We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,463: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm hesitant to say what a great value this hotel is in Dublin. Because then the secret will be out. But....in fairness to the hotel, I would strongly recommend and I would stay here again. Great location, very clean, friendly staff, nice rooms, good cafe and great modern pub attached. I did not eat the Irish breakfast at the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USAIndytravels
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to hear that you would recommend our hotel and that you found our staff to be friendly and the rooms to be clean and nice. I very much hope that you will be back to...

metamora, mi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was quite a lovely hotel. Location was quite close to town. Restaurant was very good. Hotel staff was very helpful. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were spacious enough, and we enjoyed our stay there. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcrean
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is fantastic to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and would return to visit with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel staff to be helpful. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, I look forward to having you stay with us...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with three friends. It was our first trip to Ireland, first time driving on the opposite side of the car and road...a little tedious at first but we settled in quickly. We didn't know what to expect, but we were greeted with a welcoming, friendly, very accommodating staff. The location is good and a short walk to Hop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18,272,016
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is great that you found our hotel to be comfortable and in a suitable location. When booking rooms, guests that book direct receive complimentary car parking, we also have Bed and Breakfast rates on our site. I hope that you will have the...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked the Grand Canal Hotel because the location, a little bit out of the city centre, meant it was a little cheaper than comparable hotels. We loved it and would definitely choose to go back. It's only a 15 minute walk to Trinity College, or you can get the DART to Pearse Station (DART is <5 mins walk) or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aod326
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Dublin and found staying at our hotel enjoyable. It is great that you found the location of the hotel to be suitable and had the opportunity to hire a car so that you could see more of Dublin. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came over for the Ireland Wales football game. Booked into this hotel for 2 nights, pleased to find that it was very close to the stadium. Specified a twin room and explained this on the phone a week before and while we were there at reception, that a room with 2 beds is a must. Of course, we open the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colind1992
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are indeed very close to the Stadium and had a lot of visitors for the football game. I am sorry that one interaction with a member of our Reception Team overshadowed the hopefully overall good experience with the rest of our team. On busy weekends our Accommodation Team try to focus on rooms for our arrivals as...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel for our visit to Dublin for st Patrick's day. We arrived at the hotel at 9 in the morning due to an early flight. Receptionist looked to see if any room was available for an early check in, but there wasn't, which wasn't a problem and they happily put out luggage to one side until later. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carla2e
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very kind review and score. It is excellent to read that you enjoyed your stay and St Patrick's Day visit with us. I am delighted that our Reception Team were able to point out some tourist spots for you, I hope that you were able to get to see a good bit of Dublin...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Great place, friendly staff, excellent rooms. It was a really nice stay. Excellent neighbourhood. The only minus it had - the walls aren't properly soundproof and sometimes i could hear the other guests but it's not a dealbreaker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan R
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you found almost everything to be to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your room as well as finding the staff to be friendly. I am sorry that you did not find the soundproofing to be sufficient, but I am delighted that it didn't...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel in an ideal location for the rugby in Dublin. Great service at reception, very helpful. Great breakfast including cereal, pastries and the traditional full Irish. We've stayed here on a couple of occasions previously and never disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for continuing to choose the Grand Canal Hotel as your base in Dublin when you visit. I am delighted that you find the service and Reception helpful. I very much hope that you continue to visit us and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

This hotel is just perfect, all I would ever want from a hotel! Everything is extra clean, each day they clean rooms and (if you want) change the towels. Staff is very helpful, kind and nice, from receptionists to cleaning staff. Position is perfect and if you have a room that overviews the road you have a nice view too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana P
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Dublin. I am delighted that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to read that you found everyone to be helpful and kind. I very much hope that you are in Dublin again soon and that you return to stay with...

Hangzhou, China
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I think if you have a special reason for choosing the location- e.g. a game or concert- then I guess it is okay, if somewhat overpriced for what it is. The overwhelming impression I had in the corridor was the smell- like a disinfectant in a hospital. I guess others don't notice? For me it was off-putting and I opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitsaysgo
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that the smell in the corridors was not to your personal taste but glad that by opening the window you were able to alleviate the problem. I am delighted that you found the staff to be friendly which is most important when staying away from...

678 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.9 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,783 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,346 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.8 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
431 reviews
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €105 - €253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were at the end of the hallway on the 2nd floor and it was perfectly quiet but a lousy view out of the window.”
U3857DUmaryc, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms worth the extra, ask for a balcony”
  • Room/balcony
USAIndytravels, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 3rd floor was quite, warm, windows open for fresh air, has an elevator and private bat; able to charge our iPads and cell phones.”
18272016, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that look at the road were not loud at all and they have a pretty view”
416janap, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room high up and away from the main road. But generally speaking the road noise is not intrusive whichever room you have.”
626philipa, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5