We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Eccles Townhouse

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#9 of 47 guest houses in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An elegant Victorian townhouse, this boutique accommodation is located in the Cultural Quarter in the heart of Georgian Dublin’s City Centre. The Cafe Bar on the ground floor of Eccles Townhouse retains its 19th-century public bar house features. It provides traditions Guinness on tap with craft beer alongside pizza and panini. Let our barista make you a Java® Coffee as you relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Safe
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese
137Reviews9Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 40
  • 17
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Danielle D wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I could not recommend Eccles enough! My dad and I stayed as my mam was in the Mater for surgery. We were greeted with such warmth and kindness on arrival after a long drive up.Everyone was so helpful as we were unsure of how long we needed to stay, there was no issues with anyone we spoke to. It was such a relief to know we could check back in if needed. Breakfast was fab and again every staff member we met were so lovely to us. Thank you so much Tom and team. I highly recommend a stay here especially if you have someone in the Mater, so close to the hospital you don’t need to worry about driving back and forth or getting public transport.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
permia wrote a review Jan 2024
Ireland40850 contributions2553 helpful votes
Conveniently located close to the centre, it was great to arrive at this traditional hostelry for a sustaining start to the day. In an atmospheric and traditional dining area, an ample breakfast choice is to be had. Deciding on porridge and an egg dish, with cappuccino and tea, was rewarded with very tasty food. Although busy, staff were grand; friendly and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thanks so much Permia... we're delighted you enjoyed your visit... all the very best, Tom
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
russell c wrote a review Nov 2023
australia419 contributions186 helpful votes
Great stay in an expensive city. There’s no normal reception, but cafe staff look after guests and a great. Breakfast is also in the cafe and there are four delicious choices (it’s a little late starting for tourists at 8.00am). Also there are no lifts but only two floors above the ground floor, so not too bad. Location is good, and very convenient for the city centre and the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Thanks so much Russ Australia... delighted you enjoyed your stay...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stephrob53 wrote a review Oct 2023
Marion, Iowa219 contributions105 helpful votes
Loved this property. Great little cafe downstairs. Clean and comfortable rooms. It is in a great location and easy to walk to most things. Airport bus comes right outside. Wonderful breakfast with very nice staff! Good communication. Would stay again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 4 has two big windows
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mobile526627 wrote a review Aug 2023
Waterford, Ireland4 contributions
+1
check was in the cafe the person on duty was very busy had to wait , the room was not clean , wardrobe used to store shades, toilet dirty, mattress and cover stains on both, Shower, net curtains dirty
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Have Someone on duty for checking in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John O Loughlin wrote a review Apr 2023
Sligo, Ireland11 contributions9 helpful votes
Made a booking with booking.com for €129.60.on arrival I was charged 149.60. Receptionist telephoned the owner to give me an option of a refund and leave .On speaking to the owner he continually accused me of inferring he was dishonest and refused to discuss to price change ,saying he could get a better a much better price for the room .I refused a refund as finding alternative would prove difficult as I am in my late eighty’s and have limited mobility.Original price charged ,after I would seek alternative measures to recover same.Key to room opened another bedroom beside room no.1.I understand there are 7 bedrooms,and I do not know whether the same key opens all doors .During the night I was awakened by someone trying to enter my room either inadvertently or purposely.I did not get and sleep fearing for the safety of my wife and I. .Will not be returning to the Townhouse due to serious breach of security,nor would I recommend to anyone who are concerned for their safety and possessions.Very good breakfast served by efficient and courteous staff
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware insecure rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 9 May 2023
Dear Monreel. Thank you for your review. It contains even more fabricated lies than the one you left on booking.com and you conveniently omit several pretty important facts. 1. You requested a room different to the one you actually reserved and were made aware via booking.com messenger of the 20e premium for this before you arrived for check-in. 2. You received the 20e refund. 3. You refused to leave and hung up the phone, which you commandeered from my colleague. 4. You harassed, bullied and intimidated all my colleagues for the duration of your stay. 5. Your allegation that your room key opened other rooms is completely untrue and in fact it was you who attempted, unsuccessfully to enter other guests rooms. Your behaviour has been reported to both booking.com and TripAdvisor and you are certainly not welcome, ever again in the Eccles Townhouse, as we would rather have an unoccupied Room than have to endure you as a guest, again. The very best of luck to you, have a nice life.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
juls1809 wrote a review Mar 2023
North Wales, United Kingdom222 contributions128 helpful votes
Stayed at this townhouse for two nights over St Patrick’s day weekend to celebrate my sisters birthday. Location is good, short walk to Grafton Street. Room was clean, plenty of towels, hot water. Bed was comfortable, and bedding nice. Plenty of tea and coffee, and bottled water. Room was tiny, but ok as we were only sleeping in it. This town house is on the main road, and the street is busy, so very noisy. Earplus provided. Nice touch. Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice. Staff really friendly, and nothing too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not suitable if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much juls1809... it was a pleasure looking after you... looking forward to seeing you again... take care, Tom
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christy8885 wrote a review Mar 2023
Cloughey, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Met by the lovely Spanish girls in the bar and swift and effective check in. The room was perfect exactly what we were looking for visiting Dublin for the Rugby. The bed was comfortable if the room was a bit warm but rather warm than too cold. Noise is an issue with the busy road out the front. The sleeping kit supplied in each room contained earplugs and eye covers I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was also really good. Being in dublin a fair bit I will definately stay at Eccles again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Thanks so much Christy8885 for the 5 Stars... delighted you enjoyed your stay... looking forward to seeing you again... all the best, Tom
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dancingnora wrote a review Nov 2022
Waterville, Ireland28 contributions29 helpful votes
Staying here at the moment as my Dad is in The Private Mater as he’s very I’ll. I can’t say enough about Tom, Stephen and all the staff that work there. You are made feel so welcome when you walk through the doors. There is nothing they wouldn’t do for you to make your stay more enjoyable or comfortable. Tom has been so kind to my mom and I as it’s a very worrying time for us. He is such a character full of nature and kindness. It is an old building but everything is so warm and cosy. The beds are like lying on clouds. Everything is spotlessly clean and the breakfast in the morning is delicious! I would highly recommend Ecceles if you want to stay in Dublin as it’s so close to everything and not a rip off like plenty of other places here. Thank you all in Ecceles for all your kindness, thoughtfulness and of course the laughs !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from tom mckeon, Owner at Eccles Townhouse
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Thanks so much dancingnora.... only too happy to help... Ive been there... its our pleasure... Take care, Tom
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rose wrote a review Oct 2022
Hobart, Australia138 contributions28 helpful votes
This was one of the shabbiest places we have stayed in. The photos on Booking.com appear doctored - the description‘elegant townhouse’ is hard to understand. Exterior- apricot coloured paint from the 80’s peeling off the walls not the photos you see on Booking.com. The facade is a tiny section of what is basically a cafe with rooms to rent above. Site- on the corner of a very busy intersection and one of the main roads into Dublin with multiple buses all through the night. There is a hospital across the road meaning ambulance sirens are common. Inside - there is no reception as you get your keys from the girl also working in the cafe. Expect 2-4 flights of narrow stairs depending on your room. Supposedly the windows are sound proof but if you look at genuine reviews ( as opposed to those who have made 1-2 reviews) all will say the noise is a massive issue as is lack of ventilation. Our room was hot, noisy and we never saw any staff except for breakfast. We left as it was so noisy and hot Not sure who Tom is - never saw him but he seems to answer all reviews. We specifically asked for a quiet room and got a long winded reply about cars and road development since the building was built- it was my fault I didn’t check google maps and the photos of the outside myself - never again. I am absolutely mystified how this rates as very good in booking.com unless multiple reviews are not genuine. We ended up in a beautiful room 1 km closer to the city for the same price Eccles Townhouse were charging. In our view you would have to live on a really noisy street and be prepared for old and shabby to consider this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
€139 - €263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinNorth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ECCLES TOWNHOUSE - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Eccles Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Eccles Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include Belvedere Irish Night (0.3 km), Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane (0.3 km), and Olivier Cornet Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Eccles Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Eccles Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Eccles Townhouse?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eccles Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lovinspoon, Chapter One by Mickael Viljanen, and Bleecker Street Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Eccles Townhouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Eccles Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.5 km), 14 Henrietta Street (0.7 km), and Guinness Storehouse (2.3 km).