We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour Hotel Galway

Show Prices
#12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbour Hotel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbour Hotel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,314: English reviews
Wellington, co
Reviewed 11 October 2014

i was booked into this hotel for 3 nights in October 2014. The location is great - only a 5 minute walk to the city center The decor and rooms are good. They apparently book partied on the main floor week end nights and the noise virtually rocks the building keeping me awake until after 4 am the first night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noscreennanw
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Noscreennanw, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such close proximity to the city centre and all that Galway has to offer. We are disappointed to read that you encountered some issues with noise levels throughout your stay and that we failed in our efforts to...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 3 October 2014

10 JUL As you would guess from its name, this charming hotel sparkles from its perch on the harbor and is a short walk to the medieval section of Galway. It’s a thoroughly modern hotel that strives to provide excellent customer service, and delivers. Dan was so helpful to us; he actually guided us to the hotel via mobile phone...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SCValleyGirl
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear SCValleyGirl, Thank you for your very kind review. It is always a delight to read that we help in any small way towards making our guests feel welcomed and relaxed. We will pass on your kinds word to Dan on the front desk who is always delighted to assist in any way. Its great to read that you were...

Loveland
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

Easily the most modern style hotel we stayed at during our Ireland trip. The location was on the harbour, but our view was nothing special. Clean, comfy bed with robes and slippers provided for a nice touch. Did not eat here as Galway is full of great restaurants. But...we had a GREAT time in the hotel bar! The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank COmomma77
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear COmomma77, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed the hospitality of the bar and staff. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future. Warm Regards, Guest Relations Manager.

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2014

The hotel must have put all it's money into the lobby. The construction is poor. The bathroom sinks are installed crooked and there are missing tiles in the bathroom. The caulking and grout are coming apart due to water pooling. The bathroom floors are stained and chipped. The furniture is dodgy too. Beds are extra noisy and poor mattress quality(mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly M
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us we welcome all feedback as it identifies areas for potential improvement. We are disappointed to read that you encountered some issues with your room décor and cleanliness. We will highlight the issues to the housekeeping manager re the sink, tiles and grout. We also apologise...

potton
Reviewed 1 October 2014

A good Hotel, especially when considering it is a 3 star, I have stayed in 4 stars that have not been as good as this. Pleasant stay, good bed, nice bedding (that really matters to me). Bar area and reception nice, room overlooked car park with some very noisy people but that was the only complaint. I would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PhilPotton
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear PhilPotton, Thank you for your lovely review, delighted that your expectations were met and hopefully exceeded during your stay. Apologies for the noise level experienced, however it seems as if this did not mange to dampen your overall experience. Delighted to read that you would return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please...

boulder colorado
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Walking distance to everything you need. Good customer service and great complete breakfast with lots of choices. Easy to find and close to where coach or train come into town. You can walk to bus that takes you to the Aran Islands. Reasonably priced and clean and functional. I even got a view of the boats in the harbor. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sapcolorado
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear sapcolorado, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Harbour. We are very conveniently located to the city and all that it offers. We are happy that you experienced good service and you were pleased with the breakfast choice. We are thrilled to read that...

Hemet, California
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late August for two nights, and thought it was a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. (I asked for Tabasco out of habit for my scrambled eggs, and they had it - Tabasco in Ireland) The staff were friendly and quite helpful. When we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank suitcase-in-tow
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear suitcase-in-tow, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your words of praise to all the staff especially the restaurant breakfast and our front office teams. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near...

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We spent two nights here. The hotel is in a great location, close to the city center and Eyre Square. We came in by bus and could easily walk to the hotel. It's just outside the city center so you can take advantage of the shops, restaurants and pubs without nightlife noise. The room was very nice and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cooraclare
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear cooraclare, Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments to share with our team. We are very fortunate to be located in such close proximity to the vibrant lively city centre of Galway and all that it has to offer. I will make sure that I pass on all your lovely comments to all our team,...

Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We had a hen party at the Harbour Hotel last weekend. It was brilliant from start to finish. Front Office staff were friendly and professional. We had the Karl for cocktail making and he was very good! Rooms were lovely and food was good. It's always difficult tog ingle out individuals, but Nigel, Alan, Karl, Marie and Sean were particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Flame15
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear YvonneG001, Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly. It’s great to read so many names, we will ensure that each member of staff receive your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Guest Relations...

Coeur D Alene
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This a great place to stay for a walking tour of Galway. Rooms were average with good beds. Bad lighting in the bathrooms-- enough to make a man start a beard and a woman go without makeup or comb! Excellent breakfast served by a staff anxious to be somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cdafloathouse
HarbourGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review

Dear cdafloathouse, Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are fortunate that we are in an ideal location so close to the city centre, with bars, shops and restaurants on our doorstep. As for the lighting in your bathroom, this is not a common complaint...

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,647 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,607 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,817 reviews
7.3 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,605 reviews
0.5 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: €85 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Hotel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view of city”
 of 5 bubbles Z1169OQdavidn, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tribeton is a really cool classy bar/venue literally a 3 minute walk around the corner.Perfect for couple/girls night out/group nights out.”
 of 5 bubbles Maccers2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Business-only, not pleasure”
 of 5 bubbles J1642DClisaw, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be wary of the size room you book.”
 of 5 bubbles gottagotobali, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Come in the summer when you don't need heating !!”
 of 5 bubbles DevonGazza, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5