We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road Ballsbridge Butlers Townhouse 44 Lansdowne Road, Dublin D04 RY96 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$147
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$147
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#43 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Butlers Townhouse - a 20 bedroomed boutique townhouse which offers luxury and style, in an intimate and beautifully elegant setting, with self check-in system. Located in the heart of Ballsbridge, Dublin 4 directly opposite the Aviva Stadium – situated on the corner of Lansdowne Road and Shelbourne Road, a 5 minute walk from the DART Station, 15 minute walk from RDS, 25 minute walk from the 3 Arena and a 15 minute walk from the Grand Canal Theatre. Come and Experience: Free superfast Fibre powered Wi-Fi throughout the townhouse
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
12Attractionswithin 0.5 km
217Reviews1Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 70
  • 27
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Padjo58 wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
240GBP per night - let that sink in. 240GBP for a tired, sad, unloved, grubby cheap b&b at best - but without the breakfast! 240GBP for a pokey bathroom with a plastic toilet seat, a shower installed over a bath as an afterthought and totally inadequate products - one sachet(!) of body wash. 240GBP for accommodation booked months in advance. For 240GBP you could stay in an ultra modern, built for purpose, breakfast included hotel in central London - with a full app for checking, access etc - not just an email with codes - which some reviewers here hail as near ground breaking! I know Dublin hotel prices are ridiculous but that does give you a mandate for profiteering - you are going destroy yourselves if you haven’t already - this place used to have a good reputation. You’ve left a bad taste in my my mouth that even a great pint of Guinness can’t clear. Shame on you - I would give you no stars except that’s not an option.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Padjo, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. Perhaps you can visit us again during the low travel season, when rates will be lower. We take your comments on board and will try our very best to improve our services. Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate Fassett wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Post pandemic this ‘hotel’ has been raping tourists. The whole place and the rooms are shabby and tired and frankly grubby. There’s a crap fridge in the ‘communal area’: a dark smelly musty room with a few miserable and unhappy tourists trying to find something to do. Irish hospitality this is not. It makes me ashamed to be Irish. This cost €240 per night. Booked 4 months ago. Do not go here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Kate, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. Guests usually love our comfortable lounge area, and the convenience of using the fridge and microwave. I am sorry that you did not have a similar experience. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future. Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eithneob72 wrote a review Jun 2022
Kilkenny, Ireland8 contributions3 helpful votes
My daughter & I stayed here the night of the Harry Styles gig in the Aviva Stadium. From that point of view the location was perfect as it’s right next to the Aviva & the Lansdowne Dart station. However, it cost me €390 for a twin room which is exorbitant but reflective of the crazy cost of tourist accommodation in Dublin at the moment. I personally like the coded entry system but find the absence of staff very impersonal and it lends the property a ‘Hotel from The Shining’ vibe - we saw no other guests until we returned from the gig - there’s just no atmosphere. There is also no breakfast served which is pretty disgraceful given the price of the room & the claim to a 4 star rating. It cannot be 4 star (in my opinion) as it has no facilities! Our room was pleasant & clean, as was the bathroom but my daughter went to shower at 6am as she was leaving early and there was no hot water. The property is pleasant & convenient but I would caution people to take on board that the website makes it look and sound a lot more glamorous & upmarket than it actually is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Limited park but very close to public transport into city centre.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Dear Eithne, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you enjoyed the great location, close to the Aviva. We appreciate your feedback on the self check-in system and staffing. We take your feedback on board. Although we do not serve breakfast, we have tea and coffee making facilities in each room and use of a fridge and microwave in our lounge. We are just a few minutes on foot from some great restaurants too. I apologize about there being no hot water, this issue was fixed as soon as we were notified about it - I am so sorry for the inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back to Butler's Townhouse in future. Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becki H wrote a review Jun 2022
17 contributions16 helpful votes
We had a great stay and it was clever to be sent the front entrance codes and hotel rooms so you don't have to carry round a key/key card. And only about a 20-min walk to the city centre with some nice pubs and restaurants nearby. One minor criticism is that we didn't see any staff when we were there but thankfully we didn't need them during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Dear Becki, Thank you so much for writing this review about your recent stay with us at Butler's. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our self check-in system: our guests never have to worry about losing their key! :-) Yes, as we have a largely unmanned reception, our team are always available by phone or email, should our guests needs anything. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review score. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S E wrote a review Jun 2022
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom106 contributions36 helpful votes
Firstly the staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. We were in room 16 and the lock was faulty - we were locked out, luckily there was staff on hand to help . The rooms are small but that was okay. The room needed a good dust and just some general TLC. This hotel isn't a 4 start place - more like a 2/3 motel style. No food is served but Ballsbridge has good choices.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Basically its a motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Dear Sam, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Butler's Townhouse. We really appreciate your lovely comments about the staff. I am so sorry about your lock malfunction - we have now replaced the lock, but I am sorry for the inconvenience of this happening during your stay. I am glad that our staff were on hand to assist. We appreciate your comments and will pass those on to the housekeeping department. We will take your feedback on board, and hopefully can have you back in the future for a much better experience. Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe D wrote a review Mar 2022
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions
This ‘Town House’ needs to be reclassified as a hostel. Be aware all the photos are probably from when the house was done up in the mid 1990’s and bare no resemblance to the current state of the property. This place is best described as a hostel. Stained and peeling paper on the walls, no working heating, dusty and full of cobwebs, noisy and to top it all the beautiful common room in the photos has a fridge holding milk, lunches, booze etc of the guests. It is what it is, which is fine but if you are looking for something special, this is not it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Joe, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this review about your recent stay at Butler's. I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We would have been more than happy to check your heating and offer you a different room, had these issues been raised during your stay. We provide a fridge and microwave in our lounge for the convenience of our guests, and this is usually a very popular amenity with our guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in future, for a much more enjoyable stay! Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alicia D wrote a review Mar 2022
Huddersfield, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Unpleasant check out experience! No time was given on when we had to leave the hotel and check out I had emailed them in the morning but no response. We went in to Dublin on an €8 train just to get 3 calls whilst we were out for a meal asking to collect luggage within the next 30mins so we had to go back and waste an hour of our last day travelling back to collect luggage and waste money on an extra journey. I sent an email explaining my disappointment which was ignored so hopefully my review holds more currency to this hotel on how to treat its customers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Alicia, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Butler's Townhouse. As you made your booking on Booking.com, the check-in and check out times were indicated on your booking confirmation. We did allow for a complimentary late check out in your case, as you arrived to check out of your room at 14.00. I am so sorry to hear that this was unsatisfatory. We hope to welcome you abck to Butler's Townhouse in future. Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmyL wrote a review Mar 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom104 contributions78 helpful votes
We stayed here for a long weekend and it has its pros and cons. The pros were that the location was pretty good, it's close to ballsbridge which is just outside of Dublin and has many different amenities. There are also many buses and darts running through it, it is also close to the arena and stadium. Another positive was the WiFi was very quick and you could get it in every part of the hotel. There are the added extras in the room which are useful such as hairdryer and ironing board. The negatives were that the bed was very squeaky and could do with upgrading. We stayed in one of the front rooms and could hear cars and people going past the hotel all night even though the window was closed. The room also wasn't cleaned the whole 4 days we were there so out bin was fully by the time we left and if we wanted clean towels etc we needed to text to ask for them to be provided.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Hi Amy, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this review about your recent stay at Butler's Townhouse. I am glad to hear that you loved the location, the fast WiFi and the room amenities! Thank you for the feedback about your bed; I will have maintenance check this to resolve the squeaking sound. We provide housekeeping by request only; however, we would be more than happy to clean the room every day, if this was what our guest prefers. We are always available by phone or email, when the reception is unmanned. I hope we can welcome you back soon to Butler's Townhouse. Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Slade wrote a review Dec 2021
21 contributions7 helpful votes
Friendly and helpful staff. Basement room was freezing. Good shower. Nice communal lounge area upstairs but again was freezing. Location okay - Walking distance to local amenities. No parking. I’ve stayed in other guest houses in the area that were better and would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 21 Dec 2021
Dear Slade, Many thanks for taking the time to leave this review about your recent stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. I am sorry to hear that you felt cold in your room during your stay. We do have additional heaters which we can provide to our guests if requested. I am glad you liked the shower! I hope you will change your mind and we can welcome you back again to Butler's Townhouse in future! Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victor H wrote a review Nov 2021
Munich, Germany69 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
I'm travelling around the globe since almost 40 years, related to hotels I would say I experienced almost everything. End of October this year we stayed in at Butlers Townhouse which is rated as very good, I'd certainly like to know where is this rating from; the place is a dirty worn out facility not worth a penny.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juliann Kelly - Costa, General Manager at Butlers Townhouse
Responded 21 Dec 2021
Dear Victor, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time. I would love to learn more regarding the reasons you did not enjoy your stay; please reach out to me by email or telephone to discuss. Warm Regards, Juliann Property Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Butlers Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Butlers Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include National Print Museum (0.2 km), Aviva Stadium (0.3 km), and The O'Connell Monument (0.3 km).
What are some restaurants close to Butlers Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Juniors, The Chop House Gastro Pub, and The Old Spot.
Are there any historical sites close to Butlers Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (5.2 km), 14 Henrietta Street (3.2 km), and Guinness Storehouse (3.7 km).