We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Eyre Square Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (218)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (228)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 45 hotels in Galway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Eyre Square Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Galway. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Rooms at Eyre Square provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at Eyre Square guests have access to room service. You can also enjoy a lounge. Close to some of Galway's most popular landmarks, such as St. Nicholas' Collegiate Church (0.3 mi) and Galway's Latin Quarter (0.3 mi), Eyre Square is a great destination for tourists. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Galway's popular oyster restaurants such as The King's Head, McDonagh's, and Hooked, all a short distance from Eyre Square Hotel. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular parks such as Eyre Square, Merlin Woods Park, and Barna Woods. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Eyre Square Hotel as you experience all of the things Galway has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1119Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 270
  • 303
  • 254
  • 134
  • 158
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TracyandJ0e wrote a review Feb 2024
Skipton, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is lovely, in a brilliant location . The ovous down side is the lack of parking . It's quite a hike to the nearest one . Rooms are nice , well equipped. But my the bar . It is lovely the staff are hard working and polite . Asked us for last orders at 12 and then literally started vaccuming round . Not what you expect at midnight in galway on a Fri night
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kate H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Once I walked in the door I knew this hotel was for me, lovely interior of both the resteraunt and reception ! Restaurant staff were so attentive and helped with all my questions. Food was delicious with great presentation. Will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay here!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian Buckley wrote a review Feb 2024
Limerick, Ireland8 contributions1 helpful vote
Firstly the ladies on reception and in the bar and breakfast area are extremely pleasant and welcoming. The restaurant and bar area excellent also and that's where the positivity ends. Stayed in room 310 after moving from a small sized room with small double bed, we expected a twin room, moving to 310 and the room keys didn’t work. Back to reception to get them activated again, again they didn't work so a staff member used a master key card to get us in. New cards issued then at reception, fingers crossed that they would work on our return in the evening. To the room now, bathroom door was damaged with the handle recessed into the inside of the door when it shouldn't be. Carpets were threadbare, filthy and ripped, window frame had beer stains on, walls were filthy, wallpaper peeling off and there was imprints from what looked like the bottom of a beer bottle. So to returning that evening, I returned at approximately 9.45/10am ,had a drink in the bar then went to my room, key card again did not work so another trip to reception and new cards issued again. Succes, I gained access, my brother in law returned at approximately 2am , his card didn’t function, had I not been in the room, he too would have had a trip to reception again. Breakfast was good, but overall things were not positive. I would not consider staying here again unless serious improvements are made in the rooms and room access.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel, Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com if you are travelling again to Galway. I would appreciate the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable experience of our hotel Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joanne S wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed over One Night February 2024. 3 Single Adults were stuffed into double room. Room prepped for 2 people. Extras eventually delivered in Tinfoil ? Reception insisted it slept 3. Only 2 beds !!! Toilet broken / what looked like pubic hair on toilet rim. Door to toilet can be looked through. Very noisy. Room 109. Old mattresses. Reception unhelpful to support a Triple room. Uncomfortable Stay. Last review nearly 3 years ago. This hotel has gone downhill it seems and really not customer focused. Money seems to be main priority here. With very little care for customer. Sticky tables unwashed in bar when we went to sit down after we returned from dinner. Reception staff/ Management did nothing to accommodate or make stay more comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel, Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com if you are travelling again to Galway. I would appreciate the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable experience of our hotel Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicola P Carney wrote a review Jan 2024
Drogheda, Ireland50 contributions59 helpful votes
I had always stayed here whenever I visited Galway but that was before Covid etc. However, I returned just this week and remembered why I always stayed here in the past. It's two minutes from the train station which was perfect as it was raining when I arrived, by train. I was starving and had the most beautiful soup in the lounge before heading out to the city centre. Because Storm Jocelyn was on her way, I decided to have dinner in the hotel that evening but felt a little sorry for myself as I had googled best restaurants in Galway and none of them mentioned my hotel. However, I was so glad I stayed 'home' as my dinner was delicious. As a vegetarian, I had the pear salad followed by the mushroom risotto and they were so good and just the right amount too. I usually avoid risotto as I find it too heavy but this was perfect. The staff were lovely too - in particular there was a brilliant girl working in the bar who looked after me for dinner. And the lounge is spacious and relaxing. My single room was spotless and had everything I needed. Honestly, this was a five star experience for me!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi NicolaP622, Thank you very much for your fantastic 5/5 review and for your fantastic endorsement of our hotel and for returning again to us after the Covid pause. I am very glad to see that you had an excellent stay with us despite Storm Jocelyn and that you were so well looked after and catered for as a vegetarian to your satisfaction. It is extremely reassuring to read such positive comments about our service minded team members and I trust it is not too long before you are able to take a trip to Galway again! Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrbr wrote a review Jan 2024
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in Eyre Square Hotel for two nights after Christmas. Location very central. No parking on site though and had difficulty finding the recommended car park in the local Shopping Centre. When we eventually found it we had to trek from the Shopping Centre to the hotel with our luggage in the lashing wind/rain. However hotel validates parking ticket for the recommended car park on departure so no costs involved which was great. We booked a double room – room/bathroom very clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Only minor negative point was that the TV was located away from the bed so there was no way you could chill out on the bed and watch TV at the same time. TV was fixed to the wall by a bracket and the simple solution would be to have a hinge bracket so you could angle the TV to watch it wherever you want in the room. Not a major issue – just our preference. Breakfast on both mornings was good – food nice and staff friendly and accommodating. Visited bar on one evening again bartender good and friendly but only a couple of people in the bar so it lacked atmosphere and we moved on elsewhere. Two negatives we found in the main hotel was the smell in the main lobby/stairwell - not a nasty smell - it was a sweet scented smell but overpowering. Also the lift was the slowest lift we ever experienced in a hotel – we were only on the second floor so mainly took the stairs but used it when bringing luggage to/from the room and on both occasions waited ages for it. Overall we found the hotel to be good - we enjoyed our stay and probably would return in the future if the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our great team. You will be pleased to know that we are now refurbishing 15 more of our bedrooms and as part of this refurbishment the New TV's will all be positioned facing the bed in the Room. We also recently had some preventative maintenance carried out on our guest lift however this has slowed its operation down and it has been noted by other guests also so I have asked the lift company to see if the speed it is operating at can be improved Thank you again and I hope that you will choose the Eyre Square Hotel again for your next stay in Galway Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
V W wrote a review Dec 2023
Perth, Australia3 contributions
The staff were excellent and the room was OK. However the noise was too much for us. We tried sleeping with ear plugs in the first night but the noise: from the bar (until 11:30 pm), crowds in the street, motor bikes revving up, street sweeper in the wee hours of the morning and the fire door slamming during the night, was too much for us. The staff offered to try and find a quieter room for us but we decided to forfeit the paid second nights accommodation and stay somewhere quieter. Everything else was OK so if you are used to sleeping in a noisy place then the accommodation is adequate. Tip - do not drive down the alley next to the hotel. We followed a car down the alley thinking we could drop our luggage off and found it is a dead end with no where to turn around. Several other cars followed us and we all had to back out of to the busy street to get out of the alley. Suggest just park in the Q park at the shopping centre and lug your luggage to the hotel. Reception have a system that uses your parking ticket to get free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel, Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com if you are travelling again to Galway. I would appreciate the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable experience of our hotel Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
khughe108916 wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
We went on this family trip to visit the Christmas markets and booked based on the hotel location. The room was small, cold and we found toenail clippings on the carpet. The double bed was collapsed at the bottom. The noise of the bar travelled very clearly through the floor which kept my 4 year old up until 11pm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel, Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com if you are travelling again to Galway. I would appreciate the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable experience of our hotel Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
elena wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
Very disappointing experience at the eyre square hotel. We have previously stayed at their sister hotel in salt hill which is fab. We paid €500 for two nights in November 2023. Upon arrival, we checked in to a double room when we had requested a twin. The room was so depressing, no natural light, old worn carpets and a bathroom that escaped from the 1970’s. The cleanliness was not great (I have attached a picture of the remote control).I was so surprised at the poor quality and the size of the room. I requested a move for a twin room which staff facilitated but again it was a double room and I was told there was nothing else available. The breakfast room is large and while I appreciate how difficult it is to heat a large room in winter, the room was cold. The food was below average so we didn’t dine for breakfast on our second day. Staff were polite and are working with what they have, which is not much. Overall a very disappointing stay and somewhere I would definitely not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t waste your money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel, Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com if you are travelling again to Galway. I would appreciate the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable experience of our hotel Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
brevindara wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Fantastic Staff and Location. Service and Friendliness was great from any member of staff that we met. It is right next to the train/bus station which is very handy! Our room was small, which was ok but the desk was too big for the room. Bed was very comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Hi brevindara, Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am very glad to see that you had an excellent stay with us and found our staff to be so friendly as well as our location to be so convenient It is very reassuring to read such positive comments about our knowledgeable team members and I trust it is not too long before you are able to take a trip to Galway again in 2024! Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Galway area.
PRICE RANGE
€114 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eyre square galway, hotel eyre square
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EYRE SQUARE HOTEL - Now €133 (Was €̶1̶9̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Galway, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Eyre Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Open The Door Escape Room (0.1 km), Tribes Tours of Galway (0.2 km), and Great Escape Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Eyre Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Eyre Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Eyre Square Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esquires Coffee (Galway), Alma Restaurant, and Zappi's.
Is Eyre Square Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Galway.
Are there any historical sites close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Medieval City Walls (0.04 km), The Lynch Memorial (0.4 km), and Nora Barnacle House Museum (0.5 km).
Does Eyre Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Eyre Square Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.