We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maples House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maples House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maples House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We found the Maples House Hotel via Booking.com for our annual visit to Dublin. Our group comprised five people and we occupied a double, a twin & a single room. The rooms were small, as we had seen on TripAdvisor but, nonetheless, they were clean, tidy and functional. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jason K, Thanks so much for that very nice review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your party and we look forward to seeing you all again in The Maples on your next trip to Dublin.

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The hotel from the outside is a beautiful period house, the bedrooms could do with a little TLC, however the staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. The food was great and the hospitality was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gilly1008
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gilly1008, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the food and hospitality of our great staff. You will be pleased to hear that we are applying the TLC you referred to in our bedrooms this week. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I have to agree with all the excellent reviews. 30 of us enjoyed the Maples house hotel experience this weekend and are all raving about the place! The food and hospitality were second to none. Highly recommend, this hotel is a gem, surrounded by quiet leafy roads of elegant period houses but yet so close to the centre. Felt really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bunnyhop2013
Alan K, Manager at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a good time here at The Maples - it was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alan Kelly.

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I knew it would be basic but hey room 27 I was given ... Smallest hotel room I ever stayed in .. €89 for bed and breakfast .. Told we can have a late drink when we would return ... When we got back told sorry night porter closed up ... All in all disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deezermac
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deezermac, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Maples House Hotel, unfortunately, as we are an Edwardian building, not all our rooms are the same size and, as we were fully booked on that night, you were given the last available room. If you do decide to stay with us again,...

Carlow
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Had bar food here last week and it was a lovely setting with Christmas decorations up and a lovely atmosphere. It's under new management as far as I'm aware and what a difference they've made!! Beautiful welcome we received and the pints aren't bad either!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maria J, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. You are correct, the hotel has been under new management since July 2015. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope you will return soon. Many thanks, Alan Kelly

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We recently had our Christening Reception in the function room and I have to say it was fantastic from start to finish. The staff could not have been friendlier and it was a pleasure to have them as part of our day. Every request was met and throughout the day any extras that we asked for we got straight away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K m
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi K m, Many thanks for your wonderful review. I will pass your lovely comments on to all our staff and DJ Keith! It was a pleasure to serve you and your party and we are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. Kind Regards, Alan Kelly

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Located in a quiet residential area (Drumcondra). Definitely not rowdy at night. Easy to accidentally go to "Maples Hotel!". Note - this one is "Maples HOUSE Hotel" and is NOT signposted at the airport. We bought LEAP passes from the airport to travel to the City Centre by bus. Within walking distance to Croke Park Stadium and a short bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amrit M
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amrit M. Many thanks for your review. As you mentioned, we are located in a nice quiet area but are also quite close to the city centre and other tourist attractions. We are disappointed to hear that our food wasn't up to standard during your stay and should you return, we hope we can change your mind. Many thanks,...

North West Ireland
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This property seems to be under new management and the rooms have been refurbed. Booked direct on their website and got a good deal with dinner (Lot cheaper than eating in Dublin City Centre). Bar is lively with good atmosphere. At the end of the road there is a bus that takes you into the city centre, or if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie082
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. You are correct that the hotel is under new management and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished rooms. Like you, many of our guests use the Maples as an ideal base for shopping in Dublin and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Alan Kelly.

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

We got an amazing deal on this hotel so was a bit wary of what to expect. It is basic but modern and clean. 10 minute taxi journey to temple bar and the other main streets and walking distance to a bus stop that takes you to the city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had breakfast one morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllieSimson
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi AllieSimson, Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on your comments to our staff. As you mentioned we are ideally located here, close to many bus routes into the city centre and also just a short taxi ride. We are currently finishing some refurbishments in the...

Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I spent one night in this hotel in mid-September after booking on-line. When I checked in I was just given a key without any information about the hotel facilities. The room I was given was on the 3rd floor - it was horrible. Access to the room was via a very narrow stairs so my immediate impression was not good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
MaplesHotel, Owner at Maples House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon B, Many thanks for your review. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize. The hotel has recently been taken over by new management and is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment. Many Thanks, Alan

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 153 in Dublin
633 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
601 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 153 in Dublin
517 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,781 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Maples Bistro Restaurant
Maples Bistro Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maples House Hotel is a family run hotel in Glasnevin, built in the early 1900's. The Maples House offers you elegance and charm, tucked away in a prestigious and leafy red brick enclave. The transition from residential quiet to the buzz of the city will provide you with a stay that you will remember for a long time to come, only minutes from Dublin city center, Glasnevin Cemetery, Ireland's sporting home Croke Park and the famous Botanical Gardens. The Hotel is on all major bus routes and tourist attractions are all close to hand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maples House Hotel

Address: 79 - 81 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €78 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maples House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maples House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Maples House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 over looks the street”
DrChris005, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As others stated before it's just the thin walls you can hear everything, but it's a Old building can't be helped”
Andrae61, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same price but avoid 22 - it's small. 25 is a good size.”
Greenslade, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take bus in to city depending on age long walk”
cakesw, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check out Woodstock for food......you may prefer your breakfast there.”
ReayofSunshine, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5