We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Butlers Townhouse

Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road Ballsbridge Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road, Dublin D04 RY96 Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 47 guest houses in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Butlers Townhouse - a 20 bedroomed boutique townhouse which offers luxury and style, in an intimate and beautifully elegant setting, with self check-in system. Located in the heart of Ballsbridge, Dublin 4 directly opposite the Aviva Stadium – situated on the corner of Lansdowne Road and Shelbourne Road, a 5 minute walk from the DART Station, 15 minute walk from RDS, 25 minute walk from the 3 Arena and a 15 minute walk from the Grand Canal Theatre. Come and Experience: Free superfast Fibre powered Wi-Fi throughout the townhouse
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road Ballsbridge Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road, Dublin D04 RY96 Ireland
Butlers Townhouse
230Reviews1Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 71
  • 29
  • 18
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
fruddja01 wrote a review Nov 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom5 contributions
Weird one, No staff on hand for check in but the cleaning staff we met were really nice, Had a problem as we wasn’t told a check in time and when we got there the room wasn’t ready until 2pm (we got there at 11). Nice location across from the stadium but abit out of the way to the centre. The heating didn’t work so the room was cold but the bath was really nice and the room itself was ok. Probably wouldn’t stay here again but it wasn’t terrible. Just okay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t expect anything spectacular just a nice little townhouse with limited staff and no heating....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deborah M wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
It’s un-manned. No door code was emailed as they said. Got in via other guests. Also got wifi details from other unhappy guests. Phoned for our room code but the phone rang out. No daily room service - had the same towels for 3 days - no one to ask for replacements?? Crap accommodation- would never recommend or go again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jen S wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Very dated property. Stayed here when the RDS was on. Very handy location and get walk to most things. Rooms not clean. Not much parking at front of property so had to park in different location. Mould around window, large bathroom in room and looks like it has been done up recently.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 6 Sept 2023
Dear Jenny, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. Butler's Townhouse is decorated in an old Victorian style, in keeping with the traditions of the townhouse. I am sorry to learn you found your room not to be clean, as we strive for a high standard of cleanliness at Butler's. We have reported the other issues mentioned to our housekeeping & maintenance teams in order to rectify them & we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in future for a much better experience. Kind regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angel wrote a review Jul 2023
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico5 contributions1 helpful vote
No one there to take care of you or even open the door for you. This makes the check in process extremely confusing and tedious. The rooms are very small and not very clean. The entire family ended up with a rash after our stay. We suspect bedbugs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check your emails before you get there. You need to pay your full stay first before you can even...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 6 Sept 2023
Dear Dream, Dear Jenny, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. Butler's Townhouse is decorated in an old Victorian style, in keeping with the traditions of the townhouse. I am sorry to learn you found the self check in process with the access codes to be difficult, it is usually well received by our guests. Regarding the room size, we have a range of sizes of rooms, from standard double to superior king - the sizes are listed online. I am surprised to hear about your rash - as the property does not have bedbugs - we ensure a high standard of hygiene & cleanliness through our dedicated housekeeping team. We hope to welcome you back in future for a much better experience. Kind regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SCSUk wrote a review Jun 2023
UK12 contributions8 helpful votes
I wish I had looked at the reviews before booking - as this will be much of the same. Tired exterior, aged and worn interior. Small dated rooms, tiny window overlooking a line of parking garages. The website or any of the pre reservation information did not mention that the place was abandoned by staff (it does mention smiling happy to help personnel, but you don't see them). The shower over the bath oscillated between full hot (more like lukewarm) and full cold every few seconds. An e-mail to "reception" was answered the same day with an assertion that the problem had been solved. It had not. A subsequent e-mail pointing this out was ignored. Replacing the amenities (water, coffee, milk etc.) involved a self-help trip to a cupboard under the stairs - pity the UHT milk pods were out of date and solidified. Dublin is a wonderful city with such friendly and hospitable people - please don't spoil a visit by staying here. At €330/night this was the rip-off of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adi wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The guesthouse is dated and dirty and has a musty smell. There was milldew in the bathroom and the shower didnt work. The towels were old and grey looking. Check in was not easy and I met two other couples who also had difficulty checking in. The house looks neglected and the grounds are not looked after. The pictures on the website are not a true reflection of what the house is actually like. I only stayed for one night and it was unpleasant and poor value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: no
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 23 May 2023
Dear Adi, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Butler's Townhouse. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to solve the issues you have mentioned with our maintenance team. I am so sorry to hear that the self check in process was not as smooth for you as usual. We take your comments on board and will make the necessary changes to improve our property. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in future for a much better experience. Kind regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hazymaisie wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
A dump . Filthy , shabby . The bathroom had NO CURTAINS… I repeat NO CURTAINS… and was overlooked by other windows . And all for the premium price of 277 euros . A disgrace to Dublin . Obviously it is run by a business management so they could nt care less . Don’t waste your money. Some lovely modern hotels in the area at half the price .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t bother . Lovely modern hotels close by for half the price .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 23 May 2023
Dear Hazymaisie, Thank you for leaving us this review and feedback about your stay at Butler's Townhouse. We have brought these issues to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance teams and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have another chance to host you in the future for a much better experience. Kind regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Letitia F wrote a review May 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom5 contributions
We arrived on time and there were only 3 car parking spaces outside, one of which was taken up by a service vehicle which had been there for five days and management hadn't bothered trying to move it. There are no staff on site and we were promised a code by email to get into the hotel but it never arrived. Eventually we got one by phoning a mobile number. The website told us we could get in to our room at 2pm but the cleaner didn't finish cleaning it until 3.30pm. The room was shabby and dusty and three storeys up with no lift and the beds were uncomfortable. The cost of a twin room with no breakfast was a ridiculously expensive 350 euros. The only facilities downstairs were a fridge and a microwave. At 9.45am, the cleaner rapped our bedroom door and asked us to leave. Check-out time was 10am. The so-called free Wifi didn't work. We met four other couples who were equally disgusted and frustrated. Avoid this hotel which is more like a badly run hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 23 May 2023
Dear Letitia, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback about your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, we only have limited parking available, which is operated on a first come-first served basis; this information is clearly advertised online. We thank you for this feedback on the cleanliness of the room, this has been brought to the attention of our housekeeping team to ensure it is much improved. We appreciate your comments and hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future. Kind regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donlewey wrote a review Oct 2022
Maine, USA12 contributions10 helpful votes
Great location but bit dated decor - website says house was renovated 27 years ago and would benefit from a facelift of the bedrooms. The availability of six Saorview TV channels says it all. Would it really be that expensive to offer guests a better TV choice? No mention of self-checkin on the website until after booking was made. Had feel up an upmarket hostel when checking in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Two parking spaces outside and then on-street parking or 15 min walk to car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Dear Donlewey, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments into consideration. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
William K wrote a review Oct 2022
Carlow, Ireland1 contribution
Really enjoyed my stay at Butlers. I stayed there for a rugby match and it is ideally located for the Aviva. The hotel is very charming and although there is no receptionist, the staff were so helpful with my queries
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 16 Oct 2022
Dear William, Many thanks for this great review about your recent stay at Butler's Townhouse. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
€68 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUTLERS TOWNHOUSE - UPDATED 2023 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Butlers Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Butlers Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include National Print Museum (0.2 km), Aviva Stadium (0.3 km), and The O'Connell Monument (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Butlers Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee.
What food & drink options are available at Butlers Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Butlers Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Chop House Gastro Pub, Juniors, and The Old Spot.
Are there any historical sites close to Butlers Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (5.2 km), 14 Henrietta Street (3.2 km), and Guinness Storehouse (3.7 km).