We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cardiff Lane Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin D02 YT21 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$172
Priceline
Prestigia.comUS$178
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (830)
Room & Suite (211)
Dining (101)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 22/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#63 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds. Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club offers a 22m swimming pool and a fully equipped gym with sauna, steam room and a jacuzzi. All this plus a range of meeting spaces makes Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel in the heart of one of the most exciting areas of Dublin city centre. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
23Attractionswithin 0.5 km
5796Reviews95Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,980
  • 1,735
  • 697
  • 245
  • 139
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Traceymc78 wrote a review 26 Sep
Omagh, United Kingdom5 contributions
Just back from a fabulous weekend in the clayton hotel. So convenient to the bord gais where we went to see sister act, which was great craic. Such welcoming staff at the front desk of the hotel which made check in a breeze. My only complaint would be that there was no access to the residence bar cos of a 40th party which meant that we went upstairs for a drink. The bar staff were lovely especially Evan and the other wee fella with the beard behind the bar, considering the job they had to do to cope with all the customers having to go upstairs for drink. Closing the residence bar was a massive boob boob by the hotel. All in all i would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Tracey, Many thanks for your five-star review of the Clayton Hotel. As we strive to deliver exceptional service, I am delighted to hear that you have been well looked after and taken care of throughout your stay here at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff at the bar and Evan. I am thrilled you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kindest Regards, Siun Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Feefi1 wrote a review 22 Sep
9 contributions11 helpful votes
Myself and 3 fiends stayed here when attending a Garth Brooks Concert. From start to finish it was a wonderful stay with all staff we encountered being friendly, polite and extremely accommodating. Aíne who check us in was exceptional. The bar staff were professional yet full of chat, which made our pre drinks more enjoyable We had dinner in the bar, which was reasonably priced and delicious. Breakfast was great, with continental and cooked options. On request I had eggs poaced to perfection. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities. It also has excellent leisure facilities and again the staff at the pool were just excellent. The hotel is within walking distance, 25mins to Croke Park and close to good public transport links. I cannot fault this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend a stay at the Clayton, Cardiff Lane.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following your stay with us, we really appreciate it! Your comments will be shared with all our staff, and I will personally give the wonderful feedback you have given us to Aine. The little touches really do make all the difference to your stay, and I am so happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, breakfast and that our friendly staff contributed to your delightful stay with us. We are very proud of our hard working team members at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, and they will be delighted to hear their hard work, and dedication is noticed by our guests. Thank you so much again for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane for yet another incredible stay. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marie m wrote a review 22 Sep
8 contributions7 helpful votes
I stayed here with 3 friends for Garth Brooks concert, was within walking distance...... Food was amazing, we had lunch and breakfast here Staff were so friendly and approachable, nothing was a bother for them, I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Marie, We appreciate you taking the time to share this five-star review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your room and that you found our warm and friendly staff helpful. From check in to check out, it sounds like you had an exceptional stay at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. On behalf of myself and my dedicated colleagues, it was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon Anders T wrote a review 19 Sep
1 contribution
Bad service, 80’s style, forgot to clean the room twice during 5 days. Breakfast was bad! The price for the room was high compared with the quality you got. Sorry, never back. Gym was good with Swimmingpool. Conference rooms was ok but next time make better coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jon, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value guests feedback as as it allows us to improve our overall offering. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Club Vitae swimming pool and conference rooms here at the Clayton. Please accept my apologises for the issues you experienced with your room and at breakfast. I would be grateful if you could contact me with a suitable day and time to schedule a call to discuss these matters further so we can make sure the proper corrective training can be issued to our staff. I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex H wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
So many issues and problems made my stay a nightmare. I think like many places they have not recovers post covid so the visitor experience is poor. 3 calls to reception but no one came to the room to fix flashing light a or the non working TV or the phone. QR code menu didn’t work, my selection was never available, the WiFi is beyond an utter disgrace, it simply does not work which was horrific for work purposes and to flush the toilet I had to fill the waste paper bin with water and poor it down the toilet. Food was on the floor of the lounge and table clearing was very poor. No service and things dysfunctional.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Alex, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry for the shortfalls during your stay. It is through reviews like yours that allow us to improve, learn from our mistakes and rectify them. Rest assured that corrective training will take place to ensure situations like yours do not occur again in the future. I would be grateful if you could provide me with a suitable day and time to schedule a call to further discuss these matters, you can reach me via: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com We truly hope that you will consider staying at The Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane on any future visits to the city and the team here have the opportunity to revert your recent experience with us. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail M wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We arrived today, big stain (looks like vomit) beside bed, lights flickering on and off video won’t load, I can pm if requested €300+ a night 🤷🏻‍♀️ However Evan in the bar/restaurant was so nice to me and my son, He is a massive asset to this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issues regarding your room, if you wish to discuss this further I would be grateful if you could let me know a suitable day and time to schedule a call. I will personally give the wonderful feedback you have given us to Evan. We are very proud of our hard working team members at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, and they will be delighted to hear their hard work, and dedication is noticed by our guests. Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David B wrote a review 4 Sep
Belfast3 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location and rooms comfortable and clean, but don't eat here. Breakfast is a shambles, poor quality food, poor selection and staff totally uninterested in assisting. No chat or smiles from any of them. They took ages to clear tables and replenish food dishes. If you asked for anything it seemed like a chore. Employing people who appear to have no real interest in the hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us. I am happy you enjoyed your rooms and found them comfortable and clean. Please accept my apologises for the poor service you experienced at breakfast. I can assure you that your experience in no way reflects our usual standards at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. If possible, I would like to personally speak with you regarding your stay. Please let me know if this is suitable, and I would be delighted to schedule a call. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janicepk wrote a review 4 Sep
Annapolis, Maryland1060 contributions366 helpful votes
We had been traveling with a car and were thrilled to find this hotel and its valet service. Although the streets are busy, the staff made is easy for us to unload our bags and take care of our car. We could not have been happier !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback following your stay with us, we really appreciate it! Your comments will be shared with all our staff. We are very proud of our hard working team members at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, and they will be delighted to hear their hard work, and dedication is noticed by our guests. Thank you so much again for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane for yet another incredible stay. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PriorReview wrote a review 1 Sep
Cardiff, United Kingdom258 contributions65 helpful votes
The Clayton is a middle of the road hotel with no bells nor whistles. That said the rooms are comfortable and the staff exceptional. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Located close to the railway station it was convenient for ease of arrival by train. The hotel provides immediate access to the heart of the City. Even though the trains ran past the window there was no noise in the room with the window closed. The bathroom was small and the towels were thin. Soap dispensers bolted to the wall just scream unhygienic and cheap! There was no conditioner for the wife. So, bring your own shampoos and soaps. The bar on the first floor was nice and the staff great fun. Breakfast was a disaster. A buffet is an early warning of low quality. When there are only scrambled eggs on the menu I tend to cringe, when they are cold and rubbery you wish you had eaten out Overall a good place to get your head down but you should have breakfast outside the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am happy to hear that your room was extremely comfortable and you had a peaceful sleep. I am thrilled you found our location central and staff welcoming. I will be sure to share your complimentary words directly with my colleagues in the bar who will be delighted that their hard work has been noticed. Thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to breakfast, I will be looking into this matter with the restaurant manager. On behalf of myself and all of us here at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, it was a pleasure hosting you. Kindest Regards, Siun O'Kane Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
unlfan wrote a review Aug 2022
Lincoln, NE53 contributions37 helpful votes
This hotel was booked through our tour guide. It is conveniently located a couple blocks off the River Liffey and down the street from a traditional Irish pub. The on site dining option is nice to have & the included breakfast was wonderful. I tried a couple 'Irish' foods. The main level bar was a popular place for good reason. The rooms were comfortable, but a bit stuffy as there is not need for a/c. The provided fan helped. The beds quite comfy, too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun O'Kane, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this generous five-star review, we really appreciate it. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and found our location to be the perfect base to explore our wonderful city from. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed breakfast and had the opportunity to try some of Irish foods. On behalf of myself and all of us here at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, it was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards, Siun Guest Relations Manager CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 Email: guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com 00353 1 643 9500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maldron hotel dublin, quality hotel dublin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Maldron Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Nearby attractions include Escape Boats (0.4 km), Endgame Escape Rooms (0.4 km), and The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cill Airne, Herbstreet, and Musashi IFSC.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (4.6 km), 14 Henrietta Street (2.1 km), and Guinness Storehouse (3.0 km).
Is Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.