We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Skeffington Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Skeffington Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 414: English reviews
Start your review of Skeffington Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in this boutique hotel in Feb 2017. The hotel is centrally located on Eyre Square. We wanted a hotel where we could explore the nightlife in Galway without the need for taxis so this hotel was perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast the next morning was delicious with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1907Dee
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1907Dee, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I was glad to read that your group had an enjoyable stay with us. I will make sure to pass your kind comments...

Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel with room overlooking Eyre Square. The room was quite spacious with clean linen and a large bed with satellite TV and free WiFi included. Free tea and coffee in room and ample wardrobe space with hairdryer etc. Bathroom was very clean but could have done with a few extra towels. Very central to Galway city without the need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ger H
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ger H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and I'm glad that you got to experience everything that Galway has to offer. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't stay in the hotel, but went there for food both nights when we were in Galway for the weekend.I would highly recommend this place for food. There is a range of food on the menu, and everything looks and is delicious!! Nothing is too big of a bother for the staff. They are all friendly and up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenz240
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenz240, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with this pub, out for a few after work drinks we ordered a popular branded bottle beer and got a flat unrecognisable drink instead, the barman did exchange for a fresh one but when it came to the next round it was the same flat unrecognisable drink. Suspect that they are rebottling draft beer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit and apologies that you did not have an enjoyable time with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that such practices do not happen within our bar & we pride ourselves on serving quality drinks and food,...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

It was only a one night stay however the location is ideal and within the city centre of Galway , the check in and check out were easy and fast. The room are tidy, cleaned and of a decent size. We needed a remote for the TV which the receptionist bring it to us right away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathon G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the near future. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly- The two girls at the front desk but otherwise. Falling asleep and only to be woken up with people coming back at 1am cursing and screaming for hours and singing karaoke the whole night until 4am when I had to get on a 9am bus to the Aran Islands the next morning. I told the staff about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelDanger
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AngelDanger, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies that on this occasion it was not a fully positive experience. I have passed your helpful feedback onto our front desk team and have also spoken to our night porter team. We would love the opportunity...

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Came to make an enquiry on staying for a few days in this central hotel. Was met by a very rude Steven. The hotel manager he informed me when i asked could i talk to someone else. We left without booking anything. Rudeness is unacceptable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob S, Thank you for taking the time to review The Skeffington Arms Hotel on TripAdvisor. Apologies that your experience was not an overly positive one and have spoken to the team member in question regarding this feedback. Kind regards, Ashling Dudley Guest Relations Manager

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This is a great location for lunch. They do one of the best carverys in Galway. We had lunch there on two recent Saturdays and the food was top of the range. The place is busy as you expect coming up to Christmas. The service and the food is excellent. I would very much recommend the Lamb, you wont beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westerntravelerah
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear westerntravelerah, Many thanks for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the food and service here on both of your visits and we look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels allow. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the staff. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas. Regards, Stephen Mc...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I'm a frequent customer of the carvery lunch which is served in the bar area. The menu is varied and prices reasonable but its a hit and miss from day to day, in that the vegetables have been cold on several occasions. The meat and potatoes are fine. I have informed the staff of this and they are happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _teachnaleachtai
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear _teachnaleachtai, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments along to our food manager here who will look at the matter further you can also reach her on: ashling@theskeff.ie if you would like to talk to her directly. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas, Regards, Stephen Mc Donald, Front Office Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel multiple times over the last couple of years. My latest stay was as excellent as ever. The service from checking in, to eating and drinking in the bar, to the breakfast was top standard. The location of the hotel is hard to beat. The Christmas market is basically on your doorstep along with multiple bars,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We are blessed with both a great location and a great staff and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Skeffington Arms again when your travels allow. With...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
564 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
805 reviews
0.1 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#34 of 47 in Galway
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
1,317 reviews
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,589 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €66 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skeffington Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't advise really- perhaps not to the front of the hotel at the weekend”
 of 5 bubbles AidanG819, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles indieannabish, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face out to the street to avoid noise from the nightclub etc”
 of 5 bubbles helenreilly_1980, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the middle of the building have no view but are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JeremyPaul99, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Reception will advise ... I think at the back (so no view of Eyre Square) and higher up. This wasn't an issue for us this time.”
 of 5 bubbles DO549, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5