We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Forster Street, Galway H91 TCP0 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Expedia.com
US$141
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$136
View deal
Hotels.comUS$141
PricelineUS$159
Destinia.comUS$160
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (186)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (228)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#31 of 48 hotels in Galway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make Eyre Square Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Galway. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Rooms at Eyre Square provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at Eyre Square guests have access to room service. You can also enjoy a lounge. Close to some of Galway's most popular landmarks, such as St. Nicholas' Collegiate Church (0.3 mi) and Galway's Latin Quarter (0.3 mi), Eyre Square is a great destination for tourists. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Galway's popular oyster restaurants such as The King's Head, McDonagh's, and Hooked, all a short distance from Eyre Square Hotel. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular parks such as Eyre Square, Merlin Woods Park, and Barna Woods. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Eyre Square Hotel as you experience all of the things Galway has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1032Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 242
  • 293
  • 238
  • 114
  • 145
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
vinniehickey wrote a review Jan 2023
Clonmel, Ireland
Brilliant city, great hotel and great location 👍👍👍 Everything about Galway, that has being said is true, our first time and it will not our last, the walk to Salt Hill along the promenade to the pier was great👍
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Vinnie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your stay this weekend, I am glad to read that you had a great first time visit to Galway and cant wait to get back soon again. Our central location is very handy for all this great city has to offer Is mise le meas John Beattie Hotel Manager Eyre Square Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace Takken wrote a review Jan 2023
Cirencester, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Very central, really close to town but our room was very quiet. Really friendly staff and extremely accessible for my sister in her wheelchair. The room was really clean and the bathroom was immaculate! Reception let Us leave our bags as we arrived before check in time. They then called and told me the room was ready two hours before expected. Room was bigger then I had booked. All in all a really lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Grace, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the excellent experience that you and your sister had at Eyre Square Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you found the room accessible as well as so quiet and clean. We would be delighted to welcome both you and your sister back to Galway again! Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Finelia G wrote a review Jan 2023
Galway, Ireland1 contribution
Eyre Square in Galway is a lovely little square in the heart of the city. It's a great spot to relax and take a break, surrounded by restaurants and shops. I liked the design of the square, it was peaceful and serene.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Finelia, Thank you for your lovely review, I hope that it is not too long before you return to Galway again and get to enjoy Eyre Square again Is mise le meas John Beattie Hotel Manager Eyre Square Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lennart S wrote a review Jan 2023
Orsundsbro, Sweden137 contributions29 helpful votes
This hotel is situated at the very heart of charming Galway, with everything at short or modest walking distance. They provide excellent breakfast, cooked to order from a wide menu, as well as a decent restaurant service throughout the day and a well-stocked bar for evening drinks. They have also made helpful arrangements with a park-house a few minutes' away for free parking (if you have booked directly with the hotel, not through a booking portal!) I would not hesitate to give them 4 stars, had it not been for the next-to-terrible 3-bed room we (my wife and I) had had to book, as doubles and twins were unavailable, even though we booked months in advance. This room had obviously not benefited from a face-life for decades, and looked much more like a dated school dormitory than a guest room at a 3-star hotel in year 2022. Not recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not even think about booking a 3-bed room there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our kitchen and service team especially regarding our cooked to order breakfast. I apologize that you were so disappointed in the room that you received. The 3 triple rooms we have are scheduled for a full refurbishment in 2023. If you and your wife plan on coming back to Galway soon please let me know, I am also very sorry that we had not twins or doubles available for you at the time of booking. Galway has been extremely popular post covid and this along with our central location has meant very restricted room availability at times even months in advance. Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager Eyre Square Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackibrown1441 wrote a review Dec 2022
Disappointing.. No residents bar… No outside seated area for residents.. Smoking residents had to stand on the street regardless of weather.. on the plus side the food was very good and the staff were pleasant
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I have taken your comments on board regarding our outside smoking facilities and will bear this in mind during our refurbishment plans in 2023. I appreciate your comments about our staff and our food offering. If you are in Galway again please contact me on jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com and I would be happy to organise a gesture of goodwill Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eithne G wrote a review Dec 2022
Ireland2 contributions
Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast, kind helpful staff. What more can you ask for? Lovely stay all round. Great location on the square, Christmas markets were fab. We went to Elf Town in the racecourse well worth a visit, exceptional community effort. Kids loved the trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely 5 star review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel. I am very pleased to read your kind comments about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the Christmas events in Galway. It is always great to receive compliments with regard to the work we do in the hotel but when we get one that is as complimentary as yours it makes it all the more worthwhile. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel on many more occasions Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila D wrote a review Dec 2022
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The service for breakfast was horrendous. Waited almost an hour on the first morning for the breakfast to arrive. Tea & coffee was so watered down it was impossible to tell them apart. Breakfast arrived 15 minutes later and toast took another 15 minutes.. 2nd morning similar situation only this time the breakfast was stone cold. No point complaining to staff as they don't care. A total rip off.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us, If you are in Galway again please contact me directly on jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com and rest assured I will be delighted to arrange a gesture of goodwill given your previous dissatisfaction Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie M wrote a review Dec 2022
Great location, very central. Christmas market is right outside the door and every thing is I’m walking distance! The staff were friendly and the facilities were clean! The car park is about a 3 minute walk across the square which is the only slight downside but very manageable!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2022
Hi Jamie, Thank you so much for your great review, I am delighted to read that you had such a good time and found our central location to be so handy for the Christmas Market as well as all that Galway has to offer and also our facilities to be clean and comfortable. I hope that you get the opportunity to return to Galway again soon Is mise le meas John Beattie Hotel Manager Eyre Square Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph M wrote a review Dec 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina8 contributions1 helpful vote
This was my 3rd visit to the Eyre Square Hotel. Unfortunately, it was not my best. The biggest issue was WI-FI or lack there of in my room. When I told the front desk the first time, the gentleman asked me what room I was in and then checked his mobile phone. He then told me there have been no reports of issues in that room and told to disconnect and reconnect. Obviously I had already done that, but said I would. No success. When I mentioned it again to another desk associate, I was told they have intermittent issues with their WI-FI. Fortunately, i was able to connect via my cellular service and use my phone as a hot spot for my tablet. For the 4 nights of my stay, I never had WI-FI in my room. Speaking of my room, it was quite small but the biggest issue was there minimal room room on either side of the bed. In fact, there was not enough space on either side of the bed to walk between the bed and the wall. On a positive note, the Merchant Restaurant was very good and the housekeeping staff was also good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2022
Hi Joseph, Thank you for your review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel. I am very sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable time. I would appreciate it very much if you could contact me directly about this. My email address is jbeattie@eyresquarehotel.com Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fidelgrennan wrote a review Dec 2022
County Offaly, Ireland
We had a two night stay which we really enjoyed location hotel located in centre of Galway within walking distance of everything. Hotel was clean , quiet and service was excellent. Parking was free in local car park
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Eyre Square Hotel Team, Owner at Eyre Square Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely 5 star review of your stay at Eyre Square Hotel. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed it. It is always nice to receive compliments with regard to the work we do in the hotel but when we get one that is as complimentary as yours it makes it all the more worthwhile. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on many more occasions Is mise le meas, John Beattie Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eyre square galway, hotel eyre square
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayGalway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EYRE SQUARE HOTEL - Now €108 (Was €̶1̶2̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Galway, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Eyre Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Open The Door Escape Room (0.1 km), Tribes Tours of Galway (0.2 km), and Great Escape Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Eyre Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Eyre Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Eyre Square Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esquires Coffee (Galway), Apoema Bistro, and The Charcoal Grill Eyre Square.
Is Eyre Square Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Galway.
Are there any historical sites close to Eyre Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Medieval City Walls (0.04 km), The Lynch Memorial (0.4 km), and Kilconnell Franciscan Friary (1.6 km).
Does Eyre Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Eyre Square Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.