We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 36-37 Pearse Street, Dublin D02 VX62 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Hotels.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Expedia.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Priceline
TravelocityUS$144
EtripUS$145
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (248)
Dining (110)
Room & Suite (108)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#20 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the city opposite Trinity College and only a 5-minute walk to Dublin's premier shopping streets, art galleries, theaters and nightlife. O'Neill's (established in 1885) offers top class accommodation, a traditional pub with live music, food and Irish craft beers & whiskeys. O'Neill's has been a family run business for over a hundred years, and we pride ourselves on offering our guests a warm and friendly welcome. With eight beautifully appointed en suite rooms, guests can choose between twin, double or triple rooms. Live traditional Irish music sessions are in the bar every Thursday and Saturday from 8 pm. Music lovers can enjoy an authentic Irish trad session, and musicians are welcome to join in. We host some of Ireland's finest traditional Irish music players, and we're passionate about keeping the culture of traditional Irish music alive and well in the capital.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Portuguese
691Reviews12Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 312
  • 234
  • 84
  • 34
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MrsBandco wrote a review Sep 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom39 contributions32 helpful votes
Visited on Friday, our first pub stop and first Guinness in the city, and we were not disappointed. It’s a traditional pub, we got a warm welcome, a bit of chat and a good few pints. It was a nice day and we sat outside for a while watching the world go by. Would definitely return, we didn’t have food but the menu looked really good. We’ll eat here next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 15 Sep 2022
Thanks so much for your great review. We're delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and our great pint of Guinness! Please do come back and try our delicious menu next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robbie F wrote a review Aug 2022
79 contributions84 helpful votes
O’Neill’s is a typical traditional Dublin pub in a great location on Pearce street, close to trinity college. Visited with my daughter. The menu is quite small but has all of the staples needed for decent pub food. Burger was very nice as were the chicken wings . Nice, attentive bar staff and the waitress was excellent. Nice clean premises. Good to just sit in and have a pint too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 1 Sep 2022
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We're delighted you had such a good experience. Please come back again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle H wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
As a Solo traveler checking out Dublin, I recommend O’Neill’s pub and guesthouse very highly. It’s the perfect atmosphere in a great area of town (just next to Trinity college) and the staff are so helpful and awesome. The rooms are lush and the breakfast nook is well stocked with love. I am so happy I found this place and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 1 Sep 2022
Thanks for your great review. Please come back again soon to visit us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian D wrote a review Jun 2022
Lexington4 contributions
I'm so pleased that we spent our last night in Ireland here. We enjoyed really great food, drinks and Irish music. This was the experience we came to Ireland to enjoy. (Tripadvisor just informed me that I needed more characters in my post.)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 1 Sep 2022
Thanks for leaving such a great review. We're delighted that you got to enjoy our bar food and traditional Irish music.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrayzWard wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
On a cold and wet Saturday night in Dublin we found a warm welcome, plate of hot food and a group of talented musicians playing some of the best trad in town! O’Neils is an old school Dublin pub, where locals, tourists, musicians, the young and the old mix with ease. A pub where anyone and everyone can join in, have a song or a chat. The pub itself is beautiful and steeped in history. The pints are good and the food is tasty. It’s a gem!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 1 Sep 2022
Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoy our traditional Irish music.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caoimhin C wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
O'Neills pub on Pearse Street Dublin is a must visit bar for any visitors to Ireland and anyone who enjoys traditional Irish music and a pint. I visited the pub with friends on a Saturday in early April and had a fantastic night. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed and Guinness was excellent. The session is very inclusive for musicians and there was plenty of space for customers to sit at tables around the session to enjoy the music for the night. I would highly recommend taking a visit to the bar, especially on a Thursday or Saturday night when the trad session is in full swing. Make sure to arrive before 8pm to get a table close to the session.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We’re delighted you has such a good time in O’Neills and enjoyed the trad session and Guinness. We hope you come back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deirdre M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
+1
This a a cosy Dublin pub on Pearce St which is really central. There’s a great session of traditional Irish music on Thursday night at 8.30 pm here. The musicians are top class and the Guinness is delicious. Great friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend O’Neills.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 20 Apr 2022
We’re delighted you had a good night at our trad session. We’ve got one going on a Saturday now also. So please come back for more tunes!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randall W wrote a review Aug 2021
Barcelona, Spain2 contributions
We were scheduled to travel last May with our grandson. When the country shutdown and the airlines stopped flying we requested a refund and we’re told that they are standing on their no cancellation policy. Now over a year later and travel is still unsafe especially due to our age, 77 we have again requested s refund and the only response is we should sell it to someone else. Now they won’t even tell us how the credit is good for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerry Neill, Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 8 Aug 2021
Due to the pandemic we did offer you a credit for your booking. Should you wish to make a name change on your reservation due to circumstances where you cannot travel, we will allow that also.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly M wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
In a time of pandemic chaos I never believed a business, especially a place of hospitality, would treat a person like this. I had booked my trip to Ireland pre-Covid. Once this hell started, my personal hell began with O'Neils. My trip was canceled when Ireland shut down, all travel restrictions enacted and the business actually closed. I called to get my refund and they flat out refused. I contacted my credit card company for a charge-back to now avail. The credit card company lost two times at a charge-back request. Shame on O'Neils for this horrible customer service and I hope anyone who reads this review will boycott his hell hole. Be well and say healthy. KM
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerry Neill, Owner at O'Neills Townhouse
Responded 28 Jan 2021
We try to work with many of our guests who were unable to travel due to Covid-19 travel restrictions and have tried to reschedule as many of these as is possible to later dates. This reviewer chose first to cancel and then seek a full refund through their credit card company, the card company correctly refused on two occasions based on the terms & conditions of their booking. Hospitality worldwide has the same dilemma, to work with people to try and manage this disaster as fairly as they can. Sadly in this instance we were unable to reach an amicable solution with the reviewer short of a full refund.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie wrote a review Mar 2020
United Kingdom117 contributions87 helpful votes
Ordered chicken wings so spicy couldn't eat Club sandwhich lovely filling, but bread so dry that I left bread and eat filling Waitress ignored us and wouldn't come to clear plates as must of food left, when she did, she didnt ask what was wrong
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
o`neills victorian pub & townhouse hotel dublin, o`neills victorian pub and townhouse
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

O'NEILLS TOWNHOUSE - Now €130 (Was €̶1̶3̶8̶) - UPDATED 2022 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about O'Neills Townhouse
Which popular attractions are close to O'Neills Townhouse?
Nearby attractions include Trinity College Dublin (0.2 km), Seamus Heaney: Listen Now Again (0.5 km), and Dublin Whiskey Tours (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at O'Neills Townhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at O'Neills Townhouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at O'Neills Townhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at O'Neills Townhouse?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to O'Neills Townhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Vintage Kitchen, JP Mooneys, and Ginger Man.
Are there opportunities to exercise at O'Neills Townhouse?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and fitness classes during their stay.
Is O'Neills Townhouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are there any historical sites close to O'Neills Townhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.8 km), 14 Henrietta Street (1.4 km), and Guinness Storehouse (2.3 km).
Does O'Neills Townhouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.