We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,411: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms were very pleasant, spacious and clean. The location was perfect, just a short walk to center of Dublin and temple bar. The buffet Irish breakfast was a let down but a good hang over cure for the day after Hogmanay, tasted like most foods were just deep fried and sausages tasted like cheap Richmond. Also upon leaving the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naanbreadface
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review of the Grand Canal Hotel. I am sorry that you felt the members of staff on the desk in the evening were not as friendly as they should have been. Our breakfast is freshly cooked although for convenience and time saving it is served as a buffet. As well as the quality...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was great, nice location and clean rooms. The only downside was the room was freezing on the first night and the radiator didn't turn on. Other than that it wasn't too bad. The member of staff was a tad cheeky about a taxi on the last day but we'll blame that on being hungover since it was New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamieleo93
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you couldn't turn on your radiator the first night, I am sure that if you informed a member of our staff that they were able to assist you. I am sorry that you felt the Reception Member in the evening was not as professional as they ought to...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Be aware the hotel takes a €30 deposit off your card on checking in. Not great if you have a pre loaded credit card to reduce currency charges. This place was lovely inside. The breakfast staff were very helpful and the food delicious. I also ate in the onsite pub, and again the food was very tasty. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notts76
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Grand Canal Hotel. I am sorry that you experienced difficulty with your card provider, I have asked the Front Office Manager to see if there is a way that this can be avoided. The hotel does have triple glazing which usually eliminates the problem of the traffic, I am...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly staff,no noise during the night,clean,Breakfast delicious and different-great selection at buffet/Morning papers also available Bottle of water left in room for everybody-this was very thoughtful Would definitely return again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfast and in room facilities to be to your liking. I do hope that you are in Dublin again soon and that you will come and visit us. Thank you for the very kind review score that you have given us, it is...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel. Lovely staff, very friendly and accomadating. Rooms clean and fresh. Decor of the hotel is modern yet holds an authentic charm. Food in the bar is so tasty. Easy access to city centre. Could not fault

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catglen
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is extremely nice to read such comments about our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be friendly and accommodating. I really hope that you are in the area again soon and that you will return to visit us. Kind Regards Donna Curry

Carmarthen
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Grand Canal Hotel was fantastic and I really couldn't fault it. The location was ideal for my visit to the Borde Gais Energy Theatre and only a 15 minute walk into the city centre. Our room was extremely equipped with toiletries, Lavazzo coffee machine, free water, hospitality tray etc and was lovely and warm. And the beds were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HRees999
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the very kind rating and for posting such a lovely review about our hotel, it is much appreciated by all of us here at the Grand Canal Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I really do hope that you will be back to stay...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall this was a good hotel stay. Room was clean. Wifi was pretty fast. Everything worked. Staff was friendly enough. It did feel a little out of the way when it came to access to the rest of Dublin. It's definitely a long walk to Temple Bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FatHelga
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Grand Canal Hotel and for your very nice comments about our hotel. I am delighted that the wifi and room were to your liking. Unfortunately we can do nothing about our location and whilst we are super convenient for the Aviva, Bord Gais Energy Theatre and the many points of interest around us...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Me, my wife, sister-in-law and a friend stayed here on New Year's Eve and in general it was a pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and there were no issues at check in / check out. We picked this hotel based on its half way location between the city centre and the RDS where we were going to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dazzag1982
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the hotel and for your very kind words about the friendly staff, quality of the food and cleanliness of the hotel which we work very hard to achieve. I am very sorry that the Gasworks Bar was not to your liking. We did change over last year to a craft beer bar...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable beds. Great location by the river - in the daytime we walked everywhere around the town, though in the evening we did catch a cab back a time or two. Our 1st day in Ireland, we had just stumbled in from the overnight flight that morning and the front desk staff were kind enough to give us a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coloradoo
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to recommend Grand Canal Hotel to others. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay so much when visiting Dublin and that our reception team were able to provide you with your room keys on early arrival. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again if you are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So I have to admit I have stayed here due to convenience and price many times. My office is nearby so that's the big reason. The standard here is always reasonable good, very clean rooms, breakfast is decent, the bar is fantastic and the price is always good for the location. But time on time it's always the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IT-Emperor
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Grand Canal Hotel. I am delighted that you always find the rooms to be clean and the bar to be fantastic. I will pass your comments on to the Bar Manager. As always we will use your feedback to improve the service offered to guests in...

689 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,168 reviews
4.0 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#30 of 150 in Dublin
1,678 reviews
2.6 km away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,170 reviews
2.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €89 - €240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No noise on third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 948sheilab, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors recommended”
 of 5 bubbles fionnualadolan, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 535alisonb, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close proximity to grand canal train station and an bord gais and local restaurants. . Good views of the Aviva stadium”
 of 5 bubbles 884carmelm, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room at the back, as it is on a busy road with a lot of commuter traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Mariekev484, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay