Travelodge Galway
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge Galway

Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
€185
€180
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 45 hotels in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Street parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian

Location

Tuam Road Joyce Roundabout, Galway Ireland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Shannon Airport
65.3 km
See all flights
Knock Intl Airport
962Reviews8Q+A88Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 445
  • 278
  • 114
  • 61
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fiona King wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here back in February, I had a work function on in Galway. The room was fantastic. The staff was extremely helpful, they organised a taxi to pick me up and bring me into the city centre and also arranged to bring me back after the function. I could not get a taxi on the night as they were so busy. When I rang the hotel asking for a number for a taxi company they organised it for me. The hotel was spotless. We were hoping to be back in May. We will most definitely be back. Great staff and Management. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, it was excellent. The hotel was busy and we did not hear a sound all...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emilia M wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean rooms, extremely good food and all the staff is so friendly and welcoming. I have mobility problems so the staff offered me a room close to reception and restaurant to facilitate my needs. Restaurant manager was very helpful and helped me with breakfast because it’s self service so he brought me the food to the table . Everything was great overall
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from seamus McWilliams, General Manager at Travelodge Galway
Responded 1 week ago
We're thrilled to hear about your great experience at our hotel! Thank you for your kind words about our clean rooms, delicious food, and friendly staff. We're glad that our team was able to accommodate your mobility needs by offering a room close to reception and the restaurant. It's heartening to hear that our restaurant manager went above and beyond to assist you during breakfast. We're delighted that everything was great overall, and we hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jcurra479109 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant perfect stay
Excellent accommodation in great location.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful during this time
Minimum noise inside the hotel at night and it was Friday night.
Some road noise at the front but not an issues.. plesant sleep..
Definitely stay again and recommend the accommodation..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rhayde599727 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ignorant staff
No hot water
Loud noises
Doors slamming
People partying in rooms next door
Room filled with cigarette smoke on arrival and the next day.

Could not get hold of any staff at reception to address issues with. No one seemed to have any care once the check in process and money taking was done.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GalwayManagment, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Galway
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for contacting us in relation to your stay. We have a 24 hour reception and therefore somebody would have been there to resolve this issue and there is always hot water at the hotel. To get a direct response from management, please can you email us at galway@travelodge.ie and we will try resolve this matter for swiftly. Kind Regards, Reception Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aoife G wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would not recommend staying in this hotel , the staff , especially the manager were extremely rude on our arrival. Myself and my 2 friends stayed for one night and were greeted with nothing but disrespect. The manager made sure we had made our payment first before giving us a lecture about how young people (despite us being 22-23) have no manners by bringing a speaker and alcohol into the hotel. He also repeated the fact that he was a “3 star hotel” and that they had standards to maintain. We had no intention of disrupting other guests and that was made very clear to us during this “lecture”. The manager not once said to us to enjoy our stay or anything nice. We are local enough people and if we were not used to Galway we would never return. The rooms were bog standard and the bed sheets were smelly. I would recommend for people to pay an extra bit of cash to stay in a nicer hotel to avoid the rude staff as young people are seemingly not welcomed. Will not be returning to this travel lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Do not stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo riss wrote a review Aug 2023
Bern, Switzerland20 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was ok, but extractor in the bathroom didn't work. No problem if they just said "we are sorry, we can't fix this". Be just wanted to let them know because it rains a lot in ireland and our clothes always had to dry in the bathroom with the extractor on. we realised after 1 night that they were just trying to sweet talk us so we asked them about the extractor repeatedly since they always said it will be fixed. these are some quotes from the employee Jesus:
"Have you tried turning the light on?" (in a bathroom with no windows)
*comes to room to check if we turned light on* "oh you actually did try to put the light on...."
"it is definitely broken, but maybe if you go for a shower it will turn on?"
"i will try to have a guy look at it tomorrow"
"i can't give you a new room because we overbooked the hotel"
" i can't give you a new room because you obviously put your bags in this room already" (at 8 in the evening)
"you shouldn't complain, your company pays for your stay anyway" (we were 3 students on a holiday)
"why complain, you are from switzerland so you have enough money anyways"
"i will try to get the guy to it tomorrow" (he said that repeatedly)
Next day we dealt with other people, 1 also went to the room and confirmed the extractor broken. the next employe actually called the manager, who said the extractor worked perfectly fine. then they gave the tip "maybe let it run for a couple of hours i am sure it will then turn on".

quite a ridiculous experience. would not recommend this travellodge in particular, and would probably not stay in any other travellodge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tourismlover3005 wrote a review Apr 2024
Westport, Ireland3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely clean comfortable room. warm and inviting. Staff are friendly Quiet Accommodation. I would stay again. Certainly handy for city and in walking distance of public transport.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room are handy for a cup of tea and coffee in the morning for the get up and go.

Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pippopolidis wrote a review 21 May
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice hotel. Especially with little children. The shower is really big where you can wash your children easily. Nice bathroom. Rooms also really nice, big & proper. The noise from the road is totally ok, definitely not too noisy...even with opened window. The staff offered us a deal for breakfast. Well done! One of our best hotels during our 3 weeks round trip through Ireland and we had a lot of 4**** stars hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda F wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: Hotel was clean, staff was great. They have security so no one who doesn’t belong can come into the building after hours. This made us feel very safe!

Cons: hair dryers overheat very easily. Hotel rooms are way too hot (like you may wake up completely soaked on a fall night with the windows open hot).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t be concerned about how far it is from city center, it’s within comfortable walking distance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from seamus McWilliams, General Manager at Travelodge Galway
Responded 13 Feb 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Travelodge Plus Galway. I'm glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and that the staff provided excellent service. Additionally, having security measures in place to ensure safety adds to the peace of mind for guests, which is fantastic. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the hair dryers overheating easily. I'll be sure to pass this feedback along to the management team so that they can address the issue promptly. Furthermore, I'm sorry to hear that the hotel rooms were uncomfortably hot. It sounds like the heating system may need adjustment or additional measures may need to be taken to regulate room temperature more effectively. Your feedback is valuable, and we will use it to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more comfortable stay in the future. If you have any further concerns or feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex P wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went for 2 separate nights with my wife and the hotel didn’t disappoint.
Food was great , breakfast was amazing and dinner as well. The prices for food are very good in the hotel and quality of it as well so we preferred to eat here rather than outside. Will definitely be back soon .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Busy breakfast so the earlier you are the better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from seamus McWilliams, General Manager at Travelodge Galway
Responded 1 week ago
We're delighted to hear that you and your wife had such a fantastic experience during your stays with us! Thank you for your kind words about our food, both breakfast and dinner. We're thrilled that you found the prices reasonable and the quality excellent, making it your preferred dining choice during your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from DawnM
Birmingham, United Kingdom67 contributions52 helpful votes
Hi We didn’t have a dog so I don’t know about the rules. Sorry
Answer from GalwayManagment
Galway, Ireland
Hi Robert, You can bring your cat with you! There are just a few conditions: 1. There is a once off Pet Payment of €20 to be paid upon arrival. 2. While in public areas, your cat must be kept in a Pet Carrier at all times. 3. There are no pets allowed in to the Bar/Restaurant, even if they are in Pet Carriers. 4. Your cat must be put into your Pet Carrier if you are leaving it alone in your room for any amount of time. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind Regards, David Reception
Answer from Declan B
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
Stores are a bit of a walk , maybe even a 10 min taxi drive
Answer from GalwayManagment
Galway, Ireland
Hi Buddy, Looks like you beat me to the punch with getting our number for you (0035391 781400). Thanks for your call! Seamus McWilliams General Manager
Phyllis R wrote a tip 21 May
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Extra pillow would have been nice "
Read full review
Alex P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Busy breakfast so the earlier you are the better "
Read full review
Aoife G wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay "
Read full review
Amanda F wrote a tip Sept 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be concerned about how far it is from city center, it’s within comfortable walking distance."
Read full review
pirtrosi wrote a tip Sept 2023
Vancouver51 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Room 10 in hot weather - you'll need to open the windows and there's considerable machinery noise from outside (No air con in Room 10)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galway area.
PRICE RANGE
€115 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge galway hotel galway, travel lodge galway, galway travel lodge, galway travelodge
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE GALWAY - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Galway
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Galway?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Reality World (0.2 km), The Huntsman Inn (0.2 km), and Bohermore’s Victorian Cemetery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Galway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Galway?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge Galway?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Galway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rockin’ Joe’s Diner, The Huntsman Inn Restaurant, and Khow Thai restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Travelodge Galway?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Travelodge Galway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge Galway?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Galway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Medieval City Walls (1.2 km), The Lynch Memorial (1.6 km), and Nora Barnacle House Museum (1.6 km).
Is Travelodge Galway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Galway HotelsGalway Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GalwayHotels near Travelodge Galway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire