We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,252: English reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Had a great time here. Rooms were small but clean. Wouldn't bother going for the light breakfast not much choice not even a toaster. We went to Third Space for an Irsish breakfast €10 with a brew so good we went back. About 15 mins walk to Temple Bar and really enjoyed The Guiness Storehouse. Great place to stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamBlood
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you and your friends enjoyed the Hen party here. We also have a separate café that serves full Irish breakfast and much more but glad you found somewhere in the neighbourhood. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards...

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed in a hostel and it was a really nice experience. Generator was very organised, the room was tidy, even the bathroom was clean. The room was painted in nice colours. Each bed had 2 plugs and its own lamp. We only paid 30 pounds for 2 nights including breakfast!!! It has a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolina G
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear your first time in a hostel was a success. Check out our other Generator Hostels across Europe for future stays - you won't be disappointed. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Cairo
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Hostel was great clean one with free wifi internet access and pc area, friendly people at the bar, but reception people some of them were aweful, nearly no smile, dealing with you in carelessness! I would rate for 5 points instead of 3 if these people weren't there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 515heshamk
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you found the hostel clean and found the bar staff friendly, however I do apologise that you found the reception staff unfriendly. I have passed your review to the front of house team for review in order to improve customer service. We hope to welcome...

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

It's the first time I've stayed in a hostel and it was brilliant and better than I thought if would be, we reserved a room through trip advisor on the day in Liverpool before we boarded our flight, and we got a 4 people room for the 2 of us, which was brilliant. The hostel staff are all very welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnpaul L
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Whiskey tasting class centres around the Irish brand of Whiskey called Teeling's. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Danbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Eleven 40-somethings from Essex! We didn't have very high expectations as we'd only paid £12.50/night. But we were thrilled! The rooms were basic but clean and just what we needed for the weekend. Didn't fancy the breakfast but went to the cafe next door for a great brunch. Sometimes noisy but that's to be expected. It had everything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth H
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I recently stayed at the Generator Hostel for my stag do, and overall the value and service was fantastic. It's in an excellent location (or at least it was for what we wanted) and the rooms and facilities were very good. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast service - we waited 15 minutes for more food to arrive before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dombranca
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and overall found the value and service fantastic, however I do apologise that you were left waiting for your hot breakfast. I have passed your comments on to the food and beverage team for review. We hope to see you back...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I was on a filming job in Ireland and myself and the film crew stayed here for one night whilst in Dublin. There were 3 of us plus our gear so the producer booked a private 4 bed room for us which cost about €130 at the time for the room and breakfast for each of us. Split 4 ways...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay and definitely check out our other Generator's well worth it. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 February 2016

Had a great stay at Generator in an 8-bed dorm. Bathroom and shower facilities were very good. The only negative was the service at breakfast. There were a lot of items sold out when we arrived at the counter and we were advised to come back in 10-15 mins when more would be ready. We were happy enough to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilefunsoitis
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you found the bathroom and shower facilities very good however I do apologise with the service you experienced in the café. I have forwarded this to the F & B team for review and to try and come up with a system to eliminate the...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed at a quadruple room with a bathroom and we all were very pleased. We didn't spend much time in the hostel but we saw a nice big meeting area/bar/ restaurant full of people. It was affordable sine we only paid approximately £10 (15€) a night, breakfast included (although to be honest we found it quite poor... But it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NinaSkol
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, breakfast is just a light continental but the option to upgrade to a full Irish is there if needed in the café. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Came for three nights. Had a private room with an en suite and the room was much bigger than I was expecting and contained twin beds, a table and a small hanging area for clothes. Basic but it's everything you need. It's also spotlessly clean. On the first night we were woken up by some inconsiderate douche bags above us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deville1984
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

615 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
3.2 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
1,636 reviews
2.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
3,962 reviews
1.3 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,529 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: €25 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
5 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
3 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book up and try it for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles 536KeithR, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get ground level and avoid the lifts, grocery store across the square with good food and drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles vancity123, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring a towel, or else you have to "rent" one for a couple of euros.”
 of 5 bubbles BlondeWithADog, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice staff, great atmosphere and has a nice bar inside!!”
 of 5 bubbles AgustinLagresta, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay