We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of Sleepzone Hostel Galway
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Felt there wasn't enough space for personal belongings. No secure spot for valuables. Common areas nice and comfortable with many sockets for charging phones etc. Unlimited tea, which is always good. Staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedfordChase
Canberra
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel itself is pretty average. The rooms are very small, totally fine if you only have a very small case. But my partner and I had been living in London for two years before doing two months in Ireland, which meant we had two biggish packs (quite normal sized 70litre). And it was really hard to find any space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I'd never stayed in a hostel before but I know people that have and it can sometimes be an awful experience, but i can gladly say my stay here was more then comfortable. The price paid is a little expensive but compared to some hotels in the city it was fine. I shared a room with my 5 friends in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I spent one night here as part of a tour, so can't comment on the price. Was in a 10 bed dorm. The room was pretty crowded with bunks and there were no lockers to store your stuff, so bags were everywhere. And it meant there was no way to secure your items while out other than using the downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieGirl7
Spain
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stayed there over weekend with some friends. Staff is friendly always with a smile looking in their faces and trying to help. Rooms are big enough, with a big window and modern bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price but it is very simple, not complaining tho. Just a a suggestion It will be really nice to have a bin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio M
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The staff were extremely rude, intrusive and abusive. 8 of us booked in. The rooms were extremely small for 8 people, let alone 8 cases. Rooms were cold also and blankets were thin. Toilet roll was not Changed once and towels were not provided. Shower flooded every time someone used it. There were dirty leftover socks and a teeshirt under...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline O
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review

We would like to address some of the points raised in your review, and a few points you failed to mention. Abusive behaviour to our staff and persistent breaking of our house rules WILL NOT BE TOLERATED. Your group were caught on several occasions sneaking extra guests into the room, and we had numerous noise complaints regarding the loud music...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My friend and I stayed in the Sleepzone Hostel in November 2015. We stayed there for only 9 or 10€ a night. It's a cheap place, so you shouldn't expect too much. Typical Hostel breakfast: toast with jam, cornflakes and tea (included in the price). Rooms were okay (no lockers). Unfortunatelly we had a very smelly companion in the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neele B
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Our complimentary breakfast consists of toast, spreads, cereal/milk, tea, filter coffee and hot chocolate. We do offer a fully equipped self catering kitchen should guests wish to prepare any food themselves. Although we do not have lockers located in...

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

They dont have any towels and napkins not even to dry your hands. The room was cold and did not heat until all 10 people where in the room so bring pajamas. Bring an extension coard because there not enough electric sockets for everyone. Otherwise relatively clean and very friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hafdis
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some constructive feed back. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have towels available to borrow from Reception for a €2 hire charge. Some of our rooms have less power sockets than others, which we are hoping to upgrade later in the year. All of our rooms are...

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We first got there and our room had something spilled on the carpet that looked like it could of been vomit. there's was just a towel thrown over it and 1 week later we are still waiting for the return of our deposit been told now it could take 10+ days. I asked about the deposit when we arrived the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conor H
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The security deposit for your group was a pre-authorisation. This process holds that amount on your card and automatically releases it after a number of days. Any pre-authorsation on a card, whether at a hotel, hostel or car rental follows this same process, and our staff would not have advised you that the funds would...

Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

If you are travelling on a budget Sleepzone is perfect. Seven of us got a room with 8 beds at €26 per person per night. We had our own showers and toilets. However, the carpet in the room was dirty, and the bed linen had holes in them. Hot water did a disappearing act on our third night for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmeenah G

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,690 reviews
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
832 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €22 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sleepzone Hostel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Busy at breakfast times so would need to think wisely about that.”
631laurenv, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose ensuite rooms as they dont have male and female showers on every floor”
ishwarit, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Apartment!”
jaynen308, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 and 6 are attached, great for groups”
Amyglees, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Go to the kitchen”
961lucasd, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5