We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Hostelworld.comUS$34*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$174*
US$34*
Great Deal
US$174*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,371: English reviews
rognac
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Good hotel well decorated. Not too expensive for travellers.we had a room for three persons with private and small bathroom. Clean. Not too far from city center (10 minutes walk). Nice breakfast. A lot of young people.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth13
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Province of Lecco, Italy
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The hostel has been great! The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the staff was very kind. My room was super clean and super comfortable! I really love this hostel! If I have to return in Dublin I surely choose the Generator Hostel again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skylihum
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for the positive comments. We hope to see you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I stayed one month in Generator hostel, because I was looking for a flatesharing and in Dublin is the war the find a lodgement ! I was in a female bedroom with 6 beds and one bathroom in the bedroom. And I had been also in a mixted bedroom (also with a private bathroom). In short, it's a very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flofloriane
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your long stay with us and glad you finally found a place to live. We hope you will come back and visit us for the infamous 'Beefeater' burger. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I stayed in a private room and it was exactly like a hotel room, not what i expected for a hostel and definitely surpassed my expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities available were excellent. Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Come to stay at the Generator Hostel in March for St Patrick's day! I have never stayed in a hostel before but What a great place for 5 girls to stay! We had a 5 bedroom room, 2 bunk beds and a single bed with our own private bathroom! The room was clean and spacious and we each had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tay_1693
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for all the positive comments. We hope to see you back for next St Patricks week. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 May 2016

I stayed here with a group of my grad students during our course abroad in March 2016. Simple but clean accomodations- nothing fancy. Breakfast was very sad and we choose to eat across the street at a couple cute cafes. Good location and access to Luas and easy walk around Dublin. Very noisy hallways & inconsiderate guest after quiet hours-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherie K
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to welcome you back for another short break soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

The Generator Hostel is a genuinely impressive setup. From the second you walk in the front door it is buzzing with life and activity. You are met with two food and drink outlets, pool tables, sofas, work areas, a huge front desk, a desk for tourist advice and on and on... Our room was large and clean. The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay however I do apologise for the noise you experienced on your floor, our security team work around the clock in order to monitor noise but clearly this was a very noisy group entering and leaving the hostel. Again, thank you for...

Reviewed 30 April 2016

I REALLY enjoyed my stay. º The service was nice, and helpfull. º The bedrooms were incredibly clean, and well appointed. º Location: Top 10 minutes to the city center º The hostel is very spacious and very nice. There is also a bar and a "mini " restaurant, which serves a very good pizzas. I highly recommended. º The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CGFelix
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay however I do apologise for your noisy neighbours. We hope to see you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I booked this hostel based upon reviews and was not entirely disappointed. The location is great as it sits conveniently near the Jameson Distillery and close to the bus to and from the airport. The lobby is large and clean and the reception staff warm, friendly and knowledgable. THE BATHROOMS ARE CLEAN! And they clean them more than once a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dL S
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and warm. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

The hostel is situated in a rather quiet area of the city. However it is still quite close to the city center and there is a LUAS station just some steps away. You can also find plenty of nice restaurants/cafés close by. The rooms (we had a normal double room) are quite spacious, basic but very clean and well isolated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

653 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
1,827 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
1,903 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €26 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Alberta, Canada
11 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perfect for cheap teens city breaks.”
dragosa225, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early.”
tomekh745, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a towel, UK electrical convertor, a padlock/combination lock for your storage box under your bed, and a few euro for the lockers.”
  • My bed with my metal box open. My carry-on suitcase fit well inside it.
  • Shower/sink side of the ensuite bathroom.
  • Toilet side of the ensuite bathroom.
  • 6 bed dorm room with ensuite.
LilPiggyQT, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They all seem good to be fair!”
LeeBuzz, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go to jacobs inn on talbot instead. Much nicer management and facilities. PLUS free breakfast.”
mattdU6670OR, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$34* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$174
Booking.comUS$53
PricelineUS$170
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates