Jacobs Inn Dublin
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Jacobs Inn Dublin

Very clean WC
Traveller (365)
Panorama of the 12 Bed Dorm at the Jacobs Inn Hostel
360
Panoramas (33)
Quarto
Room & Suite (132)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 53 hostels in Dublin
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose-built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station, the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are deluxe private rooms with a double or two twin beds or dorms from four to twelve guests that feature our new pod-style beds - the first ones in Dublin! Temple Bar is a twelve-minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel. Facilities include bottomless breakfast for €6, FREE WiFi, pub crawls, FREE bed linen, FREE walking tour of Dublin, an on-site bar and restaurant, laundry, storage facilities, comfy common areas, 24-hour access to rooms, rooftop terrace, friendly staff, great craic and much more!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and 1 more

Location

21-28 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8 Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Dublin Airport
Busáras
1 minDublin Luas
George's Dock
4 minDublin Luas
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,954 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Dublin, Jacobs Inn Dublin is lauded for its prime location and vibrant social atmosphere, offering pod-style beds and a rooftop terrace that guests enjoy. While the rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness, some visitors have raised concerns about ventilation and feel the spaces can be overpriced. The staff at Jacobs Inn generally earn praise for their friendliness, though some guests have encountered service inconsistencies. Opinions on value for money are divided, with certain travelers finding the pricing reasonable due to the hostel's centrality.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,954Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,301
  • 1,120
  • 338
  • 113
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Emily Brenner wrote a review Jan 2020
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel staff were very friendly, pods offered max privacy in a shared setting & the bathrooms and facility in general was very clean / modern. Only downside was the lack of kitchen available and the pricey breakfast. The breakfast (while unlimited) costed 6 euros and was mostly cereal/toast. Other hostels I’ve stayed at have offered much cheaper prices or even free breakfast! Further, the bar (where you got breakfast) offered a Mac and cheese meal dinner which was about a whole euro cheaper! Overall, would recommend, loved the pod style dorms!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JacobsDublin21, Front Office Manager at Jacobs Inn Dublin
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our breakfast includes a fresh batch of vegan/gluten-friendly porridge to start your day too! We hope you had a great time in Dublin and that we will see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeacefulNomads wrote a review Jul 2022
Vancouver, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jacobs Inn Hostel is located on the North side of the River Liffey in Dublin. It is ½ block from Connelly Train Station (catch the train to Belfast or points South from here), and ½ block from the Luas Line (Dublin’s rapid transit train). There is a pub/café downstairs that offers a big Irish breakfast for 10,00 Euro and they make a decent Americano and Latte. Private rooms are available as well as dorms and 4 or 8 bed pod rooms (which we rented) for larger groups and families. The facilities are spotless and a shout-out needs to go to the cleaning team at Jacobs Inn. They do a fantastic job – especially during these pandemic years it is so important. There are lockers to store your luggage before and after check-in/out so if you have a later flight, you can leave your bags until closer to departure time. The staff are nice and get you checked in fast. There is a balcony on the 4th floor where you have a nice view of North Dublin, and more importantly, you get to watch the trains come and go from Connelly station, including Irish Rail and the local ‘Dart’ commuter train. We utilized Jacobs Inn twice this trip, and we will be staying here again as the location is close to transit, O’Connel Street and a short walk to Dame Street (restaurants) and Temple Bar. The one challenge if you are a lite sleeper is that it can be noisy in the neighbourhood at night since Jacobs is located close to the stadium, and not far from Temple Bar, so bring ear plugs. That was the only challenge, and one that is easily remedied.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The 4, or 8, person pod rooms are good value for families. Patio is on the 4th floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
erinhenders0n wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved my one night stay in Jacob's Inn. I never felt unsafe or unclean and all the staff made it easy to print my boarding pass, check-in, get towels, and store my luggage. The rooms were all so clean and the whole place was so modern and nice. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sionachmise wrote a review Jan 2020
manchester
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Presently at Jacobs Inn after having stayed here many times in the past. Although it has obviously been up graded it has lost its way and I would not recommend it to anyone.if it wants to be a backpacker hostel , however upmarket then it needs a place where travellers can eat there own food, young students back pack because they cannot afford to buy 3 meals a day in the restaurant.. If it wants to be a hotel with private rooms then it needs tea making facilities and a television. We are currently in a private room where you can only get into the double bed on one side, for two people there is only one chair, you have to go to the restaurant if you want a coffee, any European accommodation chain has facilities in the room and there is no TV, only in the restaurant and football is not very appealing. This was once an extremely attractive hostel but no longer. As the signs say "No food in the rooms then presumably you are expected to eat 3 meals a day in the restaurant, factor in another 30
Euro a day with drinks plus extra for bag store. Students beware this could be a very expensive hostel with add ons.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JacobsDublin21, Front Office Manager at Jacobs Inn Dublin
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for your thorough review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the new style of Jacobs Inn. We make it very clear on all our platforms that we no longer have a kitchen and our images of all our private rooms are updated to show our new designs. We hope you enjoyed your time in Dublin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MK19 wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time staying in a hostel like this and really liked it for what it was. I didn’t really spend too much time in the room other than for sleeping and showering but the beds were clean and the pods felt safe as a solo female traveller staying in a mixed 10 bed dorm. There were lockers to keep things secure and an en suite toilet/shower. If that was occupied they had extra facilities - separate male/female toilets and showers outside of the room though I didn’t find these as clean (but that’s also down to other people staying there rather than the hostel).
I joined the pub crawl that they offered and had a great night but didn’t book anything else through them or use the bar/have breakfast.
Location was good, on the north side of the river and around a 20 min walk to the Temple area/bars/Dublin castle/college and 10 mins to the docklands. There’s a Tesco Metro nearby and a Lidl for food/snacks if needed as there aren’t any fridges/kitchen facilities.
The roof terrace was a nice little spot too. It can be a bit noisy from the street (we left the window open as it was quite warm in the room) but they do provide ear plugs. Would definitely stay here again though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacobs Inn, General Manager at Jacobs Inn Dublin
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review and we are delighted that you would choose to stay with us again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joelle R wrote a review Sept 2021
Quebec City, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms with the pods are very cozy and clean. It's great from privacy, and aporeciate there was toilet and shower in the room (much better than a big shower room!). The staff is very friendly amd helpful, they gave us great tips.
However, the breakfast was very disapointing: toastie (non-vegetarian) or porridge and a coffee for 6 euros. Accordimg to the description, it should be bottomless porridge with a varoety of toppings. I understand that Covid restrictions make it hard to have the usual breakfast, but a small bowl of porridge with a few banana chips is really not worth 6euros! It would have been nice to have at least a vegetaria toastie, or more topping options on the porridge, or being able to have refills. Or at least make it cheaper!
Other than that, the location is good but i do suggest bringing earplugs because the train is just next to the window.
Having some entertainment options (a little library, some boardgames, etc) would have been nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mnissl293577 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is perfect, everything is modern and clean, although the bathroom's could've been cleaned more, but I guess in a 10 people room it gets dirty really quick. The staff is super nice and things like pub crawls are a nice addition to the hostel. Sleeping in a room with 10 people can get noisy though, so don't be too picky.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacobs Inn, General Manager at Jacobs Inn Dublin
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thanks for your review! We do clean all of our bathrooms daily, but, as you mentioned, sometimes it can get dirty really quick depending on the use it's been given to. We hope you had a wonderful time in Dublin!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren K wrote a review Oct 2021
Mansfield, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really friendly staff, very helpful. Very clean with good covid restrictions (require masks in public areas with lots of hand sanitizer available). Luggage storage facilities good value for money and handy.
Bar had a good atmosphere and was reasonably priced in comparison to local pubs etc.
Only downside for us was the amount of noise the cleaners made in the mornings, appreciate they can’t control the noise of vacuum cleaners etc but they spoke very loudly, we couldn’t hear anyone in other rooms or other guests walking around etc so was definitely them just being loud. This was also very early probably from around 0800.
One other suggestion for improvement would be tea making facilities in the private double rooms or at least being allowed to carry tea from the bar upstairs, obviously this wouldn’t be ideal in shared bunks and we know it’s a hostel but as a couple it would have been nice to enjoy a brew in bed before starting the day.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matty H wrote a review Sept 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a 21 year old female solo traveller, this hostel was perfect for me. The facilities were amazing, clean, tidy and surprisingly spacious. I stayed in a 10 pod female only room with a private en-suite, each pod had a correlating locker which was big enough to store cabin bags, small cases, coats, etc. The pods were very cosy with their own shelves, hanging rail, USB ports and 2 different light settings. The bed was super comfy and I had 2 great nights sleep. Every door has is locked for safety and when you check in you are given codes to get in, this made me feel extra safe. The bar has a really nice vibe and a huge selection of drinks, breakfast was good too! All staff I encountered were lovely and welcoming. The only problem I had the. Entire time was the cleaning staff bursting into the dorm early in the morning and having very load conversations and at times even shouting, luckily I was already awake however I did feel bad for the people that were trying to get a good nights sleep before their flights. Overall my experience was highly enjoyable and I’d go back in a heartbeat. I highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erica Y wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s a very good hostel. The pods are a great option for privacy in what would otherwise be a crowded room. USB ports to charge devices and the lockers don’t need a padlock which is great.
On the downside there’s no kitchen, so you are forced to either have your meals on their bar o some other place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JacobsDublin21, Front Office Manager at Jacobs Inn Dublin
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it! We hope you had a great time in Dublin and that we'll see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rubi asked a question Sept 2023
4 contributions
Is there an option for a double room with en suite
Answer from Jodieroberts
Rhyl, United Kingdom163 contributions87 helpful votes
Yea there is however, there is a significant difference in price !!! You can access on HostelWorld ☺️
Answer from krugerandmore
Mbombela, South Africa428 contributions77 helpful votes
I am not sure it is busy place.Best to pre book
Answer from Construct37
Whittier, California1,114 contribution132 helpful votes
Hubo eventos sociales por la noche. Yo no participé pero había opciones.
Answer from A D
3 contributions1 helpful vote
If I remember correctly it was a few euro (~4 or 5) It was on par with other places and and like you would another lodging, pay for detergent and all that. Each was a couple euro or you could go to the grocery store around the corner and save a bit
Valentina Castrezzati asked a question Jul 2022
Brescia, Italy5 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a fridge?
Answer from Jim_CDerryN_I_
Derry, United Kingdom31 contributions44 helpful votes
No, there is no fridge, this hostel also does not have shared kitchen facilities.
Pioneer46695045409 wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They had ear things at reception and it was the most quiet nights sleep I ever had in a hostel / hotel "
Read full review
SCRAELING wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wellingborough, United Kingdom121 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If they are offering a discount then push for it to make them give it "
Read full review
Jack S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom70 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"top bunk "
Read full review
Niamh M wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you are a light sleeper - ask for free earplugs at front desk :)"
Read full review
小語種專家 wrote a tip Mar 2024
52 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book too early, price would drop. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
€96 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jacob`s hotel dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JACOBS INN DUBLIN | UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Jacobs Inn Dublin
Which popular attractions are close to Jacobs Inn Dublin?
Nearby attractions include An Evening of Irish Folklore and Fairies (0.2 km), The Confession Box (0.4 km), and EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jacobs Inn Dublin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and a rooftop terrace.
What food & drink options are available at Jacobs Inn Dublin?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Jacobs Inn Dublin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai Spice, 101 Talbot Street, and The Celt Bar.
Is Jacobs Inn Dublin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Jacobs Inn Dublin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Jacobs Inn Dublin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.9 km), 14 Henrietta Street (1.2 km), and Guinness Storehouse (2.5 km).
Does Jacobs Inn Dublin have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Jacobs Inn Dublin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near Jacobs Inn Dublin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire