We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Dawson Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 615: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 March 2015

In a nutshell: construction going on right outside our room all through the night, complete with a worker entering our room past 11pm. Below is a copy of the letter I sent the management: Good morning [Name Redacted], [The front desk[ emailed me yesterday with our refund information, which I feel is sufficient for our experience. However, as I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 338ldo
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good morning, Our profound apologises for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Essential works on our fire alarm system were being carried out but this was not meant to inconvenience guests in any way. Unfortunately this was not as contained as we were advised or we would have gladly moved guests to another hotel prior to arrival and...

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I booked this room for the night to stay with a friend as we were planning on a session in town. Location is perfect, and Sams bar is a lovely spot - Brambles are delicious (although they are €11 a pop!) The room was clean with a huge bright mirror that was perfect to allow 2 girls to do their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovesibiza
Cavan
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We picked this Hotel due to its location and that it was reasonably priced. To be honest we did not travel with high expectations as all we wanted was somewhere central to locate ourselves. We had also read that this hotel could be noisey. Our expectations were blown away by the great staff, location and wonderful room. For starters we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 30 March 2015

The Hotel is not bad at all, nice rooms, the staff was friendly. But the nois from the night club was terrible, it ruined the whole stay. We were a party nof 6 persons and where all very unhappy with the stay. You will not be able to sleep befor 330 in the morning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captain3054
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed in this hotel on the 21st March 2015, we found the staff very helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us, it is in a great location, just a very short walk from St Stephens Green, Grafton Street, The Gaiety, Marco Pierres restaurant and the Setanta car park, The Hotel paid towards the car park which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Gorey
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my mam. It was a lovely hotel but there is no lift, only from the bar. Not recommended if you can't manage stairs very well. There is a nightclub attached. We asked for a quiet room so we wouldn't hear the noise and we were on the third floor to be away from music which meant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ClareMcG123
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Stayed here for one night (Monday night) found the experience to be perfectly acceptable and would stay in this hotel again. The room i was given was well appointed and clean. Check in service was excellent. For me the best thing about this hotel is the location, my room was at the rear of the hotel and as a result...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul R
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review The Dawson Hotel & Spa. Your kind comments will be passed on to our staff who are highly focussed on offering excellent customer care. The location is ideal being in the heart of Stephen's Green. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 7 March 2015

We had the unfortunate pleasure of staying here on Saturday night. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. We were down for the rugby and looking at the website for the hotel we thought we were in for a luxurious weekend break. I had phoned during the week to book dinner in the restaurant only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Night-train88
Ann O, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The bedrooms are serviced daily unless there is a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, We are working to improve standards in our bedrooms and have put new duvets and pillows on each bed for our guests comforts as part of a...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Shocking hotel the worst I have ever stayed in.Room 310 to be avoided at all cost dirty carpet dirty paint work torn curtains shower works occasionally no one cleaned room.Receptionist at check on hearing complaint says she will pass them totally not interested.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank eamonnfr
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

I've never stayed in the hotel but the spa is definitely worth visiting. They have an extensive list of treatments and they use organic Irish products. I can definitely recommend their facials and massages. My friend had a milk bath which from what I was amazing. It's a quiet and relaxing - simply a great way to spend an afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJVVV

881 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (593)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Classic Double (99)
Viewed
Classic Twin (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (100)
Viewed
Moroccan Suite (140)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,169 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,335 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 153 in Dublin
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €112 - €288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Dawson Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms that don't face the terrace with all the heating engines...”
 of 5 bubbles 63rachelep, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear and 3rd floor to avoid noise of adjoining bar and night club especially at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles allisons618, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The junior suite was quite nice and very well priced, For the few extra dollars it is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Seafoodtraveler, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lulie_12, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware the stairs and ask does room have a view”
 of 5 bubbles 1998hanjon, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5