrival cupcakes with the entire team. Our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s is a great way to start the day. We have just added some new specials to our ESPA packages...

1,011 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (701)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (328)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
8.7 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
2.0 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,689 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €157 - €309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best view is to the front facing the river”
186maryn, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front of the hotel have windows that don't open and can get a little stuffy so a room at the back would a better option.”
DiamondDoll, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If it is a special occasion, make sure to contact the room for special arrangements.”
renatad150, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“views to rear of hotel :URBAN RETAIL VIEW...Industrial Estate..Room 220”
MCN121, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the lobby/if not, really long walk”
Bette1232016, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5