We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#46 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,144: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed because of the location as the parade route went right past the hotel. We told the staff the reason of our stay and they very kindly without prompting booked us in a room right in the corner overlooking the crossroads where the parade passed. We paid the extra five euro for breakfast in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMJiji
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jmhihi We are so pleased that your room allocation met with your expectations and that you got to enjoy the historic celebration that was the centenery of the Easter Rising. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was perfect for our family reunion and the location great. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and all 21 in our group were happy with their rooms. The staff were extremely helpful, efficient and always cheerful. The breakfast exceeded expectations and the choice of hot and cold food was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VanessaScales
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VanessaScales We are so pleased indeed that all in your group had a comfortable and enjoyable time in our hotel, thank you for making time to share your experience with us and for your endorsement. We hope to welcome each and every one of you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my wife for our anniversary. On check in we were greeted by Damien.who let us know if we needed anything during our stay to just let him know.O,Callaghan's Stephens green did not disappoint.On arrival to our room there was a lovely welcome surprise.thank you Damien.Room was clean and very comfortable.We ate in the bar on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John O Its wonderful to hear that our efforts made your stay memorable, both Hassan and Damien are delighted with your comments and looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday in July. We had a very pleasant stay, very happy with the service received. Damien the front desk manager was brilliant and very helpful, whatever we needed, from meal suggestions to sightseeing questions, the staff advised us well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ursula B Its wonderful to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that my colleagues looked after you and made your stay memorable. We hope to welcome you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Charleston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and kind. The rooms were very quiet and well appointed. We really enjoyed our stay here and our sightseeing. It was a great place to spend our first night in Ireland and to get ourselves retimed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the2jhs
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The2jhs Thank you for sharing your experience and for your endorsement. We hope to welcome you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived early Friday morning after an overnight flight from Boston. But, Luka was able to get us into our room immediately. When our friends arrived later, we were all on the same floor even though we'd booked individually. The rooms were large for Dublin, and very quiet. The location turned out to be absolutely fabulous. We were within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve J My colleagues and I are thrilled that your stay with us was memorable, Luca is delighted to be receiving such high praise indeed, he is a great character and an asset to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General manager

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We left our luggage in the care of the hotel staff from approximately 11 am to 4:30 pm on our departure day and they said our bags would be kept in a locked room and the only people who could get it here were hotel staff. When we had picked up our luggage we discovered, unfortunately not until we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heimalind8
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heimalind8 I am very sorry that you experienced this loss while visiting Dublin. We store all bags securely and are confident that the alledged incident did not take place in our premises, however like any business we cannot take responsibility for bags that have been taken out of our care. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General Manager

nice france
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a long weekend in Dublin with Voyage Privé, and turned out this hotel was a great choice. It's in a good location - just beside Stephen Green park, and an easy walk to Grafton street and central Dublin. The desk staff was very helpful. A stupid point, but the wifi was excellent - easy to get on, easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriene M
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adriene M Thank you so much for your recommendation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we believe that a great breakfast makes for a great start to a great day and strive to deliver that experience for all our guests everyday. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Regards Rishnoor Kaur General...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is nicely located. It's not exactly in the center of the city, but you're not going to break a sweat getting to the center. Two blocks down you have Grafton Street and it's shops and little pubs. A mile away is Guinness Storehouse, and Jamison's. Across and through Stephen's Green you will find the National Museums. Trinity college...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James P Its great to hear that our location met with your expectation and that you enjoyed the short walks to all of the major tourist locations in Dublin. Thank you for your vote of confidence, we look forward to having you stay with us again. I've noted your comments about TV channels and will get it addressed very...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traveling for business is often tiresome and when you are unwell while traveling even more so. What you want in a hotel is a clean comfortable room and bathroom, good service especially with check in and check out and a good breakfast. O'Callaghan provides this so it is satisfactory. What it isn't is special! Maybe I am being unfair as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaydzRM
RKaurOCH, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HaydzRM We are all pleased to hear that you found our hotel to your liking and you especially enjoyed the service delivered by our reception and breakfast teams. Our hotel building encompasses two Georgian Houses with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt...

831 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,267 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,129 reviews
Conrad Dublin
#70 of 150 in Dublin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €123 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“corner room with views of the green was great”
 of 5 bubbles DublinSuzy, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the corner was great for excellent city views and the parade”
 of 5 bubbles JMJiji, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a street side room if you do not want a view of the building behind the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 653adrienem, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1334 was at the back and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 395Andy_R, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay