We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Dean Galway 80 Prospect Hill Centre, Galway H91 T9C4 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$142
TravelocityUS$203
Orbitz.comUS$203
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#36 of 48 hotels in Galway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We don’t do conventional. We do fun. Our brand new hotel is Galway’s first ever design – led boutique hotel. This new Galway hotel will offer super comfortable bespoke hotel rooms that are filled with gadgets, treats and plenty of stuff to make you smile. A slice of boutique bliss in the heart of Galway, one of Europe’s friendliest cities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Rooftop terrace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Business
71Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 3
  • 12
  • 6
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ken O wrote a review 13 Nov
Genoa, Italy135 contributions88 helpful votes
Great hotel perfect location perhaps it could be a little more dusting done on the shelf in the rooms all in all very clean, small rooms but perfect for an overnight or 2 night stay Staff are very friendly and all in all good value Reception staff are very good with a very relaxed atmosphere the entire hotel works incredibly well
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for this lovely review Ken.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niallo wrote a review 3 Nov
Skerries, Ireland
+1
We arrived in Galway just before the a stormy weather - Tuesday. Adian helped us enormously! We were travelling with our 9 year old daughter and she not the easiest to travel with. We got to neighbouring rooms and visited sophie’s in the rooms they have vinyl records. the rooms were amazing 😻 I had a black sabbath album in my room which I loved and my daughter had Elvis in hers! Which she adored after she over came the dealing with record playing technology! Amazing vibe in the place very relaxed. Loved the gym and the breakfast was to die for everything worked out great!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bring swimming gear. To use the pool!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this amazing review, we are delighted that you loved The Dean! I think Adian might be Enda is we have no Adian on the Reception team. Enda does look similar to Jesus as it happens :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen V wrote a review 1 Nov
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania82 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We recently returned home after a lovely week trip to Ireland. During our travels we spent 3 nights at this vibrant hotel. The room itself was small but well decorated, comfortable bed and cozy linens. Room came equipped with a mini fridge filled with moderately priced beverages as well as a wall of snacks to purchase. Plus there was a Taylor Swift record for the record player! At night we could hear a good amount of noise from fellow hotel guests in the hallways and surrounding rooms. We dined at Elephant & Castle twice and very much enjoyed each of our meals! The drink menu was decent and service was friendly. There’s a coffee shop in the lobby as well as a more upscale restaurant on the top floor. The hotel is a short walk from the main attractions in Galway city, if anything we preferred to be a bit further away from the noisy pubs. Would recommend this hotel for a few evenings in Galway! Side note: this hotel has a beautiful fragrant scent that hits you the moment you walk in!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kathleen, thank you so much for your feedback and lovely review :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louiscole wrote a review 1 Nov
Claremorris, Ireland18 contributions45 helpful votes
Myself and my two friends stayed one night which was enough. On entering the hotel it's a nice trendy place. We checked into our room which was small. We had only 4 hangers to hang our clothes, nowhere to put our bags, 2 single beds and a pullout bed, like other customers the record player was very unnecessary as was the radio. We had dinner in The Elephant and Castle which was terrible. It was cold so we sent it back but it was still cold. The breakfast was also terrible, sausages not cooked properly, no selection of breads or juices, definitely won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Eat before you go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for you feedback Louis. Our Super rooms, to be honest, are not really suitable for three adult guests, unless you are happy with a tight squeeze to reduce the cost per person. Adding a rollaway bed and additional luggage will impact the amount of floor space that you have in the room. We do not have triple rooms but our suites do have a sofa bed in them and would have been more suitable for your needs. I've noted that when we do have more than 2 guests in a room extra hangers should be automatically added to the room before you check in. Sorry for this oversight, we have a hep of hangers in storage so you can have as many as you need. We apologise that you found the food cold in E&C, I will follow up with the team on this. Our Breakfast is a la carte. We do have a selection of fresh juices and pastries available however it is not a buffet style breakfast so they are not on display or self-service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brendan E wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland10 contributions17 helpful votes
We ate in Elephant and Castle when in Galway and it was without doubt one of the worst meals we had ever been presented with. The food was really poor as was the service....to the extent that customers were going up to the bar to retrieve their own drinks that had been left sitting there on a tray as there were such delays in them being brought to the table. My main complaint however is that in spite of me sending two mails outlining what happened to rhe contact mail on the Press Up group's website I did not even receive the courtesy of a reply.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 4 weeks ago
We have since communicated via email and we have offered a discount on the bill and complimentary wings on a future visit in December as an apology. As this is a public review I think it's important so mention that this feedback is from a visit 6 months ago to Elephant & Castle not long after we opened. I cannot investigate this as it was so long ago and nothing was mentioned to the team on the night in question in order for us to make this right for you at the time. You stated that whilst you were unhappy with a couple of the dishes that were served, you mentioned that the team member who served you was very pleasant and your main complaint was that you did not receive a response to the email that you sent to an address that you found on the Press Up group website. This email does not appear to have made its way to the team in Galway hence no reply was received. We reply to all feedback received either direct to us at the hotel or via third party websites. We hope that we will be able to turn this around on your next visit to us in December. Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mbe wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Really nice place to sit, clean and good music. Extremely over priced. I paid €2 for a tiny pot of garlic dip and wasn’t hungry by the time my chips came out 30 minutes after ordering. Staff were nice and the drinks were tasty but staff clearly upselling everything made it uncomfortable. Lots of potential but didn’t meet expectations for price and hype.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the feedback, we are sorry that there was a delay with the food service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine wrote a review Oct 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania217 contributions183 helpful votes
Over the past decade, I've stayed at almost all of Galway's city center hotels and was most excited for the opening and my booking at The Dean Galway. It looks contemporary and sleek, this is a much different vibe than other near by options. I booked two night SupeRoom with breakfast for over €400 per night and I'm thankful it was only two nights. The room was tiny, no place to put your suitcase, let alone two. EVERY SINGLE space in the room has something already there and most of it is for sale. I question the cleanliness of the room, on the second day I opened the minbar to find a half bottle of open wine. The staff was friendly but wholly inexperienced. The front desk seemed to have one female staff member that knew anything about the hotel. Lovely view at Sophie's but no attention to detail at either breakfast or dinner. Checks were incorrect at each meal we had.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 16 Oct 2022
Thanks for the feedback Christine and I'm really sad to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I will highlight the mini bar issue to our housekeeping team but please be reassured that the rooms are clean, I believe this to be an isolated incident where it was overlooked when the room was checked. We have two main rooms types in the hotel, Mod Pods and Super rooms - the Pod rooms are compact rooms whereas the Super rooms would be more like a standard hotel rooms. I do have to agree with you that our rooms are more suited to short stay guests without large suitcases. With that said we have clothing rails and luggage racks that we can add in to help and any items in the room that you don't need can be removed to give you more space. We have a really lovely team here at the hotel so thank you for highlighting the friendly staff! I believe the knowledgeable girl at the desk is likely our Assistant Front Office Manager who has been with us since pre-opening. Some of the team have only been with us a few months or weeks in some cases and are in the training phase. We don't always hire based on prior experience as the skills we can train but personality and attitude we cannot. We are only in our 6th month of operation so I am sure that with a little more time we will become a little more polished. I hope that you will give us another time on your next visit to Galway.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Oct 2022
Sitges, Spain608 contributions372 helpful votes
Was only staying one night so everything was fine. If my stay was longer I’d probably find the room a little bit tight for space. While the record player and vintage radio were neat touches they only really limited the amount of space to put things. If I had to open the PC it would have been a squeeze. Breakfast with the views of Galway was lovely. As always really nice staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 15 Oct 2022
Hey Steve, Thanks for the feedback. We can always remove the record player if you need more desk space to work. We are glad you had a good stay with us. Melanie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Orla W wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
So disappointing, 2 restaurant and neither can cater for ppl with allergies Staying tonight... Deliveroo to the rescue for dinner. Neither Sophie's roof top or elephant and castle could provide an allergy safe meal.. poor form... Poor management. Poor training
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 15 Oct 2022
Orla, I am really sorry about this and I will follow up with the team. We can of course cater for guests with allergies, we can't however guarantee that all items used in our kitchen are completely allergen free if they are not prepared onsite here. We can adapt dishes on the menu to make them suitable for allergy sufferers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara-QueensNYC wrote a review Oct 2022
Long Beach, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
Sexy, modern, comfortable. The hotel is new and stunning. Pretty restaurants. In a quiet part city centre. The hotel room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The tv was big and had lots of channels. The bed and bedding were super, towels were fluffy. Reception staff was professional and friendly. Shout out to Matthew at the front desk who was helpful and lovely. I’ve stayed in several city centre hotels the last few years and this was by far the best. Excellent value. Highly recommend for families, couples or with friends. I’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PressUp Hospitality, Owner at The Dean Galway
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback Tara!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DEAN GALWAY - Now €136 (Was €̶1̶9̶8̶) - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dean Galway
Which popular attractions are close to The Dean Galway?
Nearby attractions include Tribes Tours of Galway (0.4 km), Open The Door Escape Room (0.2 km), and O'Connell's Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dean Galway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Dean Galway?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Dean Galway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esquires Coffee (Galway), Apoema Bistro, and Zappi's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dean Galway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Dean Galway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Galway.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dean Galway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Medieval City Walls (0.3 km), The Lynch Memorial (0.6 km), and Kilconnell Franciscan Friary (1.5 km).