We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Merrion Road Ballsbridge, Dublin 4 Ireland
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (778)
Room & Suite (409)
Dining (116)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#70 of 176 in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt and just a 1 minute walk to the RDS, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge is an iconic 19th century Masonic School that has been restored to the highest standards. With 335 luxurious bedrooms, including 44 brand new Executive rooms you can relax and enjoy our newly launched Grandstand Bar & Restaurant, Red Bean Roastery and outdoor terrace at your leisure.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English
3211Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,069
  • 1,118
  • 610
  • 263
  • 151
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
dearbhlacullinane wrote a review 23 May
Clonakilty, Ireland9 contributions2 helpful votes
Breakfast manager was very rude and unprofessional. I did not appreciate the way she spoke to her staff. Tried to put blame on customers and colleagues. The lobby was crowded with conference attendees. Would cause concern for health and safety.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dave H wrote a review 22 May
Northumberland, Pennsylvania90 contributions54 helpful votes
We arrived at the Clayton very early in the day, 7 AM and room wasn't ready which left us the day to go down into Dublin. We wished the desk would have suggested a taxi or which bus would get us to the downtown. No shops for breakfast were open yet. When we got back we found a nice room ready for us. We had the chance over the next 2 days to enjoy the bar, restaurant and beautiful grounds. Hotel is with walking distance to Tesco if you need any supplies.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Its a €20 euro taxi ride to the heart of Dublin or a long confusing walk.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Josef H wrote a review 11 May
Rockville, Maryland5 contributions
Friendly staff, GREAT breakfast, excellent food at the "Grandstand Restaurant". Several embassies along the main road (Merrion road). On several bus lines, and a two block walk to the DART (rail). Our room had both a full stall shower and a soaking tub. The dual sinks and heated towel rack was nice. Generally, I got the impression that this was a primary site for weddings. The facility was large and efficient. The breakfast buffet had all the trimming for a full Irish breakfast and CoCo Puffs for the little ones. Many staff were available to ensure you were seated quickly. It's a lovely place and well appointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms with a courtyard view are very nice and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear HadziJO Thank you for being so gracious about the facilities and surroundings of the Clayton Hotel in Ballsbridge which is located in the beautiful embassy district of Dublin. We certainly appreciate your feedback concerning the service standards that you received at our hotel. I will pass your comments onto the staff regarding the warm welcome that you received during your stay with us I would personally like to thank you for your continued support and custom. With Warmest Regards Graeme O'Toole Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Sealion1991 wrote a review 5 May
11 contributions
While the bar and check-in area are quite modern, the rooms are utterly basic, not four star quality. When I first checked in, the first room I was given had not been cleaned, beds were a mess, glasses and wine bottles still on the tables etc. Room was changed after waiting in a queue at desk for another fifteen minutes, causing me to be rushing late for a meeting. Upon check in, I was told rooms are not automatically cleaned daily unless you ring reception the morning of you leaving the hotel which would be ok if you weren’t waiting 10min for someone at reception to answer the phone like I was which is not conducive to hurrying out the door for work purposes! Rooms are dated and grubby, and very warm. No shower cap/shampoos/face clothes etc in bathroom and only half a roll of loo paper, no bottles of water in the room either. Very basic amenities. I rang down to reception to ask for more loo paper and some water to be brought up to the room (I would have paid a room service charge if required) they said they did not do room service at all. I was shocked that at a four star hotel this request could not be met. The receptionist was abrupt for such a simple request. This is my second disappointing stay here and I will not be recommending my company to use this hotel for business travel again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CG1991Ire Firstly, please allow me to apologize for the service you received at our hotel, we certainly had no intention of checking you into a room that had not be serviced - that was not our intention. During the pandemic, that we have all gone through in the last two and a half years we have been limiting the access that out staff required to enter rooms by eliminating touch points throughout the hotel during our guests stay. We therefore had decided to service rooms upon a guests request, as many of our guests appreciated this green philosophy and we were also running a Room Service "Click and Collect Service" which many of our guest also appreciated from our bar. We are evolving now that Ireland is living with COVID and we will be introducing a full room service facility via a QR code on your mirror in the bedroom in due course. Please accept our apologies once again for not meeting your expectations. Graeme O'Toole
Read more
Rush401 wrote a review 5 May
Vienna, Austria775 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
Excellent hotel little out of the city.but well connected by local transport..very old building artitecture .dating back to the 1880..good large rooms .clean and modern..staff are helpful.good buffet breakfast ..good wifi.tea/coffee in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking available..good bar and restaurant .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rush Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate your feedback. Graeme
Read more
Siobhan H wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
Just back from a 1 night stay at the hotel. The hotel itself is fabulous nice area and comfortable room. Check in & check out went smoothly no complaints. However the same cannot be said for our experience of dining in the hotel. We decided to eat in the bar on the night, no problems ordering or receiving our soups . We sat waiting for a half an hours with staff passing us no clearing of the table or our mains. My husband at this stage went and asked a young lady serving what was the hold up she said she would check but that was the last we saw of her. We eventually asked another member of the waiting staff to check and after another bit of time a manager approached our table and apologised that there was a backlog in the kitchen. He did however offer us a drink on the house while we waited on our food. Breakfast the following morning was nice a good selection on offer. On being seated we were asked tea or coffee. We got these delivered to our table. However we went to get our breakfast (all buffet style) on returning to our table we found our pots of tea/coffee (that we hadnt even used) removed from our table. I had to ask 2 different ladies could we get more tea & coffee. The waiting staff at night & at breakfast seemed to be all over the place very disorganised.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear Siobhan Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property and we certainly appreciate your feedback. I will speak to our breakfast team and discuss ways in which we can much improve our tea and and coffee offering to the table and our evening service in our food and beverage areas. With Kind Regards Graeme
Read more
Kensingtonia wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom43 contributions55 helpful votes
It is difficult to fault this hotel. The rooms are well equipped. Everything worked. More than adequate PowerPoints and lights. Hairdryer/iron/safe etc. Separate table and chairs in the room. We were in the basement which was a bit dark. It was quiet apart from other guests banging doors but even that wasn’t particularly loud. The shower had a nasty plastic curtain but the shower itself and bathroom was fine. All the staff we met were efficient and welcoming. We only ate breakfast there but they had reasonable vegan options. I found the building itself utterly oppressive though it’s beautiful on the outside and I had terrible nightmares the first night and thought it was haunted. Our corridor smelled of damp which didn’t help much, nor did the dark wooden furniture in the room. I chose the location because we were going to a wedding nearby. We were lucky with the Aircoach from the airport because it only runs that route every 2 hours. I would choose the city centre if going to Dublin again for getting to and from the airport. It’s within walking distance of Sandymount beach where we had a nice walk. Also convenient for shops and restaurants/cafes further along Merrion Road. It was a good option for us this time but while I may choose Clayton again, I wouldn’t choose this particular hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Good coffee shop/pizza place with vegan options north down Merrion Road. Don’t rely on Aircoach!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Kensingtonia Thank you for taking the time to write your review and to give us your review score, without your comments, we would not be able to give this invaluable feedback to the staff about our facilities and services that we offer at the Clayton Ballsbridge Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback Kind Regards Graeme O'Toole Guest Relations Manager
Read more
ShaneKiely wrote a review Apr 2022
Dublin, Ireland15 contributions9 helpful votes
I've been meaning to write this review for a while as the service on a particularly busy night has stuck in my mind. I came to the hotel for food and drinks the night of the Ireland New Zealand rugby game. It was easily the biggest night in the city since lockdown. I had no booking and so had to wait for a table which was understandable. The manager Graham was manning the queue and spoke to each customer personally as we waited advising us of our estimated wait times. Everyone was in good spirits and the queue moved quickly despite the crowds. I sat down to eat and helped myself to the buffet which was very reasonably priced for the high standard of food. The fish in a cream sauce was particularly good. A lady called Mikaela was working the floor of the restaurant. Given how busy it was I was expecting a wait for my drink but she brought it down almost immediately. She was constantly seen around all the tables and it was just as quick to get a second drink. I was then informed there was space in the bar and the bar manager Victor was as quick as Mikaela with the drinks at my seat in the bar. I was very impressed with how everything worked given that the hotel, as well as every hotel and bar in the whole area was completely packed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Would recommend for any sports match or any other busy night.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Shane Thank you for taking the time to write your review and to give us your review score, without your comments, we would not be able to give this invaluable feedback to the staff about our facilities and services that we offer at the Clayton Ballsbridge Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback Kind Regards Graeme O'Toole Guest Relations Manager
Read more
rick b wrote a review Apr 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution
In the bar and the restaurant there are plenty of staff but very ineffective at actually serving you. Slow, disjointed and poor overall. Watch for car parking charges too. Overall a large disappointment
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 9 Apr 2022
Dear Rick Thank you for taking the time to write your review and to give us your review score, without your comments, we would not be able to give this invaluable feedback to the staff about our facilities and services that we offer at the Clayton Ballsbridge Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and I am very sorry that we did not meet your service expectations during your stay. Kind Regards Graeme O'Toole Guest Relations Manager
Read more
daltonm78 wrote a review Mar 2022
Limerick, Ireland22 contributions20 helpful votes
Brilliant customer care. Restaurant and the food was lovely. The hotel itself is a little bit dated in terms of hotels these fasts but there is renovation works going on The staff are brilliant and are worthy of a 5 star hotel in terms of customer care. There was an issue with my room after the first night and I spoke with the duty manager and Lisa sorted it out. Very very professional. We got a new room and she invited us to dinner that evening. I would highly recommend this hotel. If you’re not happy you should just speak with the staff and let them try and fix the issue. Lisa the duty manager deserves special mention as she really and truly went above and beyond to ensure our issue was resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floor. These are the new rooms
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme O'Toole, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Dear Dalton Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate your feedback. Graeme O'Toole
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bewleys hotel dublin, bewleys hotel ballsbridge, bewleys ballsbridge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Nearby attractions include Crowe's of Ballsbridge (0.5 km), Sandymount Green (0.3 km), and RDS Arena (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baan Thai Ballsbridge, Horse Show House, and Paddy Cullen's.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (5.9 km), Guinness Storehouse (4.4 km), and 14 Henrietta Street (4.2 km).
Is Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.