We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barnacles Hostel Galway
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barnacles Hostel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay at Barnacles! The staff was super friendly, the wifi was good and the breakfast provided was just enough food! My group of 5 was in a 12 person room which was sort of a bummer since our schedules kind of conflicted but everyone staying there was very nice/understanding when we had to be up earlier...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobpin
Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location good breakfast and amazing staff. The room was very clean and a private bathroom for 6 beds (that's luxury ) . The hostel is renovate and very functional with plug for every bed and light.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank estellel824
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Estellel824 Thanks for leaving your wonderful review of your stay at our hostel. We are delighted to hear your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Regards ~Team@barnacles

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at barnacles in a private room with my old man. Staff were happy to amuse the old boy by answering his many many obvious questions. Which was really polite. The room was decent. What you'd expect. Exhaust fan however was the best I've ever seen. Old man did about his business in the morning and I went in straight...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel_ayo
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Daniel_ayo Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us. Supermacs burgers aren't so bad. We have found a few local curry houses challenging in the past but we are now confident our refurbished bathrooms can handle any challenge!;) Thanks for staying. Regards ~Team@barnacles

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here for our trip in Galway. Location of Hostel couldn't be any better! Room and bathroom is clean apart from the shower was awful! You had to keep holding the button to keep the water flowing and then also get in first for it to be freezing to wait for it to warm up...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca_1510
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Becca_1510 Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your feedback about your stay. Sorry to hear about the issue with your shower. We did have an problem with showers in one section of our building recently which we have since fixed. I am very sorry you were affected by this. Our neighbours at the Spanish Arch hotel are...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely loved the Barnacles Hostel! Very central location, nice rooms and friendly staff! Sadly the pancake machine didn't work as well, but besides that we had a very enjoyable stay at this hostel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leoniev283
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Barnacles hostel for 2 nights in a 12 bed dorm room. Rooms are clean, beds comfy, and it is really nice that room has its own toilet and showers. The location is the best part of the hostel, close to pubs and all sites. Staff was also very nice and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zmajuljak1
Lidija R, Public Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Zmajuljak1 Thank you for leaving a lovely review of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards ~Team@barnacles.ie

Spiddal, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel was amazing and I was staying there with some friends. It was pretty difficult to make friends at the hostel but since I was with a large group, it makes it more difficult to approach us. Galway is an amazing town and the location of this hostel can't be beat!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretsK4984RO
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi MargaretsK4984RO Thank you for your wonderful review of our hostel and we look forward to having you and your friends stay with us again in the future. Regards ~Team@barnacles

Santa Catarina
Reviewed 17 February 2017

2 nights without shower due to lack of hot water. Probably to save energy. What a nightmare! Rooms were dirty. Staff was helpful and friendly. I would niver recommend Barnacles as hot water in winter season is a basic need.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edivanc2017
Lidija R, Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Edivanc2017 Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are sorry to hear there was an issue with hot water in your shower. Had to let us know at the time we would have been happy to move you to another room or arrange use of another shower. We fully understand the importance of hot showers...

Nice, France
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The Hostel was nice, and the staff kind. The room was cleaned but a little bit exsposed to noises of other rooms (up and nearby). The breakfast was a little bit poor. very good location near all main pubs and restaurants

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank valentinapI9851BW
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 February 2017

A group of us travelled from Dublin for one night in Galway. Hostel were very accommodating with regards moving check out to 12pm instead of half 10. Rooms are a tight squeeze,and were a bit cold during the night.but the hostel is in a great location and cheap and cheerful!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Hi Caroline M Thanks for leaving a review of your groups stay with us. We are sorry to hear you were cold during the night. We have portable room heaters available at reception but I realise this may not have been convenient for you to arrange at the time. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. Besides this I hope your group...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,639 reviews
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,605 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
815 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €25 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor is a lot quieter than the others”
 of 5 bubbles FeistyOFlahula, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i stayed at the back which is away from street”
 of 5 bubbles katemA5672OI, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All floors are very cramped and creaky - Plan on spending most of your time outside!!”
 of 5 bubbles 729marissag, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book the apartment behind the hostel. Expect nightlife noise on the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room away from 7am loud radio at reception”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieg698, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5